We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Tika Wasi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Tika Wasi to your Saves list
Hostal Tika Wasi
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle Tandapata 491 | corner of Siete Angelitos, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 306 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
“Great location and wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed at Hostal Tika Wasi for a total of three nights. The location is convenient to the town and sights and the rooms and food were great. I have to say, though, that the best part of the stay was the staff. They were all friendly and helpful and took great care of us. If I return to Cusco, I won't stay anywhere elsel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tilcara, Argentina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed hete for 4 nights. Overall it was great. The room was funny though...we stayed in number 13 which is decorated like a kids room. I believe all their rooms are different. It was clean and comfy, hot water at all times. They provide tea and overall great service. Breakfast was fine, eggs, fruits, cereals. The garden area is very relaxing. I would rate it as a 3 star hostel. However, if you are a light sleeper bring earplugs. It can be noisy in the morning as they are constantly working in the garden or doing maintenance. If you have bad luck some guests might not consider other people and slam doors at 3am. But that is not the hotels fault. I would recommend this hostel. Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viajando4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for a few days just before going to Machu Picchu and we had a great experience. The hotel is in the lovely and very charming neighbourhood of San Blas but you can walk down to town and it's only a ten minute walk. The hotel has a great garden area with beautiful views of the city and the rooms are lovely and very clean. The staff are very helpful and can speak English and the breakfast oh my god the best breakfast we had in South America: plentiful, varied and yummy. Don't hesitate and stay at the Tika Wasi in Cusco, it's also very affordable for such a nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2,006 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,471 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed before and after the Inca Trail. Staff were very helpful when hiring walking poles and boots, and we left our main bags here while doing the trail. My room was in the lower part of the hotel, below reception, the room was huge. Opposite is the main building with breakfast room on the second floor and a brilliant view across Cuzco. The location is perfect, just a ten minute walk to the centre. Laundry and internet are available just one street away. Best part was the garden and the swinging chairs. After doing the Inca Trail many in my group wanted a big celebration in town. In reality you might just want a decent bed and a chance to rest your aching feet. Those garden swings were perfect post trek relaxation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolyon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We spent 5 nights in Tika Wasi and were not disappointed at all. The hotel is really charming, quiet, peaceful and very well located. It is only a 10mn walk to the main square, Plaza de Armas, but going down these narrow paved streets of San Blas neighboorhood is really worth it. Also the hotel has this amazing view over Cuzco and is really close to Saqsayhuaman Inca site. The staff was very friendly, smiling and helpful. Special thanks to Gleem and Carmen for their help during our stay. Don't hesitate to choose this hotel

Room Tip: Room 11 is groundfloor and may be a bit noisy as the groudnfloors are really nice, with fire and sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niko N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This review a way late. My wife and I spent a few days here before we we did our week long trek to Machu Piccu in April 2013. Perfect spot. You can easily walk to all cultural aspects of the city. Plus, they kept our extra luggage during our trek. Thanks again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Tikawasi three different times during our Cusco visit last April. We had machupicchu and the Amazon in between so we left most of our luggage in the hostal.
About the hostal, it is a charming B&B with a lovely view in the heart of Cusco. The hostal is clean, tidy, has hot water, laundry, oxygen (in case of altitude sickness), wifi (in lobby but sometimes work in room too), and complimentary breakfast (omelet, bread, juice, cereal and fruits are among the common).When we first arrived, Carmen the receptionist helped us with everything: info about Cusco, tour, restaurant, taxi or simply anything we wanted / needed to know. Carmen and her other two (male) colleagues are speaking good english too! During our second visit after the machupicchu, Carmen also helped us with booking a small tour with a private taxi to visit some ruins nearby Cusco (70 soles).
Since we checked in and out several times in this hostal, Tikawasi doesn't ask us to pay the bill every time we checked out. Instead, the receptionist suggested us to pay everything on our last day (after the amazon). Very practical! Overall, we felt very happy with Tikawasi.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Windi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#37 of 157 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#14 of 157 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#7 of 157 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.3 mi away
Hostal Wara Wara
Hostal Wara Wara
#6 of 306 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Tika Wasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Tika Wasi

Address: Calle Tandapata 491 | corner of Siete Angelitos, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Tika Wasi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run boutique hostel located in the city of Cusco, Peru. Our name, Tika Wasi, which in quechua means "house of the flower" is descriptive of the environment you will find here: spacious gardens and beautiful common areas with plant life to relax or read a book. We offer various types of lodging and our reception is open 24 hours in order to accommodate any and all of your needs at any time, day or night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hostal Tika Wasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Tika Wasi Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing