We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roma Mia

Roma Mia
Calle Procuradores 341 | 2 piso, Cusco cusc 01, Peru
084-226715
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 411 Restaurants in Cusco
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Many guides will tell you that Cusco is not "wasted"... FALSE ! Cusco has become one of the most touristic places I have seen in South America... Regrettably, touristic = pretend... So, in Cusco, everything is about "looks"... Well, this gem has no looks... no shows, is not on any "main squares" although it is located less than 5 minutes walk from Plaza de Armas... Second floor, looks like nothing from outside, but I dare you to find more "italian" in Cusco... He, Italian born in Rome, she, Peruvian... the pair: incredible food, at half the price, or even less, that you woulld pay on any main plaza... They have a huge variety of pasta, and their "copa" wine is actually incredibly good for Peru!!!

Don't miss it !!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    50
    18
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niceville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warm Italian Chef, Authentic Italian Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I've spent quite a bit of time in Italy, and was ecstatic to find this authentic Italian restaurant in the heart of Cuzco (especially after eating not-so-great pizza at many other restaurants during my 5 months in Peru!). Roma Mia is fantastic-- fresh ingredients, warm owners, and the true taste of Roma. Danilo, the chef, and his wife, Ana, made us feel right at home. You should have seen them cut the fresh prosciutto for our meal....! We'll be back at lunch tomorrow to try the pasta! Highly recommended!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Excellent & Authentic Food, Straight From the Heart!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Easily some of the best porcini pizza and bruschetta that I have ever had in my life (including NYC & Italy). Virtually all of the ingredients (except one or two local vegetables) are brought in directly from Italy. The owner took time to explain his passion to me, and it's easily to why this is such a favorite. I've tried the other Italian restaurants in Cusco to varying success, but Roma Mia will be my top recommendation in the future! Easily the best pizza in Cusco by a mile, and possibly the best pizza in South America! Do yourself a favor and visit Roma Mia - you will not be disappointed! Two days later, I can still taste the subtle flavors and long for another bite!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“High expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Usually trip advisor is a good resource for hotel and restaurant recommendations. Not in this case. We were expecting the pizza to be authentic. Instead the ingredients tasted generic and the crust was not as thin as I had hoped. In some ways, I blame myself because I am often disappointed by pizza when it isn't the "real deal" (my opinion only of course). The people were friendly and the atmosphere is nice so perhaps we just had an unimpressive batch...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

A truly great Italian restaurant:

1. DELICIOUS pasta

2. Fresh ingredients

3. Outstanding service

Highly recommended!

- Daniel, Ryan, and Jared

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roma Mia also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Roma Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roma Mia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.