We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great, authentic Peruvian experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deva Restaurant Tipico

Deva Restaurant Tipico
San Agustin 280 | San Agustin 280, Cusco 0000, Peru
+51 84 247717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 427 Restaurants in Cusco
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Peruvian, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: It is the only gourmet restaurant of typical local food. We do not make fusion style. Located in the old palace of the Inca Tupac Yupanqui, we have vegetarian options. In Deva you can found the ancestral cuzco culture through its gastronomy. It is atended by its own owners. We have different Peruvian wines and piscos, and you can enjoy, if you wish so, the traditional "chicha de jora", drink that the Incas offered to the Sun in the Inti Raymi
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A great, authentic Peruvian experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

On the last night of a tour of Peru, the group decided to have an opportunity to taste authentic Peruvian foods, including cuy (guinea pig). Our tour guide recommended Deva on San Agustin. We were treated to a tasting meal which included a range of delicious starters (including frozen potatoes, an exquisite quinoia dish and stuffed peppers), cuy (roasted & fried), alpaca and ceviche plus several desserts.
Each course was explained to us by Federico, the owner. The food was delicious and very reasonably priced.
If I had one complaint it would be that we could have eaten more, especially of the delicious cuy - and would have been prepared to pay more. I have deliberated carefully before giving 5 stars - these are based upon the quality given for the very low price. I would advise Federico to offer a little more and change more rather than risk lower ratings!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevaRestaurant, Propietario at Deva Restaurant Tipico, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you very much for the comment. It is very important for as, and of course we will take into consideration your advice.

My best regards,

Federico Schaerer Aragones
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    98
    26
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good stop for traditional fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was impressed by the service here (especially compared to the standard for service in Cusco). Also, if you're itching to try cuy (guinea pig) or alpaca, this is the place to do it. The food is prepared very well, and everything is clean and good. The decor inside of the restaurant is also pleasing and it makes you feel like you truly are experiencing a bit of the local life for a while.

If you're not really into traditional Andean food, this probably isn't the place for you. They do have other options and you can certainly get by, but the focus here is on the local options.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevaRestaurant, Propietario at Deva Restaurant Tipico, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you very much for the comment. It is very important for us because it encourages us to continue improving increasingly.

My best regards,

Federico Schaerer Aragonés
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the typical food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was a fantastic place to delve into Cusco's great typical cuisine. I am so thankful we stumbled upon it walking to the Plaza de Armas from our Hotel. This is highly recommended for people who want to try the real deal. The dishes with tarwi (a local plant our server taught us about) were great. Good "chicha"!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevaRestaurant, Propietario at Deva Restaurant Tipico, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you very much for the comment. It is really helpful.

My best regards,

Federico Schaerer Aragones
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“Traditional Cusco cuisine, a good place to try Cuy (guinea pig) and local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Deva is small place with about 30 covers, nicely decorated in local style that serves mainly local, Cusquenian food with a few choices from elsewhere in Peru.

Service was welcoming, friendly but a touch slow delivering drinks like water and beer (we were thirsty!) but otherwise great. We were given a small glass of chicha, the local brew made from fermented maize, which was really good and slightly nutty plus roasted corn and some local cheese to whet our appetites. My son got some chicha morada which inspired him to have two more glasses (this is pineapple, apple, lime plus some purple corn).

We really enjoyed the quinoa risotto with cheese although naming it 'risotto' was a stretch. The other starter of a chilli stuffed with cuy was tasty but strangely came in an omelette an ingredient which did not appear on the menu?

Our cuy main was a stew with peanuts and cinnamon. Disappointingly it had only 2 small pieces of cuy that were mainly skin and made us wish we had ordered the much more expensive whole cuy that we saw appear at the next table. The sauce was OK but not as full of flavour as we had hoped for. The alpaca stew served with pureed beans needed a touch more seasoning and was a bit light on the alpaca.

The Trilogia dessert was the highlight. Potato sorbet, not something I have had before, was yum, the local tomato tart (a tasty fruit not tomato as you might expect) was perfect with great pastry and slightly sour.

It really depends what you want to eat in Cusco, if you have several nights or want a whole cuy you should try Deva but if you only have one night you should consider Uchu (amazing Peruvian steakhouse), Inkazuela for hearty Peruvian stews or Cicciolina for more international fare.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevaRestaurant, Propietario at Deva Restaurant Tipico, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you very much for the comment.
We are going to consider your opinion about the guinea pig stew.

My best regards,

Federico Schaerer Aragonés
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ambient, traditional & beautiful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Came here after a recommendation from our tour guide. I was so pleased. The food is fresh, well presented & the menu is helpful with suggestions of what to have on the first day arriving (soups). There are vego options as well as food for omnivores. There's also an English translation for all of them.

I had the chicken soup since I wasn't able to keep much down and this magically stayed down, so happy!

Atmosphere is good, some traditional music in the background and service was nice and helpful. Prices were good for a nicely presented and clean premises. Highly recommended!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevaRestaurant, Propietario at Deva Restaurant Tipico, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you very much for the comment. I feel very glad.

My best regards,

Federico Schaerer Aragonés
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deva Restaurant Tipico also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Deva Restaurant Tipico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deva Restaurant Tipico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.