We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel, but noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado San Agustin

Save Saved
You added El Dorado San Agustin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Dorado San Agustin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave El Sol 395, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 144 hotels in Cusco
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very nice hotel, but noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

For us it was not the outside noise but the internal noise that was a huge problem - forget trying to sleep anytime after 5:30 unless you have earplugs as the noise from people heading out to Machu Picchu or other trips makes it impossible to sleep. Comfy beds though. Great breakfast - good variety, everything felt very fresh (very weak coffee). Staff are ok - reception staff were sometimes helpful, the doormen very mixed. Don't eat dinner here - there are much better restaurants close by and much cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    98
    34
    11
    7
See reviews for
41
91
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The room was fine, spacious, clean, with flat TV, electronic safe, but has no air conditioning. We stayed in a room facing the street and the windows of the room were old, did not contain the noise of the traffic. Terrible quality of sleep. Check out 8am.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Perfect. Bedroom, food, clean, attendant, localization, technology....nothing to complain. A good place to stay, to know the city....perfect.
A thing that makes me a good impression was when I arrive, early morning, 3:00 am, and the attendant offers me a bedroom up my check in starts....it was very gentiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The acoustics seem to magnify all the noise in the pleasant inner-court area, so either request a room away from the inner-court or bring ear plugs. We stayed 4 nights prior to hiking the Inka Trail to MP and one night afterwards. Loved the coca tea available in the lobby and the breakfast which starts at 4:30am for trekkers. Also ate dinner there and had the entire restaurant to ourselves--food quite good and reasonably priced, but they would not break a 50 soles note for tipping, even in their own currency! Also liked being able to check email back home from the two computers in the inner-court area. Staff was helpful and courteous but English is clearly not their first language so speaking slower and more distinctly is advisable. Good location --just two blocks from the main square and short distance to shops, restaurants and museums.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the casa cartegena hotel in Cuzco, which was great. Then we went to the sacred valley and came back to Cuzco for one night, leaving early the following day. We decided to try another hotel and went to the San Agustin hotel. We arrived at 6 pm. Windows were open in our room, nobody thought to close them though it was freezing outside. Heaters were not powerful enough, we've been freezing all night. Rooms are very noisy, it was impossible to sleep anyway. We've been told that breakfast opened early. But when we came, 30 minutes after the time of opening, almost nothing was there, we had to ask for getting what we needed, and it was very long to come. Overall service was very poor. And it's not an unexpensive hotel ! This hotel is a fake. Avoid it if you can !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel is well located a short walk from the main square.
The room is clean and contains the basic things you'd expect.
However, the room and hotel is a little dated, and it can get incredibly noisy if you get a room overlooking the lobby or main street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel for a 1 night stay befor heading to MP. Desk staff were very helpful. Helped me with a taxi and contacted the tour company I was using for MP tickets. For those going to MP, beware... Get your tickets before going as they are sold out generally several days in advance.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Dorado San Agustin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado San Agustin

Address: Ave El Sol 395, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — El Dorado San Agustin 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Agustin El Dorado is the ideal hotel in Cuzco to visit Hotels in Peru, it is located at a privilege area of the historical Cuzco, between the Main Square and the "Koricancha" Temple of the Sun.From our facilities you have easy access to the monumental Cuzco and nearby the airport and main streets in the Imperial Cusco City.El Dorado Hotel Cuzco-Peru has a Colonial and Andean front. Its style is subtle, neutral and elegant, as a result of the mixture of Andean stone and modern metal touches.Our hotel offers you a great hospitality and also an exceptional service for your business and pleasure trips.Our Hotels in Peru offers you luxurious, comfortable and spacious Rooms, and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your El Dorado San Agustin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado San Agustin Hotel Cusco
El Dorado San Agustin Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dorado San Agustin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.