We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rumi Wasi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rumi Wasi to your Saves list
Rumi Wasi
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle Suecia No. 499, Cusco, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 257 Cusco B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolutely amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was the best hotel my husband and I have ever stayed at. It's a cute area with amazing little details and the decor is really great too. We arrived late after spending a whole day at Machu Picchu and we were welcomed warmly. We decided we were too tired to go out for dinner so we looked at the room service options and saw that the only had grilled cheese. I called the front desk and asked if they had a different menu and he brought me one right away with two joy water bottles to put in our bed. We ordered from the reasonably priced menu and only after we placed the order we realized that the food was coming from a restaurant in the main square. Guest services placed the order for us and picked it up. We didn't have to do anything but relax. It was a great experience and I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esanr, Owner at Rumi Wasi, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment, we aim to make our guests feel at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    27
    8
    0
    4
See reviews for
25
57
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Rumi Wasi in Cusco for 3 nights during our trip to Peru. This boutique hotel is just off of the Plaze de Armas, well within walking distance of the main attractions. The staff was extremly attentive with wakeup calls, breakfast and arranging taxi service. They even prenegotiated our cab rate at 8 soles or about $3 to the airport since it is quite common for the cab drivers to rip off tourists. Each room is designed differently; we stayed in a room with an upstairs balcony with a beautiful view of Cusco. If we return to Cusco, will will certainly return to Rumi Wasi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I really liked this hotel. Rooms are situated around an interior courtyard which is quiet and well maintained. Room and bed were very comfortable with cable and flat screen tv. Modern bath and shower with plenty of hot water. Decor is tasteful with lots of local touches.

Breakfast is included and made to order off a set list. Served where and when you want it. I thought this was a great feature.

Staff is friendly.

Only drawback is the noise at all hours from barking dogs and loud people walking in the street behind the hotel. Really hard to get a decent night's sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The staff were very friendly, the hotel close to central plaza, though an uphill walk home which can be a bit of a challenge for those new to the altitude. We had 2 different rooms, 1 the night before heading to machu picchu and the other the night we got back. First room (suite) was a good size though not large, but the bed was quite small. it was advertised as a queen but didn't really feel like it (we are both tall so this was a issue). The second room (classic) was very small and again with a small "queen" bed and was on the back alley. it was more noisy with a barking dog. breakfast was to order and very good. overall though i love this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londres, Reino Unido
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Great boutique hotel. Beautifully restored. Courtyard with flowers and great views of the mountains while eating breakfast. Breakfast is included and very good. Eggs, coffee, bread, meats etc. Meticulously cleaned everyday. Incredible service oriented. Great location and security. Love this place....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Rooms are very comfortable and modern, with beautiful courtyard and excellent service, yummy breakfast made just for you. Any requests we made were quickly attended to. Friendly staff were always available to make our visit comfortable & enjoyable. We had no problem with the noise at all!

Room Tip: We had no problem w/noise, all are well-decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Land, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We loved this place, and highly recommend it. All the staff, and especially the owner wanted to make sure we felt right at home - and we did! Edwin, the owner always took the time to make sure we were comfortable not only with things at the hotel, but with our experiences in Cusco itself. He gave us great advice for restaurants, things to do (and not do). He even gave up his own room to a couple who had no reservations one evening. The hotel is beautiful and very well taken care of by Edwin and the staff. We loved the fresh flowers everywhere and he is also working on a herb garden for fresh teas, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rumi Wasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumi Wasi

Address: Calle Suecia No. 499, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rumi Wasi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumi Wasi (House of Stone) is a house with a colonial style built in the XVI century by Spanish conquerors and erected over Inca’s terraces.It was used as a house until 2005, but it was practically a hovel in ruins. The property was then bought by the San Roman-Vucetich family.Once the restoration was finished and after contemplating how beautiful it had been done, The San Roman-Vucetich family decided to share the warmth of its installations with Cusco visitors. Thus, we are waiting for you to enjoy a nice and comfortable atmosphere enriched for its architectural beauty, privileged view, history and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rumi Wasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumi Wasi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.