We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but interesting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Loreto Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Loreto Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Loreto Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Loreto 115 | Plaza de Armas, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 244 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
minneapolis/saint paul
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quirky but interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

We stayed at this hostel and found it worked fine for us. Plenty of hot water, they made us tea us soon as we got there. They don't take Visa but they do take MasterCard. odd. They have an unused but cute courtyard right outside and there is an enormous door in the inca wall they are built on, so at night they lock this big door which I think is good for safety. The staff were helpful, nothing went missing even though we left a lot of lugguge while we went off to do the inca trail. Breakfast was basic, rolls with jam and butter (the butter in Peru is wonderful). Tea, coffee... that may be it. The rooms built up a lot of humidity so you may need to leave your windows open. Buildings in Peru don't have screens so....and there is also nothing resembling sound insulation anywhere I stayed including here. If you can't handle being immersed in the local culture, even when you want to sleep, don't go to Peru. If you can live like the locals, you'll be fine.

You will be bothered by hawkers outside the inn. A taxi honking at you is asking if you want a ride. If anyone (including children) try to sell to you using guilt, "why won't you buy this? Please just buy it"...just try to sell them something back. Worked for me. I can understand trying to make a buck; but it's so relentless it's counterproductive. A good shop to buy scarves, ponchos... is around the corner on Santa Catalina Angosta. Across from a terrible restaurant called something like "El Meson de Don Thomas", a little towards the Plaza de Armas, is a shop with no sign but there is a golden retriever who hangs just inside the door. Good prices, nice lady, great dog. :) A restaurant just across from the lousy "Don Thomas" is a place with a lot of windows, a carry out window for empanadas. We ate inside several times.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    51
    23
    6
    1
See reviews for
26
41
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

EVerything people say about Loreto is true. Olga is amazing - she met us at the airport and drove all eight of us to the hostal (no extra charge). She always seems to be working! wow. the location is fabulous. it is literally three steps from the main square - nicely located between the cathedral and the jesuit church. the water is HOT 24 hours a day - you will appreciate this if you stay there after the inca trail! we stayed two nights before and one night after. She has a hanging scale to weigh your luggage for the trail and she stores everything you don't need while you are gone in a locked room. the breakfast is basic and the area is noisy, but you will find that anywhere. if you find the rooms cold, just say something and Olga will bring a portable heater that makes everything warm and toasty. We didn't use the internet, as it is dial up. For the same price you can find a cheap internet cafe - this worked better for us since we were a large group!

it really is a hotel - not a hostel. it is expensive for a hostel and cheap for a hotel and I would definitely stay there again. It is clean and basic with the best location we could have found.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

We had spend 4 nights at Loreto (3 before the Inka Trek and 1 after). The location is great - right off the main square. We stayed in the room with original Inka stones, but we were OK with the heater. Although the noise from the street is discernable, it was not a major problem for us. The breakfast was basic - but it was pretty similar to the other parts in Peru. The Internet access was easily available on the second floor. Overall, I think this hotel is a great spot to land in Cusco.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

You can't beat the location: just a few steps off the main square, Plaza de Armas, on a small side street. And the price is right: just USD45 for a double with 24hr hot water, breakfast and free transfer from the airport/train station. Rooms could use a freshen up (carpets a bit worn, paint bubbling/peeling in some areas), but they are definitely clean. And the two we stayed in had colour TVs with plenty of English-language channels. Another bonus is they will securely store your extra luggage for free while you hike the Inca Trail.

BUT, choose your room wisely..."original Inca walls" might sound like a neat idea, but the room we stayed in the first night didn't have any external windows and there was enough mold/mildew collecting in the nooks of the Inca walls to keep me up all night sneezing and sniffling. Though, all credit to the staff and the manager Olga, we were moved to an upstairs room (room 202) for the rest of our stay which was much better - big windows in both the bedroom and ensuite, so no more mold/mildew - and were given a 40% discount for the first night.

All in all, a solid stay.

Note: They insisted they had WiFi (they do have regular internet from a desktop computer), but it never worked for us. But the balcony bar Makayla, in the same courtyard as H. Loreto, has super fast WiFi and great views over the plaza. We spent many hours there sipping coca tea and the staff didn't mind at all.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The Inca wall room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

This is an excellent place to arrive at Cusco...they will pick you up at the airport free of charge, and serve you coca tea upon arrival...and while it´s close to the Plaza de Armas (main square) in Cusco, it´s buffered from much of the street noise. The rooms were basic but clean --- in my opinion it might be slightly overpriced, but it´s mostly due to the central location.

Olga, the person in charge, was very helpful and went out of the way to follow up and accommodate the travelers...if you hit a language barrier with some of the other staff or need assistance of any kind, ask to work with Olga.

My only complaint was that there was apparently a breakfast included, but nobody explained to us where it was. You´re better off going 2 blocks up the street to Jack´s Cafe anyway, which totally rocks.

  • Liked — Location and care of hotel manager.
  • Disliked — Where´s the breakfast?
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

Found Hostel Loreto execellent. Firstly the location was second to none. The rooms were very spacious and clean. Unlike some reports we did have a tv in our room. Secondly the staff were amazing, friendly and helpful. We even got our clothes laundered during our stay for virtually nothing! The bar attached served good food and good beer by great staff. I would recommend this hostal to anyone whether on a budget or not.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

My husband and I stayed in this hotel prior to our trek on the inca trail and also after we returned. The hostal is located just off the main square in Cusco, close to amentities, sights and restaurants but is quiet too!

The staff are friendly, speak good English and will store your luggage for you while you trek the inca trail.

The rooms are a reasonable size with own shower and toilet. They surround a nice courtyard where you can eat breakfast.

Overall a great place to stay in Cusco.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loreto Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loreto Boutique Hotel

Address: Loreto 115 | Plaza de Armas, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 244 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Loreto Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loreto Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loreto Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.