We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Property, location and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Hotel Monasterio to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Palacio 136 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco 5184, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 147 Hotels in Cusco
Phila Pa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic Property, location and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The interiors of the hotel is spectacular with two open air courtyards. Located just off the main historic square but on a quiet side street, its just at the foot of the walk up to the artsy, lively San Blas area. The included breakfast every morning was the best we had one our tripw ith wonderful made to order omlettes and quinoa pancakes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,
Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    181
    53
    31
    8
See reviews for
272
684
51
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was a beautiful property, originally built in 1595 as a monatery over top of a former Inca ruin. All the rooms are unique - many tucked in nooks and crannies. We had an interesting room at the roof line, up some stairs, with a separte odd "tunnel" running the length of the room behind us with a little window - perhaps a monk's prayer space? In any case, the room was spacious, comfortable, had plenty of light, a nice large window with a view of roofs and Cusco hillside, and modern amenities in the bathroom. One of the unique features of the hotel is its chapel, with very beautiful paintings and altar. Another unique feature is that most of the hotel's rooms are oxygenated, to help guests acclimate to Cusco's high altitude. The hotel also offered coca tea in the hotel lobby, which the locals drink for the altitude.

There are a number of little shops in the square on which the Hotel is located - good shopping and you can bargain. We enjoyed Alpacas Best - some lovely alpaca wool items there!

Even though we did not have very good weather during our two- day stay in Cusco, the hotel was comfortable and there are lovely rooms with fireplaces around the reception area which are great for enjoying a cup of tea or glass of wine if you don't want to sit in your room.

The hotel has two restaurants - both outstanding. The Illory was in a lovely dining hall. Lunch offered a splendid buffet with numerous regional specialties, and a wait staff anxious to please - and to explain the various dishes.....all delicious! Breakfast is also a treat with just about anything - both hot and cold - you could wish.

We loved our stay in Hotel Monasterio and would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: They are all so different, it would be hard to pick one. However, if you do not wish to have to cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,
Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our well-heeled friends all said that we have to stay in the Monasterio. Well, they were right. This hotel is beautiful, the service is gracious, the rooms are luxurious, and the surroundings are serene. This hotel is not for the scruffy back-packers you see in the town square, This hotel is for grown-ups who want to luxuriate while the are roughing it in Cusco. One night we enjoyed the hotel's bi-weekly opera night, with singers performing during dinner. Opera, great food, a glass of wine -- heaven.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,
Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

This place is indeed a wonderful land marked building, it used to be a monastery. Very Spanish style, with heavy furniture, and religious paintings everywhere.
Everything is very luxurious, but the old fashioned way. There is very little natural light in the rooms, so you have to turn on the lights when you wake up, of course, the rooms used to be priests cells. I felt like staying in an antique store.
Tv channels in English are very limited, and the wifi doesn't work very well, I guess because of the thick walls.
The service is great, so is the staff ( the Peruvian are so kind in general), nice breakfast under the arcades of the monastery, and the location is great. Cusco is a great city, the heart of the Inca civilization , and there is always a lot of things to do.
I like more modern decoration, so I visited the JWMarriot, and I liked it better for it's ambiance, and it's airy environment .

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director de Recepción at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,
Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is "an experience".
Previously a seminary, the chant of monks is heard upon arrival.
The grounds are impeccably groomed with magnificent flowers, and the central courtyard boasts a 300 year old cedar tree.
A Peruvian woman in full traditional garb is stationed in the courtyard selling her hand woven goods.
The restaurants are excellent and the staff are accommodating and friendly.
The bar/lounge boasts a magnificent flower arrangement and inviting, comfortable chairs.
The rooms are beautifully decorated with impressive paintings and the bed is extra king and luxurious!
Most rooms overlook the courtyard.
The bathroom is modern and well appointed (except for the shower which could have had better water pressure:-( .
The hotel is centrally located with easy access to the main square.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your contribution, it will certainly help other guests coming to Cusco!

All the best,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The staff, service (other than issue #1 below), accommodations and accouterments at this hotel in Cuzco/Cusco were top notch. The setting, a 1600's Spanish monastery with a gorgeous chapel area, was absolutely beautiful. The enclosed walkways and restaurant with glass in a way that doesn't detract from old-world elegance of the monastery. Breakfast in the outside courtyard in the middle of the monastery was wonderful - the food was great as well as the setting.

TIP: after a day of activity, request the oxygen if you feel a headache or nauseia coming on because you probably have some form of altitude sickness, particularly if you spent several days at sea-level in Lima.

I would have given Hotel Monasterio 5-stars, except for 2 issues:
1 - I paid for a reservation which included a spa service/massage for 2 on a certain day based on our travel plans. We were informed the masseuse already left for the day. They asked to move it, when I insisted on it being the scheduled day they asked us to walk to another, sister hotel where another masseuse was located (5-star service?? really??), I flatly denied that offer and reminded them we were paying over $400 US p/night for several nights and the service should reflect it (is this "manana-time" creeping into their service??) - miraculously, a masseuse materialized 1 hour later to provide what we had already paid for.
2 - the wifi internet never worked. I could see the wireless router, but neither iPad would connect (and I am tech-savvy, there were no password issues, etc). The concierge couldn't figure it out either. I must give them credit for trying (they even turned off and on the router), but nothing worked. Again, 5-star location should have the little things figured out.
3 - the pillows were not great for our heads, as we were getting altitude sickness and went to sleep and woke up with headaches every day. Although it was one of the prettiest and most interesting hotels we've ever stayed in, they were bar-none the worst nights of sleep we've EVER had at ANY hotel. And I had already reserved a room with the upgraded in-room oxygen to help reduce the relative altitude by 900 ft to assist with this issue, but honestly, I couldn't tell if it made a difference - so I'm not sure the upgraded oxygen room is worth the expense.

Room Tip: -Don't pay for the Oxygen-room add-on - didn't make a difference with our issues with the al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We honestly are hotel snobs...that's right. I admit it. And the Hotel Monasterio was our little paradise in Cuzco. Our main contact at the hotel was Pedro. The most impressive concierge we've ever had the pleasure of working with. He saved the day on many occasions. Helped us with scheduling flight changes, tours, and a minor medical issue and of course what to do in Cuzco. If we had a position at our company we'd hire him!! He is Ritz calibre.

Rooms are pin clean. Amenities are high end. The morning buffet was so finely executed; I'll never forget the magnificent assortment. The thinly sliced smoked salmon was to die for.

Only complaint was the wi-fi. They really need to work on getting the signal stabilized. We were in two different rooms and it just wasn't dependable. That said, I'd stay there again and again.

Also I'd like to mention overall the staff had the "Can-do" attitude. Really focused on the clients.
Other good things: English speaking news stations, mostly English speaking staff, fast service for room requests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your contribution, it will certainly help other guests coming to Cusco!

All the best,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Address: Calle Palacio 136 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cusco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#5 Business Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Belmond, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Monasterio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.