We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Experience While in Peru” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique to your Saves list
Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jiron Tetecaca Nro 111, Cusco Cusc 01, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 244 Cusco B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel Experience While in Peru”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The staff is very helpful, the breakfast is great and the location is convenient. They helped arrange taxi rides, restaurant reservations and even checked us in to our flight and printed out our boarding passes. It's cold in Cuzco at night, and the warm water bottle they bring at night is great to warm your feet. If you're in Cuzco, and they have a free room, check them out!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    32
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
75
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. The staff were friendly and helpful. They welcomed us with hot coca tea. Our room was merely a couple meters from the check-in counter, so we were able to hear people come and go throughout the night. The room was quite small, but decent with cute decor. The washroom was clean. Each night they would leave a hot pack under our comforter, to help keep us warm. It was really a nice touch. They even tidied up our beds and stuff each day. (I'm very glad that the staff, since they seem to come in and out of our room--to tidy up the room--whenever we were out.) Our breakfast was very similar each morning, but it was filling. They made us fresh papaya drink for both days (although it might have tasted better if they were not room-temperature). The hotel is somewhat far from the city centre, we had to take taxi to the main square. The staff also helped us book day trip tours for us. Overall, it was a pleasant stay. The only complaint I would make is that there seem to be a problem with the payment after we've already come back home. A staff kept on messaging us to pay for the hotel although we've booked it through an online booking site. Luckily, everything was sorted out eventually.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that is not on the main floor near the reception desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Hot shower, Clean, good wi-fi, and a friendly staff.
Solid place that is affordable on all budgets and about 10 minute walk to the town center.
I maybe would not walk there late night alone but with a few people you will be fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Wifala was a friendly, clean accommodation. It's a bit out of the way of the main centre of town, but was fine for me as I enjoyed the walk, and it was a short, cheap cab ride otherwise (taxi drivers here are sometimes confused about hotel names, so make sure you know the EXACT address and possibly directions of where you're going). The whole hotel was very clean, and staff were very helpful and always checking in. I found it a bit noisy at times, the walls are very thin, and it gets a bit cold at night. Included breakfast is always a great perk. They always made sure I was safe and accounted for when going out. Overall a great, warm experience in Cusco!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This small hotel has a modern thematic decoration and a fine smiling staff that warms the cold Cusco mornings. Even the continental breakfast is enriched with a tasty warm touch of Peruvian cosine made by Nila. In the front desk, Alicia will give all the information to enjoy your staying in Cusco. I really recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The biggest problem with this hotel is it's location. During the day it is not a problem as it was safe to walk to the main square, approximately 20 minutes away. Walking home, on the other hand, is not worth the risk. It is along an non-tourist route across from a church with nobody around once the sun sets. Thankfully taxi's were only $4 soles from the main square so it worked out in the end.

The hotel room was cold, our comforter was filthy, the toilet had a cleaned sign on but clearly had urine in it, the shower temperature was quite difficult to get right as it consistently fluctuated, and the shower drain was abnormally small.

The reason we chose this hotel was the price. So if you can get this hotel for a good price, don't mind a little bit of a dirty room and don't mind taking a taxi at night then go for it. Otherwise if you like to walk around at night, like a warm room with clean comforters then go elsewhere.

The staff was very nice and you can tell it is family run, which is something we always look at supporting. Breakfast was simple and ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

i travel around the globe and stayed in many different type of accommodations. I work in the travel industry and i do look for specifics in my accommodations while traveling. This place has it all when it comes down to the essentials of that list. CLEAN, QUITE, GOOD SERVICE and GREAT VALUE. Yes, I rather walk 5-10 minutes away from the main center of town and stay in a better hotel. This is that option. Anything closer would be a lot noisier and Cusco could be loud at night. It's a lively city and so it's the noise at night.
To top it off, it is a theme type of hotel, and each room is properly decor and definitely has taste.

Room Tip: Upper floor is quieter, avoid main floor rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique

Address: Jiron Tetecaca Nro 111, Cusco Cusc 01, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 244 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.