We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUGE rooms. Great Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Palacio Nazarenas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Palacio Nazarenas to your Saves list
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Nazarenes 144, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 146 Hotels in Cusco
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“HUGE rooms. Great Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We arrived late. Our bags were already situated in the hotel as our guide dropped them off the day before. I was not sure what to expect but after walking through two courtyards I was impressed. These nuns lived well!

Our room was like palace. King sized four poster bed. Sofa with multiple chairs and tables. The bathroom was bigger than some bedrooms. It had a shower that could hold a family and a tub from Victoria and Albert that I had only seen in magazines. We felt as if we checked into Versailles. Loved it!

Stayed 3 nights. Enjoyed their "personal buffet" breakfast each morning. Food was good. Wifi worked great everywhere. Inroom coffee from Illy. The pool is a bit shaded by the afternoon but it was nicely heated and we enjoyed.......right up until we got out. The cool air is unusual for us.

The manager introduced himself one day. Very pleasant guy from Belgium. We enjoyed talking to him and entertaining tourist seemed natural for him. We loved the hotel. Thank you.

We learned that you can charge drinks and meals next door at Montessario to Nazarenas too. Stop in for a look there too.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear PGA2,

Thank you!

Great to see your contribution on Trip Advisor, very important.

I am happy you enjoyed your experience with us and compared us to Versailles.


Hope to see you back soon,

With best regards,
Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
67
176
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Have stayed 3 nights at the Palacio Nazarenas I can honestly say that I could not find fault with it (which is unusual for me).

A stunning room with large separate lounge, massive bathroom with heated floor, free wifi, free minibar and great service. The breakfast was also excellent (not the usual buffet). There was a little blip when initially we were shown to the wrong room but this was sorted very quickly.

I would however say that speaking to a travel writer who was staying there at the same time, her perception was different and she did not have one of the Z Collection suites that we had and said the room was ordinary.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We just finished four days here and I must say it has been wonderful. The staff is amazing. Anything you want or need they arrange. The heated pool is delightful. We had a suite with a grand terrace and a huge room. Heated bathroom floors, oxygen pumped In your room. We took advantage of the spa as well which was a lovely way to relax after the trip to Cusco. Breakfast here is a delight as well. If your travels bring you here the staff will ensure you have a tremendous stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The best place we stayed in Peru. The hotel is wonderful, and the heated swimming pool ( a rarity in Cusco) is a perfect place for chill out time when back from all the excitement of trekking or shopping.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My partner and I spent three nights at the Palacio Nazarenas in early August, the boutique little sister of the Monasterio. What bliss! Our bedroom and bathroom (with fabulous bath and super bed linen and pillows) really were palacial. The management has gone to great trouble to make this most elegant of hotels a friendly home from home. The entire team was a joy and all members of staff were encouraged to use their initiative and to express their personalities and sense of humour.

The food in the restaurant was excellent and, should a guest wish for something not on the menu, the hotel was happy to accommodate this. We had a tremendous amount of fun when we pre-ordered an English afternoon tea. This was quite an adventure and involved walking through the herb garden with our butler and staff to pick out our teas. Not a scone or Victoria Sandwich in sight but a fantastic experience nevertheless.

No detail was too small for the hotel. When the staff found out we had been a little under the weather, a beautiful floral arrangement was sent to our room. Everything in the oxygenated rooms has been well thought out and everything works. Service is very personal (staff always addressed us by name) but is never intrusive.

There's also a spa (which we didn't have time to try), a very inviting swimming pool and the location of the hotel is superb. Next door is one of the best museums in Peru; the Museo de Arte Precolombino which displays Inca and pre-Inca works of art with beautiful lighting.

We were very sad to leave this hotel and it was certainly the best one we stayed in during our three week trip to Peru.

Hilary Wilkes
London SW1

Room Tip: We had a room in the old part of the hotel which had lots of character and overlooked a private cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Mrs. Wilkes,

Thank you for your review, fantastic to read and share with the team.

As we discussed over tea, they are a great bunch and realy complement the facilities with their personalities.

