We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Hotel Monasterio to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Palacio 136 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco 5184, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #8 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The building and grounds are spectactular, especially the internal courtyard. I thought the rooms were a little small/dark (we were in a deluxe room) for the price. The service was good (for Peru). Overall, a lovely hotle and definitely one of the best options in Cusco.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    166
    52
    30
    9
See reviews for
246
624
47
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The main thing I liked about Hotel Monasterio is its history. I like the fact that it was a former monastery and university and is now a national monument. The ambience of the hotel made you feel like you were going back to the 15th century. I liked the piped-in Gregorian music in the halls and dining area at the ground floor. The lobby also had this antiquated and cozy feel. The halls of the hotel were nice to walk in and had nice view of the higher areas of Cuzco. The church in the hotel also had a grandiose yet still cozy feel. Our room, though small, made us imagine that it was once a dorm room of a priest. I also liked the very old cedar tree in the middle of the building. I liked the fact that part of the building is still made of ancient Incan walls.

As to other aspects, the hotel staff was very friendly, approachable, and made one feel at home. I liked it that they had house tea at the lobby to fight off "altitude sickness." Also, its location is central since it's only two streets away from the Plaza de Armas, the heart of Cuzco. Plus there's a little plaza just right outside the hotel.

I would very much recommend this hotel to anyone who would want to experience Cuzco and its ancient history.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Arrived there on the evening of 24th of December, booked a luxury room with oxygen to end up with a very nice and large bed in a tiny room, not sure the oxygen was working by the way,,,, went for dinner, poor service and food not at the level to be expected in such a highly prized hotel and in Peru (where food is usually superb), so all in all not a stunning experience and will not go back there, there are alternatives in town and even on same square.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

As an avid, world-wide traveller, this hotel was impressive - very clean, comfortable and luxurious. Beautiful! Also, highly recommend the Orient Express as a trip adviser - they arranged our entire Peru trip which included a stay in Lima and hiking the Mountain Lodges of Peru (Inca Trail). One of my all time favourite trips ever.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Monasterio Hotel from the moment you walk in is BREATHTAKINGLY BEAUTIFUL, the staff are all ready to see to your every need,the beds are amazing to sleep in, the rooms do filter oxygen in by request at an extra cost which we all recommend we had it every night during our stay.
We visited with two other couples and we were there for four days we all found the service,food and rooms SPECTACULAR..........
If I ever go back to Cusco i would never stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Our rooms were 205,206,207 and they were great access upon entry there was not any stairs which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A truly beautiful property situated a few steps from the main piazza of Cusco. The rooms are spacious, nicely furnished and with view either into the central courtyard, overlooking the small city or views of the surrounding mountains. Courtyard restaurant is casual and offering good food and drinks. Formal dining is excellent as is breakfast room. Walking along the wide verandahs your mind cannot help but imagine life when this was a monastery.
Leaving through the massive front doors it is only a short walk down into the centre of the township with interesting little shops along the way selling alpacca wool garments, hats, memorabillia etc. The locals are extremely friendly and are often found singing and dancing in the main piazza area.
Because of the high altitude of Cusco, the hotel (for a small additional fee) has a facility to pump oygen into the air-conditioning of your room which we took and which greatly helped us acclimatise to the altitude more quickly and sleep better in the evenings.
A very memorable experience. We travelled in May 2011 and the weather was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your contribution, it will certainly help other guests coming to Cusco!

All the best,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights in the hotel, old part, and it was absolutely charming, and very comfortable. The hotel is a museum masterpiece. Favorite times there were the two sunny mornings in the courtyard having breakfast near the fountain and amongst the flowers. We highly recommend this as a great place to stay in Cusco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Address: Calle Palacio 136 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#4 Family Hotel in Cusco
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Belmond, Expedia, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Monasterio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.