We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little far, but great experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Unumizu Cusco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Unumizu Cusco to your Saves list
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Huayna Capac 210- Wanchaq, Cusco 5184, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 147 Hotels in Cusco
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A little far, but great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I will be honest, if I were to return to Cuzco, I would pick a hotel closer to the Plaza de Armas. The area around the hotel made me a little nervous and I did not deem it walkable at night. HOWEVER, we really really enjoyed our stay here. Whenever we requested a cab, it arrived quickly and on time. They also negotiated a fair rate for us as well. On the way to the airport they even paid for the cab. We used their luggage storage for 5 days while we hiked the Inka trail and had no issues and it was free! The free breakfast was also fantastic, it had hot water and the beds were comfortable. We also spoke very little Spanish and had no issues.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    59
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
89
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Arrived in Cuzco and hotel picked us up at the airport on time. Staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. Clean rooms and a good breakfast. Would highly recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to Cuzco on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel for 4 nights, having planned to only stay for 2 nights. The rooms are very comfortable with adequate space for all our belongings. The room was kept clean, and one night when we returned late from our Machu Picchu tour they had even turned down our bed for us on our return. There is a small heater in the room to remove the chill in the air as temperatures drop quite quickly in cusco at night.

The hotel also has a constant supply of free coffee and coca tea to combat altitude sickness.

The laundry service here was cheap (4 soles per kilo) and was ready the same day.

Breakfast was really good with a chef who was happy to make eggs to order, fresh tropical fruits, a choice of cereals and breads.

The hotel was also really kind and let us stay in the room until 5pm on the day of checkout as we were not getting our bus to Arequipa until 8pm that night.

The only downside for us us that the hotel PC was not working which meant that we couldn't upload our holiday photos but having said that, the wifi was good so we had no problem using our iPad in our room.

The walk to the historical centre is roughly 10 mins so is not overly long, and taxis are only 3-4 soles so not exactly bank breaking. Worth the walk to get a great shower and good service which was unobtrusive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed in the Unumizu Hotel in Cusco for 6 nights and were delighted with our choice. Transfers from and to the airport, WiFi, breakfast, and a tea or coffee lounge were included in the nightly rate. We found the hotel to be excellent value. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, and the cleanliness of the bathroom was excellent. The breakfast offering was of very good quality and range given the medium-small size of the hotel.
The staff were always friendly and eager to assist us in any way that they could, e.g. booking the 'right' sort of taxi and educating us on what the fares should be.

Room Tip: It is a pleasant walk to the town square (city centre), but there are a lot of roadworks in streets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights after an unpleasant experience at a hostel. The extra $30 a night was more than worth it! This hotel has very friendly staff who can help you organize your tours. They have free airport transfer. They also take US dollars. They make you eggs for breakfast & it's served in a sunny part of the hotel. The rooms are nice & very clean & have free wi fi. They were accommodating & when little hiccups occurred fixed things quickly which was very appreciated. It is still in walking distance to the main square but not as close as other hotels. Highly reccomend & would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We got to Cusco and the hotel had already sent a taxi to pick us up from the hotel. We got to the hotel at about 7 am and were able to check in early which was great. We ordered room service for breakfast, the service was pretty good, the staff was attentive. On the second and fifth floors you could get some infusions or coffee through out the whole day. The room was clean, had a 32 inch LCD TV, queen size bed, nice decor even though the room was small, lights were great and we had a heater.

Cons:
Hot water would run out quickly sometimes, the shower that we got leaked a little and the whole bathroom floor ended up wet. No elevator but no biggie because the hotel only had 5 floors. It was about 8 blocks away from the main square, no biggie, it was walking distance.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, we had a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff.. Rooms are very modern and clean.. Enjoyed my stay at Unumizu.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Unumizu Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unumizu Cusco

Address: Av. Huayna Capac 210- Wanchaq, Cusco 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 147 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Unumizu Cusco 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unumizu Cusco Hotel, with our strategic location and close proximity to the Center of the city of Cusco. Enjoy the best hospitality and quality service in Unumizu Cusco Hotel. Our name, Unumizu, means ‘water’ in the native Andean language Quechua (unu) and in Japanese (mizu). It signifies the convergence of two cultures, the Inca and the Orient, and the tenacity of preserving the environment. Unumizu is a concept that allows us to put into practice our vision of sharing and preserving the Inca and Peruvian cultures while sustaining tourism and a great respect for our natural environment. All of these are expressed with water, Unumizu, one of the essential elements of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Unumizu Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Unumizu Cusco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.