We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, modern and clean hotel. Wifi and breakfast included.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Hotel Cusco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Hotel Cusco to your Saves list
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue. El Sol 954, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice, modern and clean hotel. Wifi and breakfast included.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Modern hotel, with a lovely lobby. Upon arrival, we were greeted by someone dressed in traditional Peruvian attire, who offered us a cup of coca tea. Check in was fast and easy, rooms large and clean, beds very comfy.

The hotel is on a main street, directly across from the largest artisan marketplace. It is downhill not uphill from the center. Most of the action happens a short 5-10 minute walk from this hotel. Airport is a 10 minute ride. Wifi and free breakfast add to this pPerfect place to stay...would stay here again, no doubt.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Coordinador de Calidad at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dedar Guest;

We would like to thank you very much for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cusco for your recent visit to this magical city, your opinion encourage us to put a lot of effort everyday to keep providing a great service to our guests. We hope you can stay again, if you have any suggestion or comment please do not hesitate to contact me.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    181
    38
    14
    5
See reviews for
132
191
21
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thomasville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I would stay here again. The staff is very helpful. They assisted us in getting our luggage transferred, letters mailed, getting to the train station which is right across the street (very nice if you are heading to Machu Picchu), and made sure we had everything we needed. They greeted us with a cool fruit beverage followed by a hot coca tea. Our room was comfortable but I have to admit quite noisy. During the day you could here construction and in the evening people out in the hall. But at night time it was quiet and my sleep was undisturbed. It's about 20 minutes to walk to the main square. That seems far to some people but the main square is bustling with people and I prefer it to be a little quieter where I sleep. The 20 min walk was enjoyable. The best part is they only charge about $6.00 to pick you up at the airport. Just email them your flight info and arrival time and they are there waiting with your name on a sign. A taxi is twice that much. I wish I had gotten the nice young women's name at the front desk because she was excellent. This was our first day in Peru and she kept us straight!!! Breakfast was included and was very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Coordinador de Calidad at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear guest;

We would like to thank you very much for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cusco and Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website.
Thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services, they serve us an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SP
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Fica no final da av do sol, bom para se dormir com sossego e caminhar ate os principais pontos turisticos. Hotel moderno, bonito, com camas confortaveis. Nao tem ar condicionado, mas nos forneceram ventilador. Embora a temperatura estivesse cerca de 10 graus a noite, o quarto estava bem quente, o que pode ser otimo no inverno. Cafe da manha bom , falta maior variedade de paes, mas os ovos sao feitos na hora, ao seu estilo! Funcionarios atenciosos, mas alguns tinham dificuldade em entender Portugues e Ingles.

Located at the end of el sol ave., great for a peaceful night sleep and near major spots. Modern, nice hotel, with comfortable beds. We stayed in 2 different rooms and none had air conditioner, which can be a problem in hotter days. They provided us a fan, upon request. Rooms are kept warm, although the temperature outside was around 50 at night, a good thing in the winter. Good breakfast, we missed a bigger variety of bread, though. On the other hand, they will cook your eggs as you wish! Gentle and smily employees, but some had trouble understanding both Portuguese and English.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Coordinador de Calidad at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website.

Thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services, they serve us an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights before and 1 night after going to Machu Picchu. The hotel is very good, staff is very helpful and breakfast was excellent. The only downside (in my opinion) was the location. It is located about 4 blocks from the city center, but uphill and, at Cusco altitude, this means at least 30-40 minutes walk.

I went to Cusco mainly because I wanted to visit Machu Picchu. I liked the city and its sights, but next time I go to Machu Picchu (I hope I can return one day!) I plan to spend more time in Valle Sagrado and Machu Picchu and only visit the Cusco airport. I had a very hard time to get used to Cusco altitude, and I don't think the city or its surroundings were worth the trouble, compared to Machu Picchu and the Valle Sagrado.

Word of advice: take the coca tea at least 2-3 times per day. It tastes bad and you'll start smelling like it after a few days, but it really helps you deal with the high altitude symptom - mainly fatigue, nausea and headache. And take it easy on your first days in Cusco, rest and drink a lot of water, or you may experience more serious lung and brain problems.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Coordinador de Calidad at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest:

We would like to thank you very much for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cusco for your recent visit to this magical city and share with us trough the Trip Advisor web site.
We really appreciate your comments as they motivate us to continue working hard to surpass the expectations of our guest. we know about our weaknesses and our strengths, the reason that we are working really hard with the only purpose which is our guest.

Best Regards

Ivonne Hinojosa

Quality control
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I usually stay at 5 star hotels (like the Monasterio hotel from my last trip to Cusco) and found this one to be good for the price. I paid around $130/night which came with free buffet breakfast (eggs, bacon, sausage, custom made omelets, yogurt, cereal, bread, etc). Initially, I asked for a quiet room and went with the porter to check one out beforehand. Was too loud so we went to another "interior" room which had no windows. It was perfect. However, that night, it was too warm so I changed rooms which they were able to accommodate luckily since they were full. I was then put in a room with a window and was quiet. The room was updated with an LCD TV. The bathroom was spacious and also had a window which was nice to let all the steam out during my hot showers. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask them to show you rooms ahead of time if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Quality Control at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear guest;

We would like to thank you very much for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cusco for your recent visit to this magical city Cusco.
We really appreciate your comments as they motivate us to continue working hard to surpass the expectations of our guest.

Best Regards

Ivonne Hinojosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We did not do much walking around this area in Cusco as we were only there for a couple of nights but I like the fact that the handicraft market is just across the street from this hotel; makes it easy for tourists to go souvenir-hunting. There is also a couple of restaurants just down the street. The breakfast was adequate, the room was clean & spacious. Although our room was facing the street & the market, we really did find it noisy at night. The staff was friendly, had coca tea and/or coca candies available in the lobby at all times. Also around the lobby & during the day a Peruvian woman dressed in her native, colorful attire was demonstrating the art of weaving.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Quality Control at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear guest;

We would like to thank you very much for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cusco for your recent visit to this magical city.

Thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services, they serve us an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence.

We really appreciate your comments as they motivate us to continue working hard to surpass the expectations of our guest.

Best Regards

Ivonne Hinojosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Front desk staff are unhelpful and arrogant. We were misinformed by one of the receptionists in regards to availability and rates. The manager instead of explaining and apologizing for the mistake kept giving us inaccurate information, saying that they don't have any rooms available for the following nights but then she suggested us to make a new booking with a higher rate for the remaining of our stay!. The money is not the issue, but it's wrong to encourage bad service lying to customers. The manager is obviously completely incompetent and unprofessional. Stay at Eco Inn instead!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Quality Control at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website.

I would like to extend my sincere apologies for not being able to exceed your expectations as a hotel. however we had the mencion day our hotel with high occupancy, we cordially showed two room the last one and they was bigger for you. We have guest who come to the hotel with reservations and different request so they are our responsibility.

Adicional thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services, they serve us an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence.


Sincerely,

Ivonne Hinojosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Hotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Cusco

Address: Avenue. El Sol 954, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cusco
#21 Family Hotel in Cusco
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Hotel Cusco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 70 guest rooms feature modern amenities and conveniences and offer a view of the city or the mountains. The entire hotel was renovated in anticipation of the reopening and now features a modern contemporary decor, spacious guest rooms and a fine dining restaurant serving classic Peruvian cuisine. The neighborhood includes the handcraft market, Plaza de Armas, wonderful local restaurants and artisan shops, and the monuments located in the ancient Inca capital of Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Cusco
Cusco Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Hotel Cusco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.