We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a smile and a cheerful greeting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Hotel Monasterio to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Palacio 136 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco 5184, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #6 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
FL
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Always a smile and a cheerful greeting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

It is always nice to write a good review for a hotel I stay at.

Of course being is Cusco on vacation is different than being on business. This time on vacation and the room was nice but the ambiance of the former Monastery is so great.

Service was first rate -- always a smile and every employee you pass solicits a warm and sincere good day or or good evening.

Food was good too. So was the singing soprano at the main restaurant.

Cannot say how much I enjoyed the stay -- even being a little altitude sick did not sour my stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,
Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    978
    162
    51
    30
    8
See reviews for
243
607
46
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Perú
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Was amazing get in there and find a tower of champagne with amazing staff sharing with everybody,, I will not forget the evening there with all my family and all the people who enjoy it . Also the room we arrange before was really nice with a patio and conecting the 2 rooms we have,, they ask the day after if we would like a book lunch because we made the Machupicchu and was excelent at all,,

Room Tip: Please check always the rates in your reservation have option for a pluss have a nice room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that your stay in our hotel has met your expectations.

Thank you for your comments which encourage us to every day in order to give the best service to our guests.

Kind regards,

Gustavo de León
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Htel Monasterio is a beautiful place to visit Cusco. It takes you back in time and makes your stay be more realistic in this great city of Cusco.
Its expensive, but the service is perfect, the rooms are clean, spacious and elegant.
The food is delicious, you really get back in time.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with oxygen. They charge a bit but its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest:

Receive a warm greeting on behalf the entire team. We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the great description of our luxury hotel you have made.

We will be happy to have you with us in another opportunity.

Best regards,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is so beautiful it will take your breath away. It is an old monastery (and they actually play music of monks chanting) and they have kept all the historic detail in tact. It is the most peaceful hotel I have ever been to. The rooms are nice but small. The bed is comfortable, the shower has good pressure, and if you get a room with access to the courtyard the sitting area is a very nice place to relax. I am NYC foodie (think Per Se, Masa, La Bernardin) and I found the food there to be exquisite; it would easily rival almost any meal I've had in a fine dining restaurant. The staff is eager to please, and in fact rushed to get my husband oxygen when he was feeling ill. They even called later in the evening to make sure he was feeling better. This is one of my favorite hotels of all time, rivaling The Four Seasons George V in Paris, Villa d'Este in Lake Como, etc. If you are visiting Cusco, please do yourself a favor and spend at least one night at Hotel Monasterio.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is the most extraordinary property I have stayed at. Quiet, elegant, fabulous ambience, very clean, wonderful service by everyone. Great breakfast buffet, with live guitar music during the later breakfast hours. Meanwhile, quiet gregorian chants fill the cloister during the day and evening. Free wifi, plenty of free water in the rooms, and location is very close to the Cathedral and main square. Lots of wonderful restaurants and shopping close by. It is an refurbished monastary, so rooms and bathrooms are not roomy because of the age (1692 is the official date on their door), but you can't beat the aura and location. I really wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in the city.

Room Tip: Our rooms on the street side were pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Monasterio on two different occasions on our recent trip to Peru. The first stay covered three nights and we were very happy with the property. The staff was great, the property was well taken care of and the location was great. On our second stay, which was for only one night, our room experience was not so good. We stayed on the third floor and the room seemed to have very thin walls and we heard noises all night. So, when you book make sure you don't get a room on the third floor.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor seemed to have very thin walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel was in a very central location, aesthetically pleasing and the staff were very helpful and friendly and went out of their way to help us with our requests. We enjoyed the atmosphere of being in a former monastery and enjoyed the original paintings adorning the corridors and the beautiful relaxing music. The courtyard gardens were also very nice . The breakfast buffet was delicious and had alot of variety.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your contribution, it will certainly help other guests coming to Cusco!

All the best,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Address: Calle Palacio 136 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Belmond, Venere, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Monasterio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.