We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sacsayhuaman

Sacsayhuaman
Portal de Panes 123, C. C. Ruisenores Oficina 206 | Plaza de Armas Cusco, Cusco 051, Peru
995 050803
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Small Group
$70*
and up
Cusco Markets and Ruins Small Group Tour
Ranked #3 of 89 Attractions in Cusco
Type: Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The ruin complex of this military fortress is a superb example of Inca architectural skills since it was made of enormous carved limestone boulders (some weighing more than 300 tons each) that were fit together perfectly without the use of mortar.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator
Encinitas, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Beautiful views of Cusco and the ruins are spectacular. You cannot miss this if you go to Cusco. There are llamas and alpacas all over the place (at least when we were there). Be sure to get a professional guide to explain it to you.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,094 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,933
    945
    189
    22
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Impressive, if in town should definitely see.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very easy to take a cab to (negotiate before getting in - shouldn't be more than 10 soles). Our guidebook was extremely outdated - learned that admission was much higher than we were expecting (can't remember the exact amount) b/c it gets you in to all 4 ruins around Cusco - problem being this was the only ticket they were selling.

Very nice ruins site - great view of Cusco from one of the vantage points. Would suggest against hiking up to the Cristo statue..

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“the best one to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Probably the best inca ruin to see.
I love the inca ruins and this is another one to tick off the list.
They are well maintained and offer you an insight into the amazing strength that the culture has at creating great structures.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Close to Cusco and very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I took a cab up and hiked back down. I did it on my first day in Cusco while still adapting to the altitude and found myself a bit out of breath just walking around, but the stone walls there were unlike anything else i saw...even in Macchu Picchu. Read about the history if you don't plan to get a guide...but do it!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Incredible view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our tour guide was terrible, but the views and size of these ruins are impressive. Sunset from those hills was incredible.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sacsayhuaman also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Sacsayhuaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sacsayhuaman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.