We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel w/ free wifi & buffet breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Hotel Cusco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Hotel Cusco to your Saves list
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue. El Sol 954, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 147 Hotels in Cusco
Dallas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Hotel w/ free wifi & buffet breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I usually stay at 5 star hotels (like the Monasterio hotel from my last trip to Cusco) and found this one to be good for the price. I paid around $130/night which came with free buffet breakfast (eggs, bacon, sausage, custom made omelets, yogurt, cereal, bread, etc). Initially, I asked for a quiet room and went with the porter to check one out beforehand. Was too loud so we went to another "interior" room which had no windows. It was perfect. However, that night, it was too warm so I changed rooms which they were able to accommodate luckily since they were full. I was then put in a room with a window and was quiet. The room was updated with an LCD TV. The bathroom was spacious and also had a window which was nice to let all the steam out during my hot showers. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask them to show you rooms ahead of time if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Quality Control at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear guest;

We would like to thank you very much for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cusco for your recent visit to this magical city Cusco.
We really appreciate your comments as they motivate us to continue working hard to surpass the expectations of our guest.

Best Regards

Ivonne Hinojosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    211
    43
    17
    5
See reviews for
160
245
28
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We did not do much walking around this area in Cusco as we were only there for a couple of nights but I like the fact that the handicraft market is just across the street from this hotel; makes it easy for tourists to go souvenir-hunting. There is also a couple of restaurants just down the street. The breakfast was adequate, the room was clean & spacious. Although our room was facing the street & the market, we really did find it noisy at night. The staff was friendly, had coca tea and/or coca candies available in the lobby at all times. Also around the lobby & during the day a Peruvian woman dressed in her native, colorful attire was demonstrating the art of weaving.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Quality Control at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear guest;

We would like to thank you very much for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cusco for your recent visit to this magical city.

Thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services, they serve us an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence.

We really appreciate your comments as they motivate us to continue working hard to surpass the expectations of our guest.

Best Regards

Ivonne Hinojosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Front desk staff are unhelpful and arrogant. We were misinformed by one of the receptionists in regards to availability and rates. The manager instead of explaining and apologizing for the mistake kept giving us inaccurate information, saying that they don't have any rooms available for the following nights but then she suggested us to make a new booking with a higher rate for the remaining of our stay!. The money is not the issue, but it's wrong to encourage bad service lying to customers. The manager is obviously completely incompetent and unprofessional. Stay at Eco Inn instead!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Quality Control at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website.

I would like to extend my sincere apologies for not being able to exceed your expectations as a hotel. however we had the mencion day our hotel with high occupancy, we cordially showed two room the last one and they was bigger for you. We have guest who come to the hotel with reservations and different request so they are our responsibility.

Adicional thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services, they serve us an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence.


Sincerely,

Ivonne Hinojosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This little hotel is located just at the entrance of Cusco's main street (Avenida del Sol). It is a recently renovated building, giving it a nice modern touch in an ancient city. The perfect combination.
The rooms are very clean and spacious. Large LCD TV, reading lights, bath tub.
Downside: The air conditioning system went off during the night and it was either too cold or too hot. Never got to make it work appropriately.
Location: It is about 6 or 7 blocks from Cusco's main square, which is good if you want to get away from noisy tourists or locals, but on the downside, Cusco's main square is quite a nice place and you miss it because it is not so close and walking at night along the Avenida del Sol, as local say, is sometimes not so safe. (I have to admit I did not feel unsafe at any moment)
Personnel: You can't ask for more... they are very helpful and friendly.
Restaurant: The hotel's restaurant has a very limited menu and, if you compare it to Lima's gastronomical experience, unfortunately it rates too low. The breakfast is also limited.
Overall, a very good impression.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Coordinador de Calidad at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website.

Thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services, they serve us an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is well kept, modern and with a nice ambient. My 1st room was very spacious but then had to move due to lack of security box. 2nd room was much smaller which wasn't that great but still same quality.
Main "plaza" is not that close as it seems but still fairly close to walk. If you go during rainy season the bus station for Machu Picchi is only half a block away, this was great (bus + train ride in this time of the year).
Only negative is I requested wake up call, they missed it. Requested help with a cleaning kit, never showed up. Lack a bit of service but general well priced for its quality.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Coordinador de Calidad at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website.

Thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services, they serve us an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence and This is in order to give our guest the best service ever.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Modern hotel with all the amenities. Breakfast is included. We saw a special advertised on their web site and rooms were just $100.
Staff is accommodating. Not all of the front desk personnel speaks good English. They will get you someone that does if you have trouble communicating.
Location is the bomb. Walk to the plaza was enjoyable. Grocery store, pharmany and plenty of shopping. Lots of nice places to dine near the plaza. Since we were not used to the altitude we were advised to eat light (soup) and avoid meat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Coordinador de Calidad at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website.

Thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services, they serve us an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
614 reviews 614 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were extremely disappointed with how we were treated there. Our room was prepaid in Florida, USA and arranged by a big tour operator that did business in Peru and Ecuador. We got in late at night accompanied by the contact person from the tour company. We could not enter through the front door because of a massive contruction on the street so we got in through the back door.
They gave us Room 229, the room next to the contruction site. When I asked for the air conditioner, I was told that they had none. I have Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension and I needed air conditioning. Then, I asked for the window. The bellman showed us a square plastic pull down cover which I thought was a movie projector screen. That was the window cover - no drapery in the room! When he opened the window, there was a ladder standing next to the window. We were not going to spend the night in this room so we asked for another room on a higher floor. The bellman paged the front desk receptionist and she assigned Room 322. It was good that the bellman knocked on the door before he inserted the key on the slot. There was a couple asleep inside. Embarrassed by the incident, the bellman (Micael) asked my husband to speak with the front desk receptionist. Then, we were told to go to Room 422. It was almost 11 P. M. by then. Still, we were told by the front desk staff that they had no air conditioned room. At 11:10 P.M., we called Americo, the contact person who took us there earlier. He was surprised but he told us that he would make some phone calls the next day. We opened the little bathroom window to try to get some air. It was hot and muggy. I stayed awake all night because I could not breath. I was appalled to see what the view was from our window the next morning. My husband spoke with the front desk receptionist that morning and he was asked what time we would come back from our tour. We were not about to wait until that night to be told that they had no other room again. Our bellman this time was Cesar. He was sympathetic and very nice. We were transferred to Room 508 which was totally different from the previous rooms. Room 508 had air conditioning and a balcony over looking the nicer part of the city. It had a sliding glass door and a regular drapery. It had a desk and two queen size beds with fancy pillows. What a difference! The front desk people insisted that they had no air conditioned rooms. We felt like we were treated like beggars from the street!
When we came back from a tour that afternoon, there was a platter with some chocolates and a note stating that they were sorry that we were treated that way and that they were embarrassed. We did not think that they were really sorry. It was a gesture that they had to do. The music at the lobby was extremely loud and appropriate for young teenagers. We asked them to turn it down. There was no tea pot inside the rooms like you normally see in other big hotels. Cusco was windy and cold the next day we were there and it would have been nice to have something hot to drink then. If you want tea, you would have to go to the lobby where the tea pot was. In the room, there was no hook to put your towel or bathrobe. The only towel rack was the one near the sink that held the 2 hand towels.
There was a small safe and a small refrigerator. There was no iron or ironing board. If there were an emergency, you would not know the escape route. There was no map or directions on the door to lead you out of your floor since elevators could not be used in case of a fire! There was a smoke detector and sprinkler system located on the wall on the side of the bed- not on the ceiling. This hotel was not safe!
The free breakfast was unappetizing. They had jam and jellies in open containers. The sausages and cold cuts did not taste fresh. The had cactus pears and olives in small square containers. They did not look good. The fruit juices were all watered down. We ordered coffee and hot chocolate and they were not brought until we were leaving. Service on the restaurant atbreakfast was extremely slow.
The bellmen were great but they were intimidated by the front desk staff. The front desk people had bad attitudes.
Do yourself a favor. Stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay eslewhere. There were lots of better hotels nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Coordinador de Calidad at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Receive a warm greeting from all staff of the Sonesta Hotel Cusco. Your feedback is very important and thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website for evaluate your experience at our hotel.
According to your comments we are going to take care more closely our services in our differents areas.
We apologize for the inconvenience, we have already make the correctives measures.

It´s correct when you mencioned that our guest use our back door to entrance at the hotel, this was because the main avenue was close eventually (10 days) for the goverment of cusco to improve works.

All our rooms are standard, all of them has the same decoration, color, same features, they do not have air conditioning, but we have incorporated heather, as you are a traveller you can understand Cusco is a cold place during all year, the reason, most of our guest ask for warm room, also we do not have kettles, iron in our rooms, agencies know about that.

Security at our hotel is certificated, each room has a map behaid the door, the corridors has in green big drows the words (Salida in spanish and english).
The second room 322 was unoccuppied, the bellboy had the impression to have heard something in there.
Working with neighbors is pretty hard sometimes.

Our staff at the front desk are very friendly and attentive they are professionals with degrees in service and management, all of them are graduated of the best universities in this city, we finding those comments from our guest who can apreciated the human situation.

On the other hand we are really thank you for your comments in order to improve our facilities at our breakfast.

We would like to extend our sincere apologies for not being able to exceed your expectations as a city. However we can suggest many exciting places that you can visit on your next trip to Peru.

Sincerely

Ivonne V. Hinojosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Hotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Cusco

Address: Avenue. El Sol 954, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cusco
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#20 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Hotel Cusco 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Hotel Cusco is the best place to stay away from the bustle of downtown, we are welcoming you to share contemporary and modern facilities with the comfort that you deserve, our associated are oriented to provide you the best quality services, finally you can delight with our specific services that will make your experience in the magical city fantastic. We are committed to create solutions to your needs, exceeding your expectations and leave you happy, that's our goal thinking in you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Cusco
Cusco Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Hotel Cusco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.