We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gustitos de Loli

Gustitos de Loli
Recoleta Angosta 613, Cusco 0000, Peru
084-262198
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 423 Restaurants in Cusco
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Small family restaurant, great food in the historical center of Cusco
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“A fine dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This restaurant is kind of tucked away in a narrow lane. It's a cozy little place with great service and excellent food and a good selection of wine. The menu has some excellent veggie salads. The trout is highly recommended. The restaurant is owned by an Andean down-to-earth chef. If you enjoy Andean hospitality, this is a great place. If you're a 'gringo with an attitude' ..lol... may not be your best bet :-)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    10
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“you HAVE to go to this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

we arrived in cusco yesterday, and are staying nearby. we read the great reviews so decided to give it a go. what a success!

i had vegetable soup & garlic bread, and my hub had fetuccini with spicy red peppers & roast veg. everything was so fresh & the flavours were wonderful. we got a side salad which was really the best salad i have ever had.

we were so impressed we intend to return every day of our stay in cusco & try more on their extensive and very reasonably priced menu.

have scored 4 for atmosphere as we were the only customers at 9pm on a friday night - hopefully word spreads & this wonderful restaurant gets the business they deserve.

p.s the hot chocolate is to die for :-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Trying to get there but struggling”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were really excited to eat here based on the reviews, but overall we were very disappointed. The restaurant is well-off the beaten path on a narrow and busy street. It's not far from San Blas, but in the opposite direction from the busy part of the historic center.

The waiter did not speak English well at all, and in fact, did not really understand the menu (we tried to communicate in our weak Spanish and good French) - eventually the brother of the chef (who was eating there as well) overheard the waiter and corrected him a couple times, then really took over the job himself.

The appetizer of local potatoes was nicely presented, although not particularly flavorful. I ordered the cuy and was disappointed it was tough and coated with a hard layer of seasoning. My wife ordered the pork ribs and received exactly one rib. One. The brother asked how our meal was and when I said - just OK and with small servings, he said "I'm trying to convince them to fix that." We didn't stay for dessert; we were actually upset about the meal.

Other than the brother and his girlfriend, we were the only people there, until another couple arrived just before we left.

I really hope they get their act together. There's potential there but given the large number of excellent choices in San Blas, they will have to pick up their game quickly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Delicious, healthy, home-made food, beautifully presented & fairly priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was by far the most delicious and beautifully presented meal I ate in my 3 week travels throughout Peru and Bolivia. The menu offers a wide variety of very fresh and tasty, home-made soups, salads, pastas, vegetable, meat and fish dishes. Make sure to leave room for dessert - super yummy. Also, they make their own, to die for, home-made chocolates which are displayed in a tall, glass cabinet by the door. Be sure not to miss them; your taste buds will thank you. The restaurant itself is clean and cosy. The walls are an inviting peachy, orange color and the servers are pleasant and efficient. The menu is fairly priced. You won't eat a better meal in Cusco.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tasty, friendly, relaxing and local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Went there for dinner and had the Alpaca burger. It was super delicious, fresh bread, big pattie and a healthy serving of chips. My girlfriend had the Spinach Raviolle which was also good. Family owned and food locally sourced from their community which makes this an awesome ethical choice! They can also do delivery.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gustitos de Loli also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Gustitos de Loli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gustitos de Loli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.