We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Morada

Save Saved
You added La Morada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Morada
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kurkurpata 230, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 237 Cusco B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

This was our home base before and after trekking. Great views of Cusco, but this also means a tough climb up from the main part of the city. The climb is tough on arrival with luggage, especially if you aren't acclimatized to the altitude.
Worth the climb though, with friendly and helpful staff, all who speak English.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    37
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
53
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This was our best accommodation in Cusco and we loved it. Me and my husband loved by the view of the city. It is in the heart of San Blas- which is a great neighborhood with good food.
We highly recommend this boutique hotel for its service and cleanliness. The bed was very comfortable and cozy. There was a microwave, blender, coffee maker, and cooking range in our room, so you are free to make your own meals.
The only problem is the accessibility to the hotel, as said by other reviewers.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

La Morada was a pleasant surprise. Getting out of the Taxi it's 5 mins Walk to the hotel up cobbles and steps at altitude carry luggage is challenging and not for you if you have trouble walking far.
Reception is the only room off the ally way in the old town at that level, once inside it opens up at a lower level into a bit of a tardis. We had a place with two bedrooms and a kitchen and an outside sitting area. It is 10 minutes walk through the old town to the main square and at altitude a challenge walking back up until you acclimatise. Breakfast was good. Don't stay here unless you are at least a bit fit. Very helpful place kept our excess luggage for 5 days while we trekked the Inca Trail, organised washing locally at a very cheap price. Good honest place at a good price but don't expect a bells and whistles service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Our family of four just stayed at this hotel during our recent trip to Peru. It was the best hotel we stayed at during our stay in Peru. It was great for a family. The first floor had a kitchen, bathroom & living area. The second floor was the kids bedroom and the third floor was the master. I would definitely stay there again. However, if I had any physical disabilities i would not even consider it. Te closest street you can drive on is 2 blocks away. Then it is up hill with luggage 2 blocks with stairs. They were kind enough to help us with our luggage, but would be a difficult location if disabled, but I guess that could be said for the entire region. The apartment was very clean and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

My gf and I did a trip to Peru on February of 2013 and decided to stay here during our time in Cusco. This place has an amazing view of the city, cozy traditional/modern accommodations, extremely friendly staff, and just gave us a strong sense of peace. They brought us breakfast to the room every morning and we're helpful and interactive.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This place was AMAZING. My boyfriend and I actually came to this hotel late at night after having a horrendous experience at our previous hotel and then frantically searching for somewhere else to stay. The two were almost the same price but didn't even compare.

La Morada Suites looked like it was brand new. The rooms were set up town house style with the kitchen and bathroom area downstairs and the bedroom upstairs. The rooms were AWESOME, especially for their price (we got a deal on a booking website). They were clean (which was exactly what we wanted and needed after staying in a disgusting hotel at Machu Picchu and then having hairs in our sheets at our first Cuzco hotel, the one from which we fled and then arrived at Morada. Aside from being clean, the kitchen was stocked with herbal teas and coffee, there were movies we could borrow from the lobby, and everything was just very...nice. The breakfast was good, and the breakfast room had a breath-taking view of the city. The staff were friendly and agreed to keep our bags for us until the evening of our last day since we had an evening flght, which was nice of them.

Cusco is an old city and walking into this hotel is like a breath of fresh air and like walking into a completely different city altogether. It was an ok value for the money as well. Honestly finding a cheaper place that was also clean wouldn't have been that much work but as soon as we walked into this hotel we knew we weren't going anywhere and that it was worth every cent.

I have to warn you that if you are going with a lot of luggage it may not be a good idea to stay here. It is not accessible by taxi. Our taxi took us as far as he could but the streets behind the plaza are pedestrian only and walking up several sets of stairs at high altitude can be difficult. We were only in Peru for 4 days to do Machu Picchu and Cuzco so we had come with backpacks and didn't mind the walk too much.

The hotel is also perfectly located for tourists. It's less than a ten minute walk to the main plaza and all the restaurants and markets, so you don't lose any time getting there and it's not necessary to pay for taxis. One of the best restaurants in the city, Pachapapa, is located about 1 block from the hotel as well, so be sure to stop by for a massive and incredible lunch while you're there.

Definitely stay here if you're in Cusco!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Confortable and clean room, attentious staff, great view of the city.
Prices are good and breakfast is ok. Rooms are equipped with a complete kitchen. The only negative is the access with luggage since cars don't reach the entrance of the hotel. To walk with heavy load upwards at the altitude it's quite unconfortable.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Morada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Morada

Address: Kurkurpata 230, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 237 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Morada 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your La Morada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Morada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.