We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mission!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ccochahuasi Animal Sanctuary

Ccochahuasi Animal Sanctuary
Km. 22 Via Cusco Pisaq, Cusco, Peru
959290009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 139 things to do in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Troy, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great mission!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were really impressed with this place - great educational message, outstanding facilities for the wildlife and a nice selection of items to purchase to support their cause. We got most of our souvenirs here!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    66
    8
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Loved this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

If you love animals, this is for you. They have the cutest little collection of llamas, alpacas and a couple of spitting vicunas! Huge condors, and the star of the show was the owner's Peruvian Hairless dog! He's so ugly he's cute. It was also fun to see how the weaver's use natural dyes in coloring their yarn. There was a lady there weaving that had the fastest fingers I've ever seen. This is a fun, relaxing stop!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Attraction on your way to Pisaq”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My family and I stopped here with our tour guide on our way to the Pisaq market. This was one of the highlights of our trip. You got to see many Peruvian animals that have been rescued. We saw llamas, alpacas, pumas, condors, macaws, etc. It was great!!! The people that work there are knowledgeable and passionate about the animals. The tour is free, but please make sure to leave a contribution/ tip since it is how this sanctuary survives. They have a great gift shop with things for every price range.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A great stop on the way to Pisac”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

A neat little place where they care for abandoned former pets. An interesting hodgepodge of species. The highlight is the condor flight.There is not charge, but you should expect to buy some souvenirs at the end of your visit. The souvenir prices were reasonable.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A fun and educational side trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stopped by this sanctuary as part of a day tour of the Sacred Valley, and we definitely enjoyed getting close to some of the unique animals of Peru including 2 of the animals sacred to the Inca (the Puma and the Condor). It is a small place but everyone is enthusiastic; I particularly enjoyed the demonstration of how natural dyes are made for the alpaca wool. A visit to the gift shop is a great way to support this organization.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ccochahuasi Animal Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Ccochahuasi Animal Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ccochahuasi Animal Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.