We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Meeting Place

The Meeting Place
Plazoleta San Blas 630, Cusco, Peru
054 958313981
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 424 Restaurants in Cusco
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Albany, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Slice of Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I originally went to The Meeting Place because because I heard rumors of their giant, delicious orero milkshakes. Then I returned when I saw their chocolate and banana waffles, then for the avocado sandwich, and when they started baking cakes I moved in. Well, not really. But I should have! The Meeting Place has a wonderful atmosphere, is filled with awesome people that have cool stories to tell, and because the staff is made up of volunteers, they actually want to be there. It completely changes the vibe from any other restaurant. I can't recommend this place enough. Also, their cat Socks is a sweetie.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    21
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Deliciousness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

What a delicious meal we had there TWICE. The concept of the restaurant is inspiring and the food is top notch. If you are looking for a good American breakfast or lunch fare, this is the place to eat. Plus, it is in the heart of the beautiful San Blas neighborhood in Cusco which makes for a lovely walk after you eat.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great respite and American Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Loved staying here knowing that proceeds were going to local non-profits. The staff were amazing - most of them here volunteering at one non-profit or another in the city. The milkshakes were a treat, the waffles were delicious and the soups were really tasty. And the wifi was fast!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancud, Los Lagos, Chile
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Decent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The atmosphere here is friendly and cheerful, and I never felt bad spending my money here because 100% of the proceeds go to local non-profit groups. Their food is good, but a little pricey for what you get. (Except for the waffles, which are GIGANTIC.) All in all, this is a cool place to spend an afternoon.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely place for coffee and cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stopped for a coffee here, and it was a great place to take a breather - Scott and his team were fantastic and made us feel so welcome. Everything on the menu looked great and we'd love to have gone back if we'd been staying longer in Cusco. The fact that all profits go to local projects was the icing on the cake. And Scott, if you read this - I've been constantly asked throughout our travels in Peru and Bolivia where I got my t-shirt so hope that you've gained a few extra customers as a result!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Meeting Place also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to The Meeting Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meeting Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.