We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By chance a gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ccochahuasi Animal Sanctuary

Ccochahuasi Animal Sanctuary
Km. 22 Via Cusco Pisaq, Cusco, Peru
959290009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 89 Attractions in Cusco
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“By chance a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We visited CCOCHAHUASI on our way from Pisac to Cusco. First the llama-Alpaca Ranch where we hand fed and mingled with them. Now we know the difference between llama, Alpaca, Vincuna and guanacos.

Then across the road to the sanctuary. Puma, Condors, parrots, and many more. And a guide tells you about each and the rescues and some sad stories, and some happy ones. And to be in the aviary with the condors ...............

It´s all free and all they ask is a donation and not in any demanding way.

Yes easy to criticise them on cage size (see below - but they are far bigger, cleaner and better than many zoos) but these people care and have got off their backsides and are doing something. Lovely animals, lovely people, educational, and great feeling to be able to help in a tiny way.

Highly recommended and it is on most peoples routes to and from the valley.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    56
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worth A Stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

A small place, but worth it. About 30 minutes outside of Cusco, on the way to Pisac. The highlight is the 3 Peruvian Condors which are huge! They let you get right next to them, and they will fly off which is kind of nerve racking considering how large they are. They even make a swooshing sound when they fly because of their size. They had 3 pumas though only 1 was visible, and other animals though not much. They ask for donations at the end and have a gift shop which helps them. Spent about 45 min there as a guide walked us through.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Interesting, great chance to see condors.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We found a volunteer handing out flyers in plaza de armas. We had a taxi take us there and back for 20 soles (£5) for 40 mins journey each way.

The place itself is very run down , no sign on outside u would drive past not knowing it was there. We had a volunteer show us round , which felt quite rushed. The enclosures were in bad conditions and in need of repair. We were told the stories of how the animals came to sanctuary and it was encouraging to hear that some animals are released into wild.

The enclosure with the condors was amazing experience, there were 3 in there and u got to see them fly.

At the end of visit u can choose free pen or whistle which was sweet. There is shop and small snack hut.we gave 50 soles donation.

Visit Here if u want seething different to do and if u want to support a worthy charity!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Must See in the Sacred Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is sort of an animal rescue/zoo/educational venue that is a must see. We also didn't have this on our itinerary and it was empty, so I suspect that it doesn't get visited by most tour programs, but our local guide thought that our kids would like it and it was one of the main highlights for us in the Sacred Valley, Cusco Peru. It isn't very commercialized like many "petting zoos" in the sacred valley that let you feed alpaca and llama, but it has a much better mission and has a broader selection of endangered animals. Please try to support them with a donation or purchase when you visit. The Condors and Puma are amazing.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Place to see Condors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a great place, run by animal lovers, the animals come from neglect, or are seized animals, some are rehabilitated to the wild some will stay forever due to the abuse they suffered, it is well worth your time to see.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ccochahuasi Animal Sanctuary also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Ccochahuasi Animal Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ccochahuasi Animal Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.