We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Palacio Nazarenas

Save Saved
You added Belmond Palacio Nazarenas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Nazarenes 144, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Experiences
Ranked #1 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
British
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my partner following our hike on the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu. Cuzco is at a higher elevation than Machu Picchu, hence it is better to stay in Cuzco following the inca trail, rather than before. This was the perfect bit of luxury following our 4 day hike and we made use of the spa facilities. It is an absolutely amazing hotel with huge suites. Our room was one of the smallest, but it was still huge. The staff are extremely attentive and very friendly. The room had everything we could ever need, including complementary Pisco, Rum and mini bar! Our personal butler came and made us a pisco sour in our room, which was lovely. We had a massage while we were there which was very fairly priced, and much needed. The food was also very nice and not too expensive. The hotel is right in the middle of the city, but at the same time very peaceful and quiet. There are many shops, restaurants, pubs and museums nearby to keep you busy. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting something special.

Room Tip: They are all amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Amy_five,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

Great to read you had a good time and recoverred from your trek to Machu Picchu.

Value for money is very important to us, thank you for commenting on this regarding Spa and Restaurants, the best produce and Ingredients realy add value.

With best regards
Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
116
13
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We arrived late. Our bags were already situated in the hotel as our guide dropped them off the day before. I was not sure what to expect but after walking through two courtyards I was impressed. These nuns lived well!

Our room was like palace. King sized four poster bed. Sofa with multiple chairs and tables. The bathroom was bigger than some bedrooms. It had a shower that could hold a family and a tub from Victoria and Albert that I had only seen in magazines. We felt as if we checked into Versailles. Loved it!

Stayed 3 nights. Enjoyed their "personal buffet" breakfast each morning. Food was good. Wifi worked great everywhere. Inroom coffee from Illy. The pool is a bit shaded by the afternoon but it was nicely heated and we enjoyed.......right up until we got out. The cool air is unusual for us.

The manager introduced himself one day. Very pleasant guy from Belgium. We enjoyed talking to him and entertaining tourist seemed natural for him. We loved the hotel. Thank you.

We learned that you can charge drinks and meals next door at Montessario to Nazarenas too. Stop in for a look there too.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear PGA2,

Thank you!

Great to see your contribution on Trip Advisor, very important.

I am happy you enjoyed your experience with us and compared us to Versailles.


Hope to see you back soon,

With best regards,
Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Have stayed 3 nights at the Palacio Nazarenas I can honestly say that I could not find fault with it (which is unusual for me).

A stunning room with large separate lounge, massive bathroom with heated floor, free wifi, free minibar and great service. The breakfast was also excellent (not the usual buffet). There was a little blip when initially we were shown to the wrong room but this was sorted very quickly.

I would however say that speaking to a travel writer who was staying there at the same time, her perception was different and she did not have one of the Z Collection suites that we had and said the room was ordinary.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We just finished four days here and I must say it has been wonderful. The staff is amazing. Anything you want or need they arrange. The heated pool is delightful. We had a suite with a grand terrace and a huge room. Heated bathroom floors, oxygen pumped In your room. We took advantage of the spa as well which was a lovely way to relax after the trip to Cusco. Breakfast here is a delight as well. If your travels bring you here the staff will ensure you have a tremendous stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The best place we stayed in Peru. The hotel is wonderful, and the heated swimming pool ( a rarity in Cusco) is a perfect place for chill out time when back from all the excitement of trekking or shopping.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Had lunch here at the pool-side restaurant. You will see this in all of my other Peru reviews. Excellent presentations and flavors. Service was excellent. Great ambiance. Pool. Peace and quiet. The smoked Alpaca was something I did not see on other menus.

You could spend your entire trip in the restaurants around Plaza Nazarenas and be just fine.

I would give an edge in ambiance to the Monasterio and an edge in food to the Map Café. But you certainly would not make a mistake eating here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My partner and I spent three nights at the Palacio Nazarenas in early August, the boutique little sister of the Monasterio. What bliss! Our bedroom and bathroom (with fabulous bath and super bed linen and pillows) really were palacial. The management has gone to great trouble to make this most elegant of hotels a friendly home from home. The entire team was a joy and all members of staff were encouraged to use their initiative and to express their personalities and sense of humour.

The food in the restaurant was excellent and, should a guest wish for something not on the menu, the hotel was happy to accommodate this. We had a tremendous amount of fun when we pre-ordered an English afternoon tea. This was quite an adventure and involved walking through the herb garden with our butler and staff to pick out our teas. Not a scone or Victoria Sandwich in sight but a fantastic experience nevertheless.

No detail was too small for the hotel. When the staff found out we had been a little under the weather, a beautiful floral arrangement was sent to our room. Everything in the oxygenated rooms has been well thought out and everything works. Service is very personal (staff always addressed us by name) but is never intrusive.

There's also a spa (which we didn't have time to try), a very inviting swimming pool and the location of the hotel is superb. Next door is one of the best museums in Peru; the Museo de Arte Precolombino which displays Inca and pre-Inca works of art with beautiful lighting.

We were very sad to leave this hotel and it was certainly the best one we stayed in during our three week trip to Peru.

Hilary Wilkes
London SW1

Room Tip: We had a room in the old part of the hotel which had lots of character and overlooked a private cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Mrs. Wilkes,

Thank you for your review, fantastic to read and share with the team.

As we discussed over tea, they are a great bunch and realy complement the facilities with their personalities.

Hope to see you back soon when in Peru

Warmest regards to you and your husband

With best regards,
Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Palacio Nazarenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Palacio Nazarenas

Address: Plaza Nazarenes 144, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Palacio Nazarenas 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a tranquil plaza behind Cuzco's main square, this former palace and convent is emerging from years of restoration to become one of the city's most exclusive hotels.Step past walls of Inca stones and into a cloistered courtyard with an ancient fountain at its heart. Then be surprised as contemporary Cuzco comes to the fore: a fabulous spa, the city's first outdoor pool and stylish restaurants serving cutting-edge local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Belmond, Tingo, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Palacio Nazarenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.