We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Potential Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Hotel Monasterio to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Palacio 136 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco 5184, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #7 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
san francisco
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A Potential Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2006

We arrived having reserved for pick up at the airport with no meet and greet person in sight. We had a sense of foreboding. It turns out it was just ¨Carlos¨their hired guide. NEVER use Carlos for any tour guide outing. Unfortunately, he ended up on the Hiram Bingham, Orient Express train as our guide to Machu Pichu. Carlos´ lack of English language understanding. etc. Book tickets directly with Orient Express or pay the 5% handling fee. The Monesterio manager was kind enough to waive our 5% charge after we explained no one had told us about this charge. The service at the Monesterio is excellent, truly. EXCEPT the concierge ¨Claudia¨ we weren´´ the only Claudia victim. The oxygen in the room wasn´t necessary just fyi. The business center was extremely helpful ¨Janet¨´ helped us get our air line tickets changed without a change fee from LanPeru. I would recommend the hotel. Definately worth it not only for the beautiful facility, but the proximity to everything.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruMON, Guest Relations Manager-Angela Ayala at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, January 11, 2007
Regarding the review on the trip advisor member with date of stay December 27, We appreciate your comments sincerely and are working to correct the inconveniences that you might have found.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    996
    165
    51
    30
    9
See reviews for
245
620
47
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2006

This place has an amazing ambience which feels magical. We arrived and I have to say it is one of the best hotels we experienced whilst on our trip to Peru. As soon as we arrived they upgraded us to a suite which was very luxurious. After spending a full day out doing activities it was a pleasure knowing that we were going back to a luxury hotel. We had a romantic dinner outside in the courtyard gardens which we shared a moment relaxing and sharing our experiences about the past few days.

  • Liked — the fact that it was an old monastary made it feel special
  • Disliked — nothing as everything was perfect
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay for maybe just two nights
  • Stayed September 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2006

It's a beautiful building and worth a stop in the lobby and courtyard if you happen to be in the area.
The room was incredibly hot and my husband and I had to take turns sleeping downstairs on the couch. When we asked them for a fan they said they couldn't find one. when we asked for a change in rooms, they then miraculously found a fan but it took about 5 hours and 5 phone calls and visits to the lobby. Staff is courteous and pleasant but not very helpful.

  • Liked — building was beautiful
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toromata, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, December 6, 2006
Regarding the review on the trip advisor member with date of stay November 28, I would like to let you know that all of our Junior suites unfortunately at this time do not have an air conditioning system. We have a project for next year to install velux windows in all our junior suites in order not experience this problem in the future. Please remember that the hotel sits on the historic site of an old monastery and remodeling takes more than the goodwill of the hotel due to his protection by the National institute of culture. the days of your visit, the hotel was completely full, and all our fans were already in rooms. We had to wait for a guest check out and I am sorry if this was not explained to you.I cannot agree with your comment about our award winning staff which is well trained and fully commited to give a personalized service to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2006

Hotel Monasterio is a gorgeous slice of heaven. Appropriate, since it was a monastery, and has its own impressive historical chapel. The rooms are spacious and decorated with colonial art. The common areas are luxurious and the gardens are lovely. The owner, The Orient-Express corporation has truly considered every detail to make it's clients stay a charming and memorable experience.

The service was gracious, personable and sincere. The entire staff knows your name! They are helpful and attentive. I felt spoiled.

The food is excellent and highly professional. My only suggestion would be to provide a casual dining area. The dining options are all formal. There were times when I just wanted to be able to read one page of my book (solo traveler) without being attended to ...

Very expensive, but the experience with worth the cost if you appreciate finer hotels.

  • Liked — The colonial historical atmosphere
  • Disliked — Lack of a more casual dining option.
  • Tips/Secrets — Worthy of the 5 Stars.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2006

Just got back from Peru this past Monday (Oct.2) and while there spent three memorable days at the monasterio (two different stays... one for two nights nad then one for one night). The staff is extremely warm, friendly and very attentive. It truly did seem their goal was to try and make our stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible... and they succeeded beyond our expectations. The rooms are beautifully furnished, beds are extremely comfortable, linens soft and fresh smelling. While the bathrooms are not large, they are supplied with all the amenities you would expect in a 5 star hotel. I was also pleased to discover that they had both 220 and 110 outlets... very convenient. My husband and I enjoyed the wonderful and varied breakfast buffet, and dinner one night in the Illary restaurant... though expensive... I really did not find it outrageous given the class of service and the quality of the meal.. we also had a bottle of Peruvian wine which at $24.00 I considered very reasonable. All in all I would like to thank the staff at Monasterio for their ability to make two strangers feel like family

  • Liked — The ambiance... unusual accomodation with quiet beautiful music always in background and often waking to peaceful gregorian chanting
  • Disliked — The water pressure in the shower was so-so
  • Tips/Secrets — Paddy Flahertys Irish Pub... great place for sandwiches and a cold cusquena
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2006

The Monasterio is an absolutely beautiful building and is immaculately maintained. Our room was excellent and we had a lovely balcony overlooking the mountains. Breakfast was OK but nothing special, dinner was good value for money.
The experience was spoiled by the rather stuffy atmosphere and the fact that the staff seemed ill at ease with some of the overly demanding, loud, bossy guests that the hotel attracts.
The bar and dining room atmosphere was also dead.

  • Liked — Lovelly rooms and surroundings
  • Disliked — Stuffy atmosphere
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't use Inka Wasi travel agents in Cuzco, they were a disaster
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2006

As you approach the Monasterio along a narrow street it doesn't look much from the outside, but step inside and you enter another world !

What an excellent place. There is history here. There is peace and quiet too. You almost expect to bump into robe clad monks as you stroll through the quadrangles !

Our room could have done with being a little larger (couldn't they always) but as with all the other Orient Express Hotels we have stayed in it reached the high standards they set themselves.

On the way to breakfast (which was excellent) we could hear the ghost's of monks quietly singing hymns - did we imagine it, or was that a tape playing in the background ? Who cares, it all added to the atmosphere.

The restaurant seemed a little quiet which was a shame because it looked nice. We didn't eat there because we like to get out and see the places we are staying in rather than spend all the time in a hotel but I suspect the reason for the lack of patronage was that it was overpriced and because Cusco is safe and has an abundance of cheap, good quality eating places it is likely to remain so.

But that's a minor thing. We enjoyed our stay in Cusco and we liked staying at the Monasterio very much. The staff were friendly, the service excellent, the whole experience - first class. I even forgive them for charging my credit card twice for the same sundry item (it was refunded when I spotted the mistake a week later)

  • Liked — Atmospheric. Service. High Standards
  • Disliked — Entrance directly onto street
  • Tips/Secrets — Check your creit card bill carefully !
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Address: Calle Palacio 136 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Belmond, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Monasterio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.