We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott El Convento Cusco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott El Convento Cusco to your Saves list
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esquina De La Calle Ruinas 432 y San Agustin, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #7 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Beautiful hotel in historic building in the center of Cusco. Rooms were modern, clean, and had numerous amenities. Bed was so comfortable we hated to leave it. Beautiful art throughout the hotel. Exceptional breakfast buffet. Staff throughout the hotel were excellent, friendly, and knowledgeable. From the moment we entered the hotel, the staff made us feel welcomed and cared for. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is my honor to read your comments, as they encourage us to continue improving in search of the excellence.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, inside and outside the Hotel. And the fact that you received a special service from our staff. Definitely we will extend your review to the areas mentioned.

On the other hand, please let us know whether you would think to come back in the future, in order to offer you the service you deserve and exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    96
    22
    11
    9
See reviews for
219
339
31
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I highly recommend the JW Marriott Cusco. I looked at several hotels further out from the Plaza and was glad I settled on the Marriott. The hotel is close to everything you need to do in Cusco by foot and it's easily accessible to all the major tour pick ups. The staff here is first class and all of them addressed me by my first name, welcomed me at breakfast every morning with a pleasant greeting including discussion about what I had planned for the day, etc. The room I had viewed the "Inka Wall" which is on the lower level - not a view, but if you are looking for quiet - these rooms are completely noise free from the street. Besides, you shouldn't be staying in your hotel room in this city so I didn't care about the view. The restaurant, room service and staff are all five star. This is a very accommodating hotel with beautifully decorated rooms and superb beds. The room was supposed to have oxygen, but I didn't notice anything special about it. If you are traveling solo, you will feel really safe here and the location of the hotel is a block from the cathedral, Plaza Armas, and near several decent restaurants, Don Tomas, for example. In the lobby there is a 24 hour tea set up, so if you're having trouble with the altitude you can get coca or muña tea when you need it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest ,

We thank you very much for sharing your comments with us.

We are pleased that you could experience an enjoyable stay and felt welcomed by our staff. That drives us to follow in pursuit of excellence in the service we provide to our guests and customers.

On the other hand our rooms and infrastructure has been restored to maintain a part of our history, besides our rooms are free of noise in order to guarantee a comfortable and relaxing experience.

Thank you for choosing JW Marrriott as a destination for your stay in Cusco and we look forward to receiving you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa Heads
Top Contributor
359 reviews 359 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Located in the center of the old city of Cusco this an excellent base to explore the city. Built around an old Medieval Convent the hotel has impressive architecture. The service from the staff was excellent in all areas. They were friendly and responsive and the restayrant provided well presented local food at a reaosnable cost. Generally I could not fault this hotel

Room Tip: Try the third floor overlooking the coutyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your valuable comments.
First of all, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you appreciated our architecture that belonged to the Augustinians Convent. The one we preserved for so long, in order to share it with all our guests.

Moreover, we are also glad to know that you enjoyed a nice experience in our Restaurant, and that our staff could offer you an excellent service, the one that you deserve. We are honored to hear your comments and rest assure, that we will share them with all our associates in the hotel.

Please let us know in case you would think to return back to Cusco in the near future, it will be a pleasure to be at your service.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is one of a kind hotel. The architecture is unique and is what makes it stand out the most. The quality of this hotel is also no less than 5 starts. We had VIP treatment all throughout our stay. I would greatly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Cusco.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments. We are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to bring you wonderful memories of Cusco.

It is our goal to treat our guests as VIP members, and to take care of every detail in order to make an unforgettable experience.

We sincerely hope to host you again in a not too distant future, to thus be able to provide the special combination between Cusco hospitality and the one that JW Marriott offers you.

Cordially yours,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

One of the finest Hotels in Central and South America and a real credit to the Mariott Group! From the entry to the departure the staff was friendly, supportive, helpful and true to the concept of "Hospitality". I was traveling with a group of scientists doing an environmental study and the rest of the group chose a cheapy hotel nearby and regretted their decision to not join me at the Mariott. They whined about their decision the rest of the trip because they clearly saw the amazing difference that was apparent here. This is by far one of the best hotels I've stayed in. I try to always book the high end and this Mariott is clearly one of those high end places. From the decor to the cleanliness, the place was impeccable in every respect. Their remodeling was masterfully done to bring modern features while retaining the charm and dignity of the old Abbey. BRAVO to the design folks for their amazing success! The staff and management here really seem to enjoy their jobs, their guests and take great pride in remembering the guests and being attentive to the details. Nothing was left to chance and not a detail was left undone. Helpfull to a fault and they were really a godsend in recommendations for restaurants, local taxi services and highlghts to see and the ones to avoid. Also they were really helpful as to timing since some attractions are better in the morning and others are better in the afternoon depending on the tour group schedules. Apologies for the delay in sending the review.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a huge honor to receive your comments, which are so valuable to us. We are proud to know that your election was not in vain and we would like to thank you for your preference.
We are convinced that if we do everything with effort and dedication always things will come out right. And it is even better if we receive this kind of feedback from our most important guests like you.

Our philosophy is to bring happiness to our partners, because they will make the same with our guests and they would like to return.
Once again thank you for all your wonderful comments and highlight our commitment to continue in search of the excellence.

If you would think to return in the future, please contact us in order to make all the possible arrangements.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

As usual, service was excellent. I got un up-grade which was great. The restaurant staff is really friendly and helpful and always ready to serve. I must also highlight the front desk. It's amazing the kindness and service when attending guests. .I´ll be back soon.

Room Tip: I would definitely ask for a Suite on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is my honor to read your comments, as they encourage us to continue improving in search of the excellence.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and the fact that you received a special service from our restaurant and front desk staff. Definitely we will extend your review to the areas mentioned.

On the other hand, please let us know whether you would think to come back in the future, in order to offer you the service you deserve and exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Built in a converted Abbey where it took 6 years to build, this property is outstanding for ambience and service.
The original bricks were numbered to build the hotel.
I have never been in such a unique hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate the comments you left on Tripadvisor, makes me really happy to know how much you value our historical past. The whole process between paperwork, restoration and construction took 6 ½ years but all that time was worthy because now we have a beautiful hotel which blends all that history with JW Marriott elegance and because it is a pride for us to host Pre-Inca, Inca and Colonial remains.

I receive with so much gratitude too your opinion about our service, considering it outstanding.

I truly hope you and your couple can come back soon to this amazing city and stay with us once again in order to surprise you even more!

Sincerely yours,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott El Convento Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott El Convento Cusco

Address: Esquina De La Calle Ruinas 432 y San Agustin, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott El Convento Cusco 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city's historical center, the JW Marriott Hotel Cusco combines the needs of today's luxury traveler with the design elements of an architecturally stunning archaeological site. History-seekers will find Peruvian cultural artifacts in the hotel's two exhibition halls. Accommodations are equipped with the latest technology including Wi-Fi, LCD cable TVs, and oxygen systems for a fee. Designed around a colonial convent, this hotel in Peru features resort-like amenities including a Cusco restaurant with excellent Peruvian cuisine, a bar and a full-service spa offering a relaxation heated pool, sauna, steam room and treatments inspired by ancient techniques. The JW Marriott Hotel Cusco also offers 1,442sq.Ft. Of meeting space and professional planners to assist in creating your perfect event in Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott El Convento Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.