We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty sexy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sacsayhuaman

Sacsayhuaman
Portal de Panes 123, C. C. Ruisenores Oficina 206 | Plaza de Armas Cusco, Cusco 051, Peru
995 050803
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Small Group
$70*
and up
Cusco Markets and Ruins Small Group Tour
Ranked #3 of 89 Attractions in Cusco
Type: Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The ruin complex of this military fortress is a superb example of Inca architectural skills since it was made of enormous carved limestone boulders (some weighing more than 300 tons each) that were fit together perfectly without the use of mortar.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Byron Bay
Top Contributor
489 reviews 489 reviews
253 attraction reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
450 helpful votes 450 helpful votes
“Plenty sexy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We arrived at Sacsayhuaman as part of the City Tour from Cusco, and it was the highlight of our tour.

Maybe not as impressive as Machu Pichu due to the relative flatness of the terrain, but impressive nonetheless. The area of the temple is huge, and there are some great examples of the magical stonework, with many of the stones weighing several ton (see my photos). It remains a mystery to me how these stones were cut and lifted into place. Despite all the theories expounded by the guides, no one has managed to duplicate the building process, despite all the modern equipment we have at our disposal.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,095 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,933
    945
    190
    22
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Top Contributor
352 reviews 352 reviews
220 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Plenty of walls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This large holy inca site has the most famous walls of all. There are walls on three levels with stones of wildly differing sizes. All are put together without mortar, an inca specialty. It is beautiful and fascinating.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A great introduction to Cusco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

You must go to Sacsayhuaman and see the ruins of the pyramid. It was fascinating. We were breathless from the altitude so I didn't do much higher climbing but what I did see was amazing.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuzco, Cusco, Peru
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a impressive place!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Just go there and try to imagine how the incas built such giant structure.

Once you get the place You won't believe what You see, the size and shape of the stone blocks are incredible, take your time for climbing the hill in from of the structure, because the best panoramic view is from there.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Can't-Miss Attraction While in Cusco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Look for the heaviest and tallest stones, coming in at 360 tons and 27-feet high, respectively. Climb to the top for spectacular views of Cusco. Check out my story about Sacsayhuaman, Qoricancha, and Q'enko written for TripAdvisor sister site SmarterTravel: http://www.smartertravel.com/blogs/today-in-travel/unearthing-inca-culture-in-cusco.html?id=17808662

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sacsayhuaman also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Sacsayhuaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sacsayhuaman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.