We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat after the Amazon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Hotel Cusco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Hotel Cusco to your Saves list
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue. El Sol 954, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A real treat after the Amazon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at Sonesta last night for one night only. We returned from a 4 day adventure out at Manu National Park, and this was exactly what we needed to rest and rejuvenate! We had the king bed on the 6th floor. The rooms are beautiful and a welcome change after our Amazon trip.

We ordered room service, which was tasty, but pricey as expected.

The next morning we had their buffet breakfast, which was good. All the staff was incredibly friendly.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest;

Many thanks for your comments.

It is always nice to receive positive feedback and we would like to thank you for taking the time to contact us.

Should you have any questions or need any further help please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Iván Pérez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    179
    38
    14
    5
See reviews for
131
190
20
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Sonesta on 07/13. I arrived way before the check in time and they had my room ready ( they gave me a room on the 4th floor). While I waited, I was given mate de coca and they let me use one of their computers. Everybody in the hotel was very nice and caring. The room I was assigned was kind of small, but comfortable nonetheless. Everything was very clean, and the room service personnel were great! The food at the restaurant is yummy! I loved the sopa criolla, couldn't get enough of it, but it can get pricey- specially for a student like myself- also, I really enjoyed the breakfast; they offer a different things, my favorite part was having fruits that are very popular in the country such as granadilla and prickly pear. The day I went to Machu Picchu I stayed at a different hotel in Sacred Valley, and came back to the Sonesta a day after, I was able to leave my luggage with them. The room I was assigned when I came back was on the second floor, the night stands on the sides of the bed looked pretty old and outdated, however the room was a little bigger than the first room, but the bathrom was smaller. I really recommend this hotel!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Sonesta Hotel Cusco during your visit to Cusco city.

Furthermore thank you for your kindly words about our property and staff.

We will be pleased to serve you again in the near future.

Best regards

Iván Pérez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff are wonderful a very clean hotel. Are breakfast was included in our price and the food was great. A little far from the square but just beside the market. I would recommend to friends to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cusco for your recent visit to Cusco.

We really appreciate your comments as they motivate us to continue working hard to surpass the expectations of our clients.

Gratefully,

Iván Pérez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Awesome experience. The staff was one of the friendliest I have ever seen. As soon as we arrived, we were welcomed with tea and everyone was super helpful. I even talked to my family about how the gentleman who would help take customer's bags from and to the car was constantly smiling and super friendly. The rooms were clean, and the bathroom was impressive. Breakfast was delicious, and we also had a very good dinner at the restaurant in the hotel. The location is also great. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cusco

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Google Translation
Estimado Sr. Huésped;

Reciba los saludos de los asociados de Sonesta Hotel Cusco, estamos muy contentos de recibir comentarios tan positivos de nuestro servicio y es un placer contar con huéspedes como usted que valoran pequeños detalles que hacen la diferencia en sus viajes, son pocas las personas que aprecian una sonrisa y que la comentan en páginas importantes como esta.

Gracias por mencionar detalles importantes en nuestras habitaciones tales como la limpieza y las comodidades que podemos ofrecer, gracias por mencionar el desayuno el mismo que es preparado con esmero por nuestro chef y su equipo.

No dude en escribirnos cualquier detalle estaremos siempre prestos a colaborar con sus inquietudes.

Saludos cordiales

Iván Pérez
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were happy with the updated room and the service was very helpful as we planned our days in Cusco. When you first enter, they present you with coca tea which is very nice. The breakfast buffet is one of the best we have had in any hotel. We also tried the dinner there which we thought was good, despite some other reviewers input. The location is good - not entrenched in the populated areas but across the street from one of the markets.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Google Translation
Estimado huésped;

Buenos días, agradecerle por sus amables comentarios respecto al servicio recibido en nuestras instalaciones, nos sentimos muy contentos por saber que disfruto de una estadía magnífica y encantadora en la ciudad del Cusco.

Esperamos volver a contar con su visita en sus próximos viajes al Perú.

Saludos cordiales

Iván Pérez
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A well situated and well appointed hotel in this fantastic city. Only issue was air circulation in the room-- very close and warm! The staff provided fans.

Breakfast was included and was consistently well prepared and very tasty.
I recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear guest,

We thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us though the Trip Advisor website. Hereby we would like to extend our appreciation for choosing the Sonesta Hotel Cusco, as your hotel during your stay in Cusco City

My staff and I look forward to receiving you one again in the not too distance future, and offer you the special combination of Cusco hospitality and the one that Sonesta Cusco offers.

Kind regards,

Iván Pérez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inglaterra
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My son and I had an excellent time at this hotel. It was important to have a guaranteed twin-bedded room and it did not disappoint. Very well appointed room, with comfortable beds and we had a marvellous reception upon arrival. Two lovely ladies in traditional Cusco costume greeted us and provided us with two welcome drinks and a snack. One of the drinks, coca leaf tea, was to help avoid height problems; the other a sweet drink made out of purple maiz, cinnamon and sugar and it was delicious.

The hotel's buffet breakfast is very good, extensive and varied.

The hotel is within walking distance to the Plaza de Armas, places of interests and all the restaurants and amenities. It is very safe to walk around.

In front of the Plaza de Armas there is a restaurant called "Tunupa" which offers a buffet and a folkloric dance show which is brilliant. The restaurant is on the 1st floor and if you sit by the balcony you have a lovely view of the Plaza, the cathedral and other buildings around it at night .

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Mrs. Guest;

It has been a real pleasure to have such a special guests as you are in our Hotel. We would like to thank you for your preference and the time to share your great experience with us and with others through this web page. Your opinion is very invaluable because they will let us to improve in our service to offer you a wonderful stay. All the best for you and please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any question.

Best,

Iván Pérez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Hotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Cusco

Address: Avenue. El Sol 954, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cusco
#20 Family Hotel in Cusco
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Hotel Cusco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 70 guest rooms feature modern amenities and conveniences and offer a view of the city or the mountains. The entire hotel was renovated in anticipation of the reopening and now features a modern contemporary decor, spacious guest rooms and a fine dining restaurant serving classic Peruvian cuisine. The neighborhood includes the handcraft market, Plaza de Armas, wonderful local restaurants and artisan shops, and the monuments located in the ancient Inca capital of Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Cusco
Cusco Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Hotel Cusco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.