We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Ayllu

Cafe Ayllu
Calle Almagro, No. 133, Cusco, Peru
084-255078
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 421 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Caramel cream pancakes, so yummy! Loads of choice and very accommodating. Prices are great! Highly recommend for a good breakfast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    43
    6
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Favorite breakfast spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Loved this cafe it was our favorite place for breakfast. Big menu with lots of delicious food. Also there are two locations!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

To my mind, this is the best coffee in Cusco! The food is really good (you have to try the apple pie and the nata) and the chocolate (which is REAL chocolate) is the best. Plus the staff is extremely nice. My friends and I ordered a breakfast menu but we wanted some things that weren't included instead of other things (¨nata¨ instead of butter, chocolate instead of coffee) and the waiter gave us all we asked without expecting more money. Of course we gave him a good tip, but it's really nice to feel that they really want you to enjoy your meal.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best Hot Chocolate I've Ever Had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was the best hot chocolate I have ever had. We also had a very tasty dulce de leche pastry. The atmosphere was cozy; it was cold outside; and the hot chocolate was perfect. Do NOT miss this place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A Taste of Old Cusco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

While I have no complaints about the number of modern cafes springing up around Cusco, it would be a real shame if traditional places like Cafe Ayllu were to disappear. The interior may be a little shabby, but that only adds to the charm. Prices were very reasonable and the service friendly and efficient. We tried the meat empanada, cheese empanada and an apple pastry and all were excellent. Pay a visit for a taste of old Cusco, before such places are priced out of the city centre.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Ayllu also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Cafe Ayllu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Ayllu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.