We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible & Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Save Saved
You added Belmond Hotel Monasterio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Palacio 136 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco 5184, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Night - Book Now
Ranked #5 of 144 hotels in Cusco
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Incredible & Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is so beautiful it will take your breath away. It is an old monastery (and they actually play music of monks chanting) and they have kept all the historic detail in tact. It is the most peaceful hotel I have ever been to. The rooms are nice but small. The bed is comfortable, the shower has good pressure, and if you get a room with access to the courtyard the sitting area is a very nice place to relax. I am NYC foodie (think Per Se, Masa, La Bernardin) and I found the food there to be exquisite; it would easily rival almost any meal I've had in a fine dining restaurant. The staff is eager to please, and in fact rushed to get my husband oxygen when he was feeling ill. They even called later in the evening to make sure he was feeling better. This is one of my favorite hotels of all time, rivaling The Four Seasons George V in Paris, Villa d'Este in Lake Como, etc. If you are visiting Cusco, please do yourself a favor and spend at least one night at Hotel Monasterio.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    895
    153
    51
    29
    9
See reviews for
226
555
42
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is the most extraordinary property I have stayed at. Quiet, elegant, fabulous ambience, very clean, wonderful service by everyone. Great breakfast buffet, with live guitar music during the later breakfast hours. Meanwhile, quiet gregorian chants fill the cloister during the day and evening. Free wifi, plenty of free water in the rooms, and location is very close to the Cathedral and main square. Lots of wonderful restaurants and shopping close by. It is an refurbished monastary, so rooms and bathrooms are not roomy because of the age (1692 is the official date on their door), but you can't beat the aura and location. I really wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in the city.

Room Tip: Our rooms on the street side were pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Monasterio on two different occasions on our recent trip to Peru. The first stay covered three nights and we were very happy with the property. The staff was great, the property was well taken care of and the location was great. On our second stay, which was for only one night, our room experience was not so good. We stayed on the third floor and the room seemed to have very thin walls and we heard noises all night. So, when you book make sure you don't get a room on the third floor.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor seemed to have very thin walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel was in a very central location, aesthetically pleasing and the staff were very helpful and friendly and went out of their way to help us with our requests. We enjoyed the atmosphere of being in a former monastery and enjoyed the original paintings adorning the corridors and the beautiful relaxing music. The courtyard gardens were also very nice . The breakfast buffet was delicious and had alot of variety.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your contribution, it will certainly help other guests coming to Cusco!

All the best,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Heights, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Meh. Fancy hotel that struts like a peacock. went as part of a honeymoon trip. First room had no window -- though they made a big deal of the fact that it was our honeymoon. second room slightly better but in a remote part of the hotel that felt like it was out of The Shining. Snooty, snobby and entirely different than our experiences elsewhere in Peru, where we found everyone warm, friendly and helpful. Not here. Maybe if you're a celeb shelling out untold fortunes per night, but otherwise I'd go elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The building and grounds are spectactular, especially the internal courtyard. I thought the rooms were a little small/dark (we were in a deluxe room) for the price. The service was good (for Peru). Overall, a lovely hotle and definitely one of the best options in Cusco.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The main thing I liked about Hotel Monasterio is its history. I like the fact that it was a former monastery and university and is now a national monument. The ambience of the hotel made you feel like you were going back to the 15th century. I liked the piped-in Gregorian music in the halls and dining area at the ground floor. The lobby also had this antiquated and cozy feel. The halls of the hotel were nice to walk in and had nice view of the higher areas of Cuzco. The church in the hotel also had a grandiose yet still cozy feel. Our room, though small, made us imagine that it was once a dorm room of a priest. I also liked the very old cedar tree in the middle of the building. I liked the fact that part of the building is still made of ancient Incan walls.

As to other aspects, the hotel staff was very friendly, approachable, and made one feel at home. I liked it that they had house tea at the lobby to fight off "altitude sickness." Also, its location is central since it's only two streets away from the Plaza de Armas, the heart of Cuzco. Plus there's a little plaza just right outside the hotel.

I would very much recommend this hotel to anyone who would want to experience Cuzco and its ancient history.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Address: Calle Palacio 136 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cusco
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#3 Family Hotel in Cusco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Cusco is the 16th-century Hotel Monasterio, originally built as a monastery in 1592. Allow the charm and unique atmosphere of this ancient monastery to embrace you. This unique hotel museum is an architectural treasure built on Inca foundations with a beautiful chapel adorned with extraordinary gold ornaments. It combines the solemnity of a colonial monastery with the luxury, elegance, comfort and excellent quality of a modern five-star hotel. Enjoy a variety of tours around or outside Cusco city (upon request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Belmond, Orbitz, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Monasterio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.