We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect hotel high above Cusco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Tika Wasi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Tika Wasi to your Saves list
Hostal Tika Wasi
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle Tandapata 491 | corner of Siete Angelitos, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 257 Cusco B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A perfect hotel high above Cusco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This was exactly what I was looking for in Cusco...a comfortable hotel with a wonderful view of the city. The staff was very helpful in arranging onward travel and local tours. The breakfast was the fullest of my entire trip. For anyone involved with the South American Explorers Club, the location could not be better; the hotel overlooks their yard. For others you should know that it is in San Blas, about a ten-minute walk from the center of the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south side of the hotel, which overlook the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    67
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
74
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

My husband and I just stayed here for 6 nights encompassing a 5 day Inca trail hike and we were quite impressed. It was quiet, extremely clean, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. It is a 5 or 10 minute walk from the Plaza De Armas, which suited us just fine considering how busy the plaza can be with traffic and people. The only time we took a cab was back and forth to the airport. The breakfast was excellent and the 24 hour "tea station" was a wonderful touch. Carmen and Angel were very helpful to us and super friendly. We couldn't have asked for better hosts!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We loved our stay here! They upgraded our room as they were doing some works in the area we booked. We stayed on 3rd floor, with a great view! Very clean and has all the basics, including a hair dryer and shampoo.

Best thing about the place is its lounge areas, with nice art and rocking chairs, free all day long tea and coffee, very friendly staff. One of the best breakfasts too, melons and mangos, tomatoes and avocados, juices, etc.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This wonderful little boutique hostal sets a standard for great hospitality in Peru. Although it's a little out of the way, above San Blas Plaza, it was easy walking to the main centers and an easy $2 cab ride back if the altitude makes you a bit breathless. It's surrounded by charming restaurants with really good food (take up their recommendation for dinner at Marcelo Batata, and have the lamb ribs, or the alpaca...or chicken curry..¡perfecto!). The rooms are currently undergoing a bit of an upgrade with new decor and themes, but the work going on was managed unobtrusively, and one can see the added charm appearing already. Bedrooms are comfortable and exceptionally clean, some with incredible views across Cusco and to the Andes beyond. Wonderful common areas, inside and out, and a charming breakfast room, with delicious hot and cold breakfasts every morning.
And on top of all this, the absolute best staff I've ever encountered. Carmen and Angel on the front desk were not just charming, insightful and extremely helpful, they speak great English and I suspect a couple more languages, and are bent on making every guest feel special. We had a situation where our bus trip to Puno had to be canceled, leaving us with a couple more days in Cusco than we planned. Not a problem. Angel managed to keep us in our existing rooms, juggle renovation work, and still accommodate new guests booked in earlier.
If I could give this little gem of a place and its staff a 6 rating, I would do so. Above and beyond.

Room Tip: Don't be deterred if your room opens on a common area. We found it goes quiet by 9 pm in the eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, Soth Wales
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was my first trip to Peru and I had no idea what to expect from hotels, food or people.
This Hostal was more like a 2-3 star hotel we are used to in Europe. It was very clean, offered great service and the location was convenient to Cusco centre.
The rooms were spacious with modern facilities and some had views overlooking the mountain range surrounding Cusco - quite spectacular.
It can get very cold at night and each room was equipped with a portable radiator.
The shower was clean and spacious with piping hot water which is exactly what you need after a 14 hour flight, also if you are returning from a 5 day hike of the Inca trail, then this shower is invaluable.
Breakfast was a little odd at first, obviously the hotel was trying to cater for
European and american tastes as well as retaining its national dishes. We enjoyed pastries, biscuits, pancakes, fruit, cereals, coffee and that all important coco tea.
In the small lounge area there was a constant supply of hot water and fresh coco leaves as well as tea bags and coffee.
A word to the wise, make use of the fresh coco leaves as it helps with the effects of altitude sickness. Expect at least 24 hours of severe headaches possible 48. Drink plenty of water and relax, do not over exert yourself, the feeling of breathlessness is overwhelming and it doesn't matter how fit you are.
The staff in the hotel could not do enough for you, they even carried your luggage to and from rooms and even out to the bus.
The location of the hotel was up a slight hill, in normal circumstances no problem, but at high altitude, could leave you breathless and disorientated.
There are hotels located right in the centre of Cusco although this was reflected in the higher price.

Cusco is an amazing city, the architecture is fascinating and there are modern cafés and restaurants catering for every nationality, if you like meat, the alpaca steaks are delicious but I couldn't succumb to the guinea pig on offer.
The people are friendly and very proud of their heritage, quite rightly so. Do not be put off by the constant flow of street vendors, a polite 'no gracias' will suffice, I couldn't believe how rude some tourists were.
Loved every minute of my stay there.

Room Tip: A ground floor room is helpful if you are suffering from altitude sickness, you are also closer to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Very good location in Cusco, just a few blocks from the main plaza. The people were all very helpful and friendly, and most spoke English pretty well. Our first night, the weather was poor, so we stayed in, ordered in dinner (at their recommendation), and watched a movie by the fire in one of the common rooms. The bedrooms are very comfortable, bathrooms new and clean. They also brought space heaters up to our rooms since it was a little cold out at night. We might recommend asking if there are any religious festivals going on before you book. The church next door had a festival our last day in Cusco. That meant fireworks starting at 4:00 AM....not a typo...4 in the morning. And the marching band went by our room at 5:30 AM. Not the fault of the hotel of course...and by then all you can do is laugh. Very nice place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsens, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Have stayed a couple of nights at Tika Wasi and everything has been perfect!!! The rooms are big, clean and with all necessities. The staff is friendly, swift and very professional. I would recommend this place at any time and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Tika Wasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Tika Wasi

Address: Calle Tandapata 491 | corner of Siete Angelitos, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Tika Wasi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run boutique hostel located in the city of Cusco, Peru. Our name, Tika Wasi, which in quechua means "house of the flower" is descriptive of the environment you will find here: spacious gardens and beautiful common areas with plant life to relax or read a book. We offer various types of lodging and our reception is open 24 hours in order to accommodate any and all of your needs at any time, day or night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostal Tika Wasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Tika Wasi Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Tika Wasi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.