We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place to remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Palacio Nazarenas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Palacio Nazarenas to your Saves list
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Nazarenes 144, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 147 Hotels in Cusco
sju
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“a place to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel was a convent and is a beautifull place to stay for the location is in the center of the city.. The service and luxury is just great and excellent, food and accomodations. the same. The employees are very friendly eager to help and serve; is expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
168
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

After our Peru trip was booked, including hotels (by Lima Tours, who did a great job for us), I went online at TripAdvisor to check on the hotels where we were supposed to stay. One reviewer wrote that she had stayed in two hotels in Cusco, Palacio for 2 days, and another hotel, which was coincidentally the one where we were supposed to stay, for 3 days. The reviewer said that she liked Palacio Nazarenas much more, and that if she could change her stay, she would stay 3 days here and 2 days at the other hotel, and not vice versa.
Well, that review convinced me to ask our tour company to change us to Palacio, which is what happened.
Our entire family loved being at the hotel, it was really a highlight of our Peru trip.

Palacio is wonderful, and the reason why the experience is so good, is the hotel staff. From the manager of the hotel, Stephan, to the waiters and waitresses at breakfast, guests receive the most friendly and excellent service. This is a well-run hotel, no detail is overlooked, and if you need anything or make any suggestion for improvement, someone will assist. In addition, the staff all look happy, and they clearly enjoy working here.

One small example, the manager asked us if we had any suggestions for improvement. The only thing I could think of was that at breakfast, there were two kinds of cereal, one of which was a ginger flavored, green colored bran flake. I explained that Americans might not be tempted by a cereal like that, it wasn't what we were used to. The next morning at breakfast, regular bran flake cereal was on the buffet. That's what I call attention to detail.

Anyway, the rooms are lovely, the beds comfortable, and extra oxygen is pumped into the rooms to help guests deal w/ altitude if needed. Also, there is a small, heated pool in the courtyard by the restaurant, it's very pleasant to relax there even in cool temperature.

I would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: The layout of the hotel is unusual, there are different courtyard areas, and rooms around the courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This is easily the best hotel in Peru that we have stayed at in terms of service. It is the little things: attention at breakfast with great juices, the free mini bar, the free wifi, the great business centre, the butler that acts as a personal concierge (in our case Andy), the shampoo and amenities, etc. all the details are great and the location is stunning. It is also the only hotel with a pool in Cuzco. It is not cheap but worth it. unlike Starwood in Urubamba, these guys have figured it out.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We were going to stay at the Monesterio and our travel agent suggested Palacio Nazarenas as I love interesting interior designs. Well, I wasn't disappointed. I marvel at the amazing skill that was used to create this wonderful hotel with perfect integration of the ancient and new. The rooms are huge, beautifully appointed, gorgeous linen and wonderful large bathrooms. It is rare to find such attention to detail such as the little gifts on your pillow, fresh herbed soaps sliced on a wooden tray, pisco sour ingredients ready to be made and plenty of snacks. There are little herb gardens, old water falls and the whole area is lit up for Christmas. The breakfasts are a work of art. They are presented on little slate plates and a hot menu too. I am gluten free with a garlic intolerance and they couldn't do enough to sort this out. Very conveniently situated for shopping and exploring the town. Staff are well trained, friendly and highly efficient. Nothing is too much. We are well travelled and this hotel would rank amongst the best. If you need a fantastic guide ....Jimmy from the Orient Express ....he was outstanding. He is a natural story teller and passionate about what he does. He also accommodated all our interests and his suggestions were spot on regarding times to visit ancient sites (avoiding awful screaming trekkers posing for photos at Machu Picchu ) Eat at Map restaurant - part of the museum next to the hotel. The food is delicious, traditional Peruvian, beautifully presented, a very talented team of chefs. Hint make sure you eat nothing for hours before you go as the helpings are large.

Room Tip: We stayed in the old section. Room 210 .Very peaceful and a feeling of serenity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

If I could give this hotel six stars, I would. It was fantastic! The rooms were gigantic, extremely modern and very fancy. The bathrooms were incredible, and the oxygen in the room really helped. The restaurant was amazing. The chef came out with each dish and explained what it was to us. If there was something we didn't like, she changed it right away. The staff were better than anywhere I have ever been before. We made chocolate the previous day, and he offered to go and pick it up for us, free of charge! The iPads they give to you aren't that bad either ;)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your strong recommendation of the Palacio Nazarenas and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,
Stephan Post
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

While travelling in Peru with my family I stayed in four hotels and the Palcio Nazarenas was our last stop in the trip-what a way to conclude the vacation. First, I'll speak to the quality of the rooms-it is superb. From the brand new flat screens, to the heated bathroom floors, the spacious and comfortable bed and the Ipad in your room-you will not be disappointed. The rooms are incredibly large and yet very homey. Next, the service is exceptional. The housekeeping service attends to your room throughout the day to provide you whatever you need and to tidy your room. Absolutely no details are missed by the housekeeping staff. In fact, they even put away my clothing for me when we were out for the day. Next, the butler staff is among the most accommodating staff members I have encountered when travelling. There is no request too large or too unique to accommodate. I only ate breakfast in the restaurant but am sure the other meals were wonderful as well. Breakfast is served buffet style either on a large table in the dining room, or on some mornings brought to your table. The food was fantastic. Most importantly, the location of the hotel is ideal as it is within walking distance to the major market and a stones throw away from the town square. We felt extremely safe and comfortable throughout the visit which was very important to us. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel and the experience you'll have staying here. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your contribution, it will certainly help other guests coming to Cusco!

All the best,

Stephan Post
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

one of the best hotels and services in the world
great service and great view. very quite and clean. good for couples, family and friends. not advisable for business. you will not do any business there. you will relax and enjoy the stay ;)

Room Tip: center rooms are great so you can enjoy sunset and sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Stephan Post
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Palacio Nazarenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Palacio Nazarenas

Address: Plaza Nazarenes 144, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 147 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Palacio Nazarenas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a tranquil plaza behind Cusco's main square, this former palace and convent emerged from years of restoration to become one of the city's most exclusive hotels. Step past walls of Inca stones and into a cloistered courtyard with an ancient fountain at its heart. Then be surprised as contemporary Cusco comes to the fore: a fabulous spa, the city's first outdoor pool and stylish restaurants serving cutting-edge local cuisine. This intimate urban retreat has just 55 suites, each enriched with oxygen and with its own private bar where guests can create drinks accented with fresh ingredients grown at and around the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Belmond, Splendia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Palacio Nazarenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.