We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views over Cusco, nice rooms, breakfast a little small” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Morada

Save Saved
You added La Morada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Morada
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kurkurpata 230, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 234 Cusco B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stunning views over Cusco, nice rooms, breakfast a little small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

La Morada Suites is located in San Blas a few minutes away from the Main Plaza. It is a little uphill walk which can be exhausting in Cusco but you are rewarded with something that maybe no other place has in Cusco: A terrace where no building whatsoever is in the way so that it offers an incredible view over the city of Cusco and the surrounding mountains. Absolutely beautiful!

Rooms are nice and spacious, new and well equipped (we even had a little kitchen) staff is very helpful and nice (luggage storage, restaurant recommendations, etc...no problem!).

The only thing that could be improved in my view is the breakfast. It is either served in your room or on the terrace which is nice but it could offer greater variety and should be little more in terms of quantity as well (if you take the room rate into account). Maybe something to improve in the future.

Still recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    36
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
50
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu Island, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

cuzco is really a very nice place, but we only spent 3 nights. for the first 2 night Incould sleep well because my blood pressure raised due to the high altitude, even though I took meds 2 days before our arrival. La morada is located in quite interior, which was hard for us since we are short of breath, but when we got into the place , it was nice, clean and beds are comfortable. Heater in the room was good since we really need it because temperature in Cuzco would drop really low...Breakfast will be serve in the room and they have kitchen so it really is very convenient. There is also one Indian restaurant in the corner which is really good...I would recommend La Morada and would definetely come back if I have the chance to visit cuzco again...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel was great with a great staff! The staff brought coca tea and food directly to our room and included a free taxi ride to the airport. They also allowed us to use the phone for free, too. This hotel had the best wifi of any of the places/hotels in Cusco/Peru and also had a separate computer for use, too. The views were great and the rooms were very comfortable. The rooms looked like mini-town homes with a full kitchen, too. I had a great experience, here, and definitely good bang for the buck.

Anybody who is planning on doing a tour to Machu Picchu from Cusco should NOT use Andean Life (owner William Amaru). William/Andean Life charged my friends and I an extra $60 USD ($20 USD each) to get a better train back from Machu Picchu to Cusco but didn't give us a ticket for the time we paid for and didn't give us a refund. He e-mailed after saying he'd Western Union us a refund but never did, either. He lied about a train strike but the trains were still running and all train officials said there were no strikes. William/Andean Life also took other opportunities to try to get more money from us, too. I strongly suggest NOT USING Andean Life or working with William.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Sachsen, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel is located in San Blas, just a ten minutes walk away from Plaza de Armas, in a nice and quiet neighbourhood with many restaurants and street artists. Some of the rooms have a nice view over the city. The hotel staff was very friendly and made us feel like home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Breakfast is served in your room between 6-9am and you had to call reception to get it delivered. Very basic but nutritious.
The hotel staff are the best, they helped us with all our enquiries and booked a few activities with their help.
Rooms were always kept super clean.
The only downside is the walk to the hotel. At 3000 altitude, walking uphill is the last thing on anyone's mind. However, it's worth it as you'll be staying in San Blas, the most beautifully district of cusco. You can also get motivated from wacthing all the old people walking up hill, if they can do it, you can too.

Room Tip: Front desk is really helpful, ask them about tours around the city. Also, arrange pick up with them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

It's a small hotel with just a few rooms. All the rooms are modern and comfortable. 
The wifi in my room was not so strong and the pillows were very soft. They have heating inside the rooms but just one, so always one of the floors become really cold. The breakfast is ok. Bread, eggs and hot beverages.
On the other hand, Sandra was a lovely and kind person who helped us a lot. The hotel provide the service to pick up at the airport, which is really good.
Definitely I would come back to stay there. 
If you are going to Cusco on your own, try to avoid to purchase services from the tourist agencies. They charge more than 100 usd for their services. Try to planning in advance or ask the local people. I negotiated a taxi for 25 usd for a tour in Valle sagrado for 4 hours and the agencies charged me around 100 usd for 8 hours in a big group

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Whether you need it or not, spend the little extra to get the family suite on the end overlooking the courtyard and city. It was the best room by a mile. We had 3 rooms over 2 different stays with multiple people.
The staff are fantastic, really helpful!
The views are beautiful.
Breakfast was simple but fresh and ample.
The rooms were frsh and clean.
the bedding was crisp and comfortable.

A couple of things to aware of:

1. You cant access it by vehicle. You have to walk a couple/few hundred metres up stairs. No problem, just something to be aware of if you have mobility issues.
2. The curtains are very thin. If you sleep light this may be an issue.

If I had one bit of advice for the hotel which would make it infintiely better...it would be the curtains! The rooms lack privacy and are too bright. If this is solved then I think the property is amongst the very best we saw in Chile and Peru.

Room Tip: The family room overlooking the courtyard is by far the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Morada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Morada

Address: Kurkurpata 230, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Morada 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your La Morada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Morada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.