We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend in a heart beat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wakapunku Hotel Boutique

Save Saved
You added Wakapunku Hotel Boutique to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wakapunku Hotel Boutique
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Choquechaca Nro. 133 | Centro Historico, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Wakapunku B&B)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 144 hotels in Cusco
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would recommend in a heart beat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in both balcony rooms as we used the hotel as our main "base" between trips/tours around Peru.

The staff were attentive, the kitchen is well stocked with tea, the rooms were kept clean and the price is reasonable if you want an affordable midrange hotel.

The location is great, try Jack's cafe which is on the corner!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    38
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
56
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights recently (September)... Renovations are underway that disrupted the operation ( new rooms). To be completed shortly I was told.Comfortable and clean. Best features.....proximity to sites...clean....good breakfast..very good restaurant right next door.....and the very good service at the front desk....very helpfull and sincere plus excellent English........Not so best.......kitchen staff are in at about 530 so with the central kitchen one can easily here her at work.......my only beef!
Otherwise a 5 Star joint from my experience!!

Room Tip: Room farthest from the kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was our second visit to Cusco, we just love the place! We found this hotel on Expedia, and were happy with the location (which proved to be 100% correct) so we booked.

The hotel has been renovated to a good standard, and the girl behind the counter was a doll! absolutely fantastic service. We found the hotel to be good value for what we paid, $90 odd bucks for a smallish standard room. Breakfast could do with a little more variety, but it was more than adequate. Location was absolutely brilliant and we loved the snazzy new bathrooms!

Room Tip: We had the green room.. it was great!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Hotel was wonderfull. Is small but nice. Its very close to the central park of Cusco. The atention was perfect. The only thing that kind of disapoint us was the breakfast. We expected a bit more. Was too simple. Everything else was perfect.

Room Tip: Room with balcony are way more comfortable than romos without it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Waka Punku and enjoyed our time there. The hotel was warm, cosy and excellent value. We booked a 4 night package in Cusco with Chimu Adventures, and were recommended WakaPunku. Rooms are very modern, and recently upgraded. The highlight of the hotel is definitely the staff as well as the very central location.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite room!.. worth the extra $$ plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We got 2 rooms at Waka Punku in August and were quite pleased... Only a couple of blocks from Main Square and LOTS to see on the walk there
Mateo & Deysi made our stay quite enjoyable... Even our cleaning lady was very sweet and knowledgable
We got fresh flowers in our room everyday!
The price is great in comparison to the other hotels in the area... Yes rooms are small but lovely... Besides, we only needed them for sleeping, There's so much to see and do in Cuzco
I LOVED breakfast.. Peruvian Fresh Cheese, Ham & Bread. Fresh Juice (freshly squeezed oranges, FRESH papaya smoothie or Pineapple and Fresh cut fruit
Just LOVED IT!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

A great little hotel in the middle of Cusco. We loved everything about the place, from the service to the decor.. it was also exceptional value. We found the hotel via our tour company, and cannot fault it in any way. We had a suite room on the top floor which had more than enough space for 3 of us with our luggage. Would come back,

Room Tip: Suite room on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wakapunku Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakapunku Hotel Boutique

Address: Choquechaca Nro. 133 | Centro Historico, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Wakapunku B&B)
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 144 hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wakapunku Hotel Boutique 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just two blocks from Cusco's main plaza and minutes to some of Cusco's best known bars and restaurants, lies the hideaway WakaPunku boutique hotel. Meaning "Door to the Sanctuary" in the native Quechua language, we have worked tirelessly to make the hotel warm and inviting to the weary traveller, and offer exceptional service to match the exceptional value for our hotel. Each room is unique; its layout provides an oasis of calm in Cusco. With abundant 24 hour hot water, comfortable beds and modern necessities such as an iPhone dock in every room, we hope you feel comfortable during your stay with us. At WakaPunku we go the extra mile, from our complimentary mini-bar to buffet continental breakfast with fresh natural juices, we leave no stone unturned in our quest to offer exceptional value in this exceptional city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Wakapunku Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wakapunku Hotel Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.