Hope to see you back soon when in Peru

Warmest regards to you and your husband

With best regards,
Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

On a 2 1/2 week in Peru and 6 hotels this hotel stood out. It is beautiful with rooms around courtyards. We had the basic suite which was large with a big sitting area and a huge bathroom. We originally planned to stay in the Monastario because we wanted a hotel with oxygen (my wife previously had trouble higher elevations). The travel agent we were working with said the basic rooms at the Monastario were very small and we should upgrade. It turns out with oxygen the Palacio Nazarenas was roughly the same cost so we decided to stay there instead and were very happy we did. My wife had no problems with the elevation so we assume the oxygen helped us sleep and adjust. The service was excellent, the breakfasts excellent and the staff excellent. They were very engaging. Often staff do everything right but are cold, doing it by rote but at the Palacio Nazarenas the staff seemed to genuinely want to help. It is in a very good location just 5 minutes from the central square. One minor glitch was lack of turn down service the last night. We let them know when we were out for dinner but nothing. Seems they were filled up that night and didn't get to it. At a hotel of this caliber there shouldn't be any glitches even little ones. Nevertheless, all in all it was a wonderful place to stay and highly recommended. Only wished we had one more day to explore Cusco (we stayed 3 nights but arrived late the 1st and left very early the last so only 2 full days to explore.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

As a frequent Peru traveler, I'm often asked what is the 'best' hotel in Cusco. Obviously this depends on your budget and preferences. However if talking about the 5 star realm, and admitting my preferences are smaller more boutique style hotels, an answer can be arrived to.

Traditionally Monasterio by Orient Express has been accepted as one of the best, if not thee best, property in Cusco. Many of the rooms can feel a bit dated however and sometimes the experience doesn't match the price tag for people. When La Casona by Inkaterra (probably the most philanthropically focused hotelier in all South America!) was opened a couple years ago, for me it became the hands down boutique 5 star favorite. With only 11 suites built around a beautiful central plaza, all the details done with character and charm which is characteristic of Inkaterra's properties, a great location, and simply amazing service, it still is hard to beat.

There is another newcomer on the scene though that at least warrants mention in the discussion now. After recently trekking to Choquequirao with my wife who was 4 months pregnant, we really wanted a luxurious post-trek stay in Cusco and decided to check out Palacio Nazarenas rather than stay at La Casona as we have already a handful of times. Palacio is Orient Expresses new property and we were circumspect as we don't love Monasterio and feel there are some better choices for the value, and The Sanctuary at Machu Picchu we also feel underdelivers a bit, but Palacio wowed us in so many ways. It is done similar to La Casona but on a larger scale with a newly but extremely tastefully built section in addition to the renovated monastery. It truly is beautiful in every nook and cranny, the service is impeccable, the breakfast poolside with live soothing Andean music an experience, and the rooms over the top awesome. The suites in the old part are my favorite, however as with all the old rooms in this type of property the only windows open to the courtyard which bothers some people. If you are one of those request a room in the new section.

One of the main advantages to this versus another 5 star boutique in Cusco is that they have by far the most extensive spa facilities in addition to a full pool. You will not find this at other smaller boutiques.

Bottom line: Palacio Nazarenas is a new front-runner in 5 star boutique accommodations in Cusco and greater South America, and it is worth considering a stay.

Cheers and all my best,
Jordan Harvey
Knowmad Adventurer

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Belmond Palacio Nazarenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Palacio Nazarenas

Address: Plaza Nazarenes 144, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 146 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Palacio Nazarenas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a tranquil plaza behind Cusco's main square, this former palace and convent emerged from years of restoration to become one of the city's most exclusive hotels. Step past walls of Inca stones and into a cloistered courtyard with an ancient fountain at its heart. Then be surprised as contemporary Cusco comes to the fore: a fabulous spa, the city's first outdoor pool and stylish restaurants serving cutting-edge local cuisine. This intimate urban retreat has just 55 suites, each enriched with oxygen and with its own private bar where guests can create drinks accented with fresh ingredients grown at and around the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Belmond, Splendia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Palacio Nazarenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.