We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“class, location, history, breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Hotel Monasterio to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Palacio 136 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco 5184, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #8 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“class, location, history, breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

Stays at this hotel bookended our Christmas visit to Machu Picchu. It is an outstanding property, steeped in history, located exactly where you want to be in Cusco. There is so much positive about this property, but the highlights include a world class breakfast buffet, a beautiful lobby and public area, helpufl and courteous staff. We stayed in two different rooms and they were both larger ones, suites in fact, almost too big! A short walk to the square, cathedrals, Inca walls, etc.
This is an expensive place, our stays were over 550 USD per night. So value is not what you come here for, and not what we were looking for. It is class, and I would go back in an instant assuming budget continued to not be a real concern.
I have posted a picture of the entrance from a nice little square in front.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnmora, Management Representative at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, March 6, 2009
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments about our Hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you understand our concept and philosophies.
SIncerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,000
    166
    51
    30
    9
See reviews for
245
623
47
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
So.California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

My husband & I just returned from a two month visit to Peru. We loved the Monasterio Hotel, (we stayed 4 nights)-the historical significance, the ambiance, the impeccable service , delicious food (for breakfast--didn't have other meals there). I can't believe some of the previous reviews regarding poor service. !! The family with teens probably should have stayed at another hotel with amenities they are used to, i.e , tv etc. such as an American style Sheraton or Marriot. Probably more their speed--- Another review stated the rooms were too small. Good grief, don't people have a clue about where they are staying or the history of the hotel. Appalling! Yes, we have stayed all over the world in 5 star hotels including the Mena House--big deal! We always try to stay in unique, historical places and we check either on our own or with our travel agent to confirm a hotel will meet our preferances .We traveled with Abercrombie & Kent on this trip, and they must have confidence in the hotel. since it is the hotel they recommend in Cusco.

  • Liked — The tranquility
  • Disliked — No room service, but really not necessary
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnmora, Management Representative at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, February 9, 2009
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments about our Hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the chance to live the Orient Express experience. We appreciate your support and it will surely be transmitted to all our staff in order to keep working hard to exceed our guests' expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

SIncerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

The Hotel Monasterio in Cusco is not the 5* hotel they claim. We just stayed there, a family of 4 from the New York area (two boys aged 17 and 19, and parents) for two different stays (before and after Macchu Picu).

The Monasterio is the most expensive hotel in Cusco and they do not provide the service or amenities those high prices imply.

Examples from our experience:
- On both check-in dates they gave us the wrong rooms. On one instance they found a replacement room with twin beds, on the 2nd instance they did not.
- One of the women at the front desk was rude, mocking, and condescending in response to two of our questions (about hair dryers and whether a museum was open). We had just returned on the evening Vistadome train and were exhausted. Also on that night that front desk person also did not remove someone else's luggage from one of the room we were given.
- They never had change for 100 and 50 Sole bills at the front desk (key for tipping and small purchases).
- The woman at the Business Centre was rude to our polite boys, and they charge after the first 30 minutes.
- The toilets in both our rooms broke.
- The lock on one of our room doors broke, when the luggage valet was using it.
- The waste basket next to the toilet in the bathroom, for soiled toilet paper, was an unattractive plastic, and HAD NO TOP. (Even the waste baskets at the airports have tops!)
- The decor in the rooms is not significantly elegant, and the bathrooms look like someone threw marble at them.
- The rugs are old, and on the stairs where you walk up to higher floors the rugs are dangerously sagging and not well- attached to the stairs.

The Monasterio does not deliver, unlike other hotels in historical buildings where we have stayed, like: El Convento in San Juan, the Parador in Granada in Seville, or the Mena House outside Cairo.

We stayed in the Libertador Hotel in Puno which was wonderful. There is a Libertador in Cusco.

My recommendation - stay somewhere else, and drop by the Monasterio for a walk through the first floor and the Chapel. You can have a drink at the attactive bar. But don't spend the extra money to stay there.

  • Liked — Location in Cusco and the history of building itself.
  • Disliked — Incredibly poor service by front desk and business centre, poor quality of rooms, bathroom, hallway rugs, and overall maintenance, awful room assignment system and inexcusable follow-up, given it's high high prices and claim to 5*.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnmora, Management Representative at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, January 13, 2009
Dear guest,
We would first want to thank you for choosing Hotel Monasterio and for submitting your review as it helps us improve our service and facilities. We regret that some of our products and services did not fulfill your expectations. Hotel Monasterio always promotes staff training in order to improve our services and provide 100% guest satisfaction. We will review the staff training to ensure the service quality is on top of everything.
Regarding our business centre, we do not charge for the first 30 minutes of internet, however there is a cost after that time.
We are also working on improving our facilities.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of further assistance.

Sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa Valley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

We just returned from a one night stay at the Monasterio Hotel in Cusco. December 31, 2008. Yes the hotel is lovely. The chapel is gorgeous, the rooms are beautiful, but the service lacks of attention, and it is, at best mediocre. We pulled in front of the hotel on a taxi cab. The doorman was paying attention to a list he was reviewing. No eye contact, no acknowledgment that we had arrived. We had to pull our luggage out of the car and take them inside the hotel ourselves. Once inside the hotel a young man took care of our luggage and proceeded to checked us in. Early in the evening, I went to the hotel business center to print our airplane’s boarding passes for the following day. There are three monitors for guests, one for the employee in charge, and one printer for the four monitors. The young employee in charge of the business center told me to wait until someone could make her printer work. After some time, her printer was working and she proceeded to print some name tags for a large group in house. I requested to use the printer and she told me to wait just one more minute that she was almost finished. I waited, and waited, and waited, until I told her I was not willing to wait any longer. She gave me then an e-mail address to e-mail my boarding passes to the hotel front desk so that I could get them printed at the front desk. I went to the front desk and they were able to print one of the two passes I needed. The front desk employee became frustrated that he was not able to print them, asked me to wait so that he could get change to the person behind me. At that point I requested to talk to the Manager on Duty. Mr. Patricio Zucconi came to see me, directed me to his office. In two minutes he had my boarding passes printed, this was a forty five minutes task…..UNACCEPTABLE!

  • Liked — The Hotel Chapel
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnmora, Management Representative at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, January 13, 2009
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for informing us about your stay in our hotel. We are deeply sorry that we did not give you that 100% guest satisfaction that normally every guest recieves. With the problem you had at our business centre, unfortunately we experienced technical difficulties with our printer that could not be fixed promptly, thus representing a delay. We apologize for this and thanks to your comment we will make sure this does not occur again. At the time you asked our front desk staff to print your boarding pass, we were having many guests settling the hotel bills for it was required as it was the last day of the year. Owing to these inconveniences, the cost of your transfer from the hotel to the airport was excluded from your hotel bill.

Our goal is to give 100% guest satisfaction, we apologize for the inconveniences and will arrange these not to happen again.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

Wonderful service, food, rooms, and all in an old monastery. All this on a cute square and across from a great museum. A few days a week there is a late afternoon tour of the facility which we unfortunately missed. Ask when you reserve when it is. Stay here if you can afford it. It is worth it.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnmora, Management Representative at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, January 19, 2009
Thank you very much for this lovely comment. It encourages us to keep giving our best in order to provide unique experiences at Hotel Monasterio.
Please let us know when you come back again so we can appoint an afternoon tour of the hotel.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

We recently stayed 4 nights in the Monasterio before and after a trip to Maccu Piccu. The standard rooms are small as many others have said but they are beautifully decorated and the hotel grounds are very pretty .We were fortunate to be upgraded to a junior suite for our second stay which was really lovely and definitely added to our stay.
Overall the staff were great - the bar and restaurant staff were excellent and we really enjoyed the traditional tea served by the fire after a long day site seeing.
The only issue we encountered was regarding the concierge service - we used it twice once to book restaurant and once for a massage . For the restuarant they did not call back and let us know that reservations had been made and it took 3 follow up calls to find out that the restaurant we wanted was fully booked , to choose another and then finally to call to confirm that this booking had been made successfully. For the massages they confused the rooms and time of the massage between ourselves and our friends - again despite the fact that we had called back to confirm . Both these situations were resolved without problem and it certianly did not ruin our stay but at such a special hotel and at such special prices we would have expected this service to work more smoothly. This is still an amazing hotel and if you get the chance you should stay here .

  • Liked — Location and hotel building
  • Disliked — Concierge service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnmora, Management Representative at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, November 20, 2008
Thank you very much for your time spent in writing this review. Your comments are very important to us for they make improvements in our service and therefore we are able to fulfill our guests' expectations. Regarding the concierge problem, we are sorry about the confusion and have made some arrangements for this not to happen again. Your satisfaction is our greatest reward always, please do not hesitate to contact us on any matter. We will be glad to serve you.
Sincerely yours,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

We stayed at the Monasterio for two nights before visiting Machu Picchu and again for one night on our return to Cusco. We enjoyed everything about the hotel. The architecture and decor is beautiful, the food in the restaurant (we had breakfast, one lunch and one dinner) was wonderful (although dinner was a little pricey) and we had excellent service throughout our experience. We had a beautiful room for the first two nights and were thrilled to be upgraded to a suite on our return. I would not hestitate to recommend this hotel and our stay there will be a special memory for us.

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Address: Calle Palacio 136 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Belmond, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Monasterio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.