We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect "Altitude" Adjustment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Cusco

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel Cusco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esquina De La Calle Ruinas 432 y San Agustin, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off in Paradise
Ranked #5 of 143 hotels in Cusco
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect "Altitude" Adjustment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in February, which is considered their off season. We received such a warm welcome and were immediately ushered to the lobby to take a seat on one of the very comfortable sofas and offered coca tea, water or coca leaves. For those who don't know, the coca is supposed to help with the effects of altitude sickness. While we sat and enjoyed our tea, they brought us the registration forms to sign and the keys to our room. You couldn't ask for more personal service. Our room was very comfortable from the bed and linens to the Aromatherapy amenities. Robes and slippers were provided in the room, which came in handy when we used the indoor heated swimming pool. There is also a hot tub, and both wet and dry saunas. A spa is located in this area that offers facials, massages, etc. for a fee. We also dined in their main dining room and the food was outstanding. This building was originally a monastery and they have turned it into a lovely hotel with a very welcoming atmosphere. And I love the large Swarovski crystal piece hanging behind the registration desk...just beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments through the Trip Advisor website. We are pleased to know that we were able to exceed your expectations from the beginning of your stay until the last day.

Moreover we very much appreciate your feedback; an invaluable tool in search of the excellence. We look forward to welcoming you in the not too distance future, in order to share with you our special blend of JW Marriott and Peruvian hospitality.

Sincerely,


Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    444
    70
    14
    9
    8
See reviews for
146
221
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elko, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Nice, comfortable rooms in the heart of Cusco. All the charms of the town with all the modern conveniences of a JW Marriott. The live music in the lobby at night added to the charm of the vacation, and the courtyard was the perfect place to have drinks at nights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments through the Trip Advisor website. We are pleased to know that we were able to exceed your expectations regarding the room facilities and in general the atmosphere of the Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you in the not too distance future, in order to share with you our special blend of JW Marriott and Peruvian hospitality.

Sincerely,


Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Amazing architecture, beautiful and cozy Hotel. Perfectly located at the center of Cusco, takes only about 5 min walking to Plaza de Armas. Wonderful service from the staff, made us feel like home. They have a hudge variety of food, above all tipical peruvian food, which is excellent and i can only recommend. And after a long and exhausting day at Cusco or Machu Picchu the Spa with indoor pool and sauna is the perfect place to relax!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments through the Trip Advisor website. We are pleased to know that we were able to exceed your expectations regarding the service and the Hotel facilities.

Moreover we very much appreciate your feedback; an invaluable tool in search of the excellence. We look forward to welcoming you in the not too distance future, in order to share with you our special blend of JW Marriott and Peruvian hospitality.

Sincerely,


Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

All I can say is that this was a fantastic stay, the staff were wonderful and helpful, food was great and we enjoyed our stay very much. We were there for five days and every day at this hotel was perfect. Great location in cusco and I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments through the Trip Advisor website. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in Perú.

On behalf of all the staff of JW Marriott Cusco, we look forward to welcoming you in the not too distance future, in order to share our special blend of JW Marriott and Peruvian hospitality.

Sincerely,


Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights in January for a Machu Picchu trip. Everything was wonderful, the staff, the amenities, the breakfast. I thought the lobby was beautiful. Loved the fireplace in the lounge area as it was quite cold in Cusco. Took my ipad and used the free wifi by the toasty fire.

This is my first experience with the JW brand by Marriott. I will definitely be looking for them again when I travel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments through the Trip Advisor website. We are pleased to know that we were able to exceed your expectations regarding the service you received from our staff, the atmosphere of the Hotel and our facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you in the not too distance future, sharing our special blend of JW Marriott and Peruvian hospitality.

Sincerely,


Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Impeccable property,very well located near the town center.
Excellent service from front desk ,room attendants and restaurant staff
Excellent food and presentation,resonnable price
Wonderful decor in restaured monastery.

Room Tip: Courtyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, Director General at JW Marriott Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your good comments about the food from our Pirqa Restaurant and the service received from our staff, we are confident that our Executive Chef will appreciate your valuable feedback.

Looking forward to your visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Staff was amazing. Rooms were beyond clean. The beds were...well I only wish I could take them home with me. Breakfast buffet was superb...great selection of both native Peruvian foods and good old regular American foods as well. Make sure to have Miguel Angel as your server. He has great stories :). Hotel staff was knowledgeable about local tours and activities. Centrally located...within walking distance of pretty much whatever you want to see. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, Director General at JW Marriott Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your good comments with us.

We are pleased to know that we have exceeded your expectations about the food from our Restaurant and the service received from our staff, pleased be informed that we will proceed to congratulate the asociate as part of motivation program.

Looking forward to your visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Cusco

Address: Esquina De La Calle Ruinas 432 y San Agustin, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 143 hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Cusco 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city’s historical center, the JW Marriott Hotel Cusco combines the needs of today’s luxury traveler with the design elements of an architecturally stunning archaeological site. History-seekers will find Peruvian cultural artifacts in the hotel’s two exhibition halls. Accommodations are equipped with the latest technology including Wi-Fi, LCD cable TVs, and oxygen systems for a fee. Designed around a colonial convent, this hotel in Peru features resort-like amenities including a Cusco restaurant with excellent Peruvian cuisine, a bar and a full-service spa offering a relaxation heated pool, sauna, steam room and treatments inspired by ancient techniques. The JW Marriott Hotel Cusco also offers 1,442sq.ft. of meeting space and professional planners to assist in creating your perfect event in Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Jetsetter, Agoda and Otel so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Cusco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.