We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Hotel Monasterio to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Palacio 136 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco 5184, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #8 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Marshall, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We traveled with a group of about 30 people, arriving in Cusco after days of exhausting climbs at Machu Picchu. The hotel staff was waiting for our group in the chapel, with all the welcome packages assembled, and bellmen waiting to take our luggage from the bus directly to the rooms. It was absolutely effortless and the welcome staff made us feel so good. They offered coca tea, water, and whatever else we wanted. The rooms were beyond beautiful and perfectly appointed (and even a complementary shoe shine). Although we were just above a busy street, the inside wooden shutters on the windows were so sound-absorbing we could hear no noise at all; in the morning, it was fun to open the shutters and hear the city coming alive. The bar was so relaxing and comfortable, and was beautifully decorated for Christmas. The restaurant has to be experienced. It was perfect in every way: from the personnel, to the decor, to the fabulous food. Everything about Hotel Monasterio was superb. The people made us feel like a king. On top of all that, it is ideally located just behind one of the two huge cathedrals that face Cusco's beautiful city square. I can't think of anything to suggest; it is perfect!

Room Tip: Probably not a bad room in the place. We were above a busy street toward the back but were absolute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    166
    52
    30
    9
See reviews for
247
626
47
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

I really didn't know what to expect from my trip to Peru. I was a little apprehensive when we first booked this trip. I was wowed by this hotel. The service, location and beauty blew me away. We were picked up at the airport promptly by an orient express representative. Check in was very smooth. We stayed one night then left for Macchu Picchu in the morning and came back 2 days later. Upon our return we were upgraded to the Presidential suite. The hotel is very centrally located in the colonial section of Cuzco. Walking distance to the main plaza and shops. The restaurant in the hotel is delicious. My boyfriend raved about the foie gras comparing it to what he has eaten in France. The service is out of this world. The concierge arranged for all of our tours to Macchu Picchu and Cuzco. Everything went smoothly, our tour guide Marisol Velasco was the best of the best. The oxygen in the room is a plus get it if you can. I can't say enough about this magnificent hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Location perfect and beautiful building. First stay we had a very small room second stay a beautiful Junior Suite. This made the stay very comfortoble and pleasant. An amazing hotel in a beautiful city!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Great place to stay and a sight in itself, super service, everyone was so helpfull . One of the greatest hotel ever stayed in and absolutely recommendable. The rooms are comfortable and you feel like a "king"

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Most tourists spend but a day in Cuzco as part of their travels to or from Macchu Piicchu. But if you do so you are missing a lot. There City has a lot to offer and the quality of the hotels surpass the best that you can experience in Lima. The stay at Hotel Monasterio is a great experience. The building is really rich in history and yet the bedrooms and public rooms are really comfortable. Service is of a very high standard and prices, although high, represent good value for what you receive.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

My wife and I absolutely fell in love with this hotel.
Stepping off the plane, they have a dedicated booth in the arrivals lobby where you can check in and arrange transport to the hotel. The end-to-end service was impeccable. With the exception of a single restaurant hostess who may require additional training in customer service and general etiquette (she was slightly rude and looked bored standing around while literally picking her ears), all staff were helpful, polite and highly service oriented.
Enjoyed the beautiful common areas and the tasteful approach in preserving a historic site while converting into a luxurious hotel.
Breakfast was tasty and location cannot be beat.
Only downside was the temperature and dryness of our room. Temperature control did not work with only warm air coming from the vents. We woke up with sore throats on both mornings of our stay. Not fun when battling the high altitude.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The hotel is really very attractive to look at in yhe public areas. However I found the rooms rather dark and depressing, the religous art on the walls was not at all to my liking. The staff were not very friendly either during my 3 night stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments.
We are sorry for the inconvenience.

We can guarantee you of our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus in reinforcing our renowned service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers usually rank us.

Sincerely,
Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Address: Calle Palacio 136 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#4 Family Hotel in Cusco
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Belmond, Expedia, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Monasterio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.