We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to try the Guinea Pig !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deva Restaurant Tipico

Deva Restaurant Tipico
San Agustin 280 | San Agustin 280, Cusco 0000, Peru
+51 84 247717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 414 Restaurants in Cusco
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Peruvian, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: It is the only gourmet restaurant of typical local food. We do not make fusion style. Located in the old palace of the Inca Tupac Yupanqui, we have vegetarian options. In Deva you can found the ancestral cuzco culture through its gastronomy. It is atended by its own owners. We have different Peruvian wines and piscos, and you can enjoy, if you wish so, the traditional "chicha de jora", drink that the Incas offered to the Sun in the Inti Raymi
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good to try the Guinea Pig !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had a nice dinner here after we had noticed the good smell when we walked past in the afternoon.

It's quite something to eat Guinea Pig, if you have never tried it before. We liked it.

Also the Chicha, fermented corn drink, was absolutely delicious.

Only negative is probably that I had a potato which, when I cut it in half, had an actual worm in there. I'm ok with the protein but a bit more careful selection of vegetable wouldn't hurt. Anyway, I found it too embarrassing to point it out to the staff so by right I shouldn't complain.

I also recommend just 1 pig to share and get another nice main course. I felt a bit over-guinaed after the meal, since we had one each.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevaRestaurant, Propietario at Deva Restaurant Tipico, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you very much for the comment.
I'm really sorry about the inconvenience. Our potatoes are organic, we don't use pesticides, and sometimes we found this problems.

Thank you again.

My best regards,

Federico Schaerer Aragonés
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    89
    26
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner, lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Your trip to Cusco must include a stop to Deva. Our guide recommended so we assumed it would be a touristy attraction. Quite the opposite, an intimate dining room, extremely friendly staff, and delicious food of the Andes. The chef/owner even came out to make sure we were enjoying our meal. The lomo saltado was juicy and perfectly seasoned. The asado was a bit dry but the broth was well worth it. One thing Peruvians know...potatoes! They didn't disappoint. Extremely fresh and perfectly seasoned, fried to perfection. Very reasonably priced. We immensely enjoyed!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevaRestaurant, Propietario at Deva Restaurant Tipico, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you very much for the comment. It's very important for as. It encourage as to continuing on.

My best regards,

Federico Schaerer Aragonés
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Authentic Peruvian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stated with 3 soups and a risotto all with local ingredients then one of us tried guinea pig roasted -not very impressed but well cooked and definitely local also alpaca tenderloins very tasty. Staff very attentive and came out to show us the local potatoes and vegetables which they were using. Fantastic experience

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevaRestaurant, Propietario at Deva Restaurant Tipico, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you very much for the comment. It's very important for as.

My best regards,

Federico Schaerer Aragonés
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“True Authentic Peruvian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our tour guide recommended us to try this authentic restaurant. It was conveniently located 2 blocks away from our hotel and as we were spending our last dinner in Cuzco before returning home, we decided to go all out and try all the Peruvian dishes. We started dinner with a complimentary chicha and warm corn and we then shared the traditional Guinea pig fried under river stones in slow fire. The dish takes around 30 min to be cooked and it was worth the wait. for dessert we had the trilogy (three different desserts served together elaborated with station products). Our server was fantastic and explain us everything in the menu in detailed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
“Authentic Quechuan meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had a great lunch here, just a minute's walk from Place de Armas. Our server gave us an explanation of typical Quechuan ingredients (even brought them by the table for us to see), and the meal itself was really tasty! A nice break from the usual tourist fare you encounter everywhere else.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevaRestaurant, Propietario at Deva Restaurant Tipico, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you very much for the comment and for the opinion you have about as. It was a real pleasure.

My best regards,

Federico Schaerer A.
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deva Restaurant Tipico also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Deva Restaurant Tipico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deva Restaurant Tipico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.