We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Comfortable, Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado San Agustin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Dorado San Agustin to your Saves list
El Dorado San Agustin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave El Sol 395, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 147 Hotels in Cusco
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
207 hotel reviews
Reviews in 192 cities Reviews in 192 cities
599 helpful votes 599 helpful votes
“Modern, Comfortable, Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the El Dorado for four nights in September/October ‘07. Three nights in one room and a fourth night in a different room when we returned from Aguas Calientes. Overall it was a comfortable and convenient base for exploring Cuzco.

The El Dorado is a completely modern hotel about two blocks from the Plaza de Armas along the city’s main boulevard. It is part of the San Augustin chain, which seems to be one of Peru’s best mid-range hotel companies. The hotel is fairly large and therefore popular with tour groups.

The attractive lobby adjoins a central atrium area, which also gives access to the hotel restaurant and a more quiet and restful lounge area, where there are also several computers with internet access. The atrium lobby is where tour groups tend to meet, which generates considerable noise from time to time that drifts up to the rooms on floors above.

Our first room (#208) was fairly large, with two twin beds, a side table, and a t.v. stand with a small built-in refrigerator. There was a large closet along one wall that gave plenty of room for hanging clothes. We had a small window that look down onto the street (great for people-watching), and though the street had lots of traffic, after 10 p.m. there wasn’t much noise – still, if you’re a light sleeper you might want to ask for a quiet room. We found that noise was more of a problem internally, with tour groups coming and going early in the morning. Our second room was a bit smaller but similarly furnished. Both bathrooms were tiled, fairly large, modern, with a single sink and not much counter space.

Breakfast buffet was in the attractive hotel restaurant and was excellent – a large selection of fruit, juice, cereal, hot dishes. However, dinner in the restaurant was overpriced and not very good, particularly considering the excellent restaurants close by.

In general, we recommend the San Augustin El Dorado as a comfortable and convenient place to stay. Smaller hotels with more character are in the San Blas area.

  • Liked — Attractive, Comfortable Room
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    134
    44
    11
    7
See reviews for
55
109
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

This was our home base in Cusco for 4 days and we found it a great value. Our travel partners stayed here 2 years ago, before it went through a total renovation. Now with an elevator, this hotel is brand spanking new with modern rooms, heat, and totally new baths. We stayed on the top floor away from the street side and found the rooms very quiet. The hotel is on Avenue Sol, the main street in Cusco and is about 3 blocks ffom the main square and about 2 blocks from the Temple of the Sun. Staff was helpful and friendly.Breakfast was the most extensive spread we had in Peru and the facility had 2 computers for free internet access.

  • Liked — Everthing was brand new
  • Disliked — After the fourth day we tired of pisco sours.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington KY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

Great location in Cusco; close to museums, and to the Plaza de Armes and shopping. The staff were very friendly and helpful; the buffet breakfast was good; the room was clean and pleasant. Hot water was never a problem and overall we had an excellent experience there. It was a good value and we would glady recommend it.

  • Liked — Location and Staff
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

We stayed at the El Dorado as part of an Overseas Adventure Tour. This is a very comfortable hotel with a great location. While not luxurious, our room was clean, functional and of reasonable size with a large clean bathroom. The lobby, again while not luxurious, was reasonably furnished and comfortable. Free internet was available ( 2 computers). The location is superb - only and a five minute walk from the Plaza de Armas ( the main city square). Walking to and back from the Plaza at night presented no problem for us vis-a-vis safety, etc. Our room did not face the street so noise at night was not an issue. One of our group had some serious altitude issues and oxygen was made available to her. The El Dorado provides a very credible breakfast buffet featuring both hot and cold dishes. There are a wide variety of reasonably priced restaurants in the immediate area. If you don't expect Hyatt type luxury but are looking for a comfortable, well-located hotel, the El Dorado should suit you well.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2007

Nice hotel located centrally to all that Cusco has to offer. The Hotel has an atrium and incoming tours arrive early with consequent noise if your room looks onto the Atrium. Food was excellent and staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lobby noise
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2007

The quick story: This is a decent hotel with comfortable, clean rooms in a nice location. It does have some negatives which are forgivable because of its value and location. . .

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in January. The trip was booked on short notice through a travel agency in Lima, so I had not had a chance to do any research on this hotel beforehand. This hotel is referred to as 4 star, though it is clearly not. However, for the price, it isactually quite good. In terms of amenities think Courtyard by Marriott or Holiday Inn Express and you'll have an idea of what you are in for. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean, included soap and shampoo. The room also has a small fridge, and a safe in the closet. The room is on the small side for someone used to the typical U.S. hotel room, so there is no extra furniture such as a desk or pad of paper to write on. Wake up calls could come 20 mins. earlier or later than requested. The smallish lobby has a rustic feel, our windows faced the lobby, which was open all the way till the ceiling. The bad part of this is that it tends to amplify the sounds in the lobby, so in your room, you can really hear the telephone and loud conversation in the lobby at night. Also, there were areas in the lobby and around the elevator that had not been dusted in some time. The best part of the lobby was the free coca tea that was there at all times, there was also free breakfast in the restaurant, which included scrambled eggs and sausage. We did not eat dinner there as it lacked any sort of ambiance. A positive point of the hotel was its location which was about a 5 to 10 min walk to the main square. The reception staff seemed nice, though we did not interact with them much since all out tours were booked through a travel agency.

  • Liked — comfortable clean rooms
  • Disliked — not particularly luxurious
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2004

This hotel has a nice location in Cusco (Avenida El Sol, two blocks from Plaza de Armas). Very clean rooms and nice restaurant. It also has a cafe, used to serve breakfast. It provides a very nice stay for the price. Do not expect luxury; it is a budget hotel, better than many low budget hostals and B&B in Cusco.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Dorado San Agustin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado San Agustin

Address: Ave El Sol 395, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — El Dorado San Agustin 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Agustin El Dorado is the ideal hotel in Cuzco to visit Hotels in Peru, it is located at a privilege area of the historical Cuzco, between the Main Square and the "Koricancha" Temple of the Sun.From our facilities you have easy access to the monumental Cuzco and nearby the airport and main streets in the Imperial Cusco City.El Dorado Hotel Cuzco-Peru has a Colonial and Andean front. Its style is subtle, neutral and elegant, as a result of the mixture of Andean stone and modern metal touches.Our hotel offers you a great hospitality and also an exceptional service for your business and pleasure trips.Our Hotels in Peru offers you luxurious, comfortable and spacious Rooms, and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your El Dorado San Agustin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado San Agustin Hotel Cusco
El Dorado San Agustin Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dorado San Agustin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.