We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and low standard” 2 of 5 stars
Review of LP Hotel Cusco

Save Saved
You added LP Hotel Cusco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LP Hotel Cusco
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. El Sol 602, Cusco, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 143 hotels in Cusco
Chalgrove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Noisy and low standard”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have a number of reasons for scoring this hotel badly:

1) there were renovations going on whilst I was there...which I understand the need for; however having drilling and hammering going on until 18.30 in the evening after a long day walking round the city was awful.

2) the food quality was substandard; and this was not down to the quality of raw produce, as having eaten in other restaurants in Cusco, they were all superb. When I came down to Breakfast at 7.30 the "hot breakfast" (Scrambled eggs) was cold and the glass orange juice jug had a cracked spout, which is very unhealthy.

The rooms are rather poky, however for a 3-star, I cannot complain too vehemently.

The staff did try to bridge gaps by being helpful...however the two points above nailed it for me.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    85
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
37
94
21
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a tour and what a great place to stay. The staff were very helpful,the breakfasts were good and the location was perfect as it was only a 10 minute walk to the main square where there were some excellent restaurants, and the historic sights.

We left our luggage,at no extra cost, while we went to Machu Picchu.

I would highly recommend this comfortable hotel to any travellers.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read you go back home with a memorable experience at Los Portales Cusco Hotel.

Thank you for the recognition to our staff wich will be shared with our entire team.

We will be glad to have you here again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

With many fellow travelers experiencing the nausea/headache of altitude adjustment on our first night in Cuzco, having a supportive staff with remedies available (oxygen, over-the-counter medicines, and directions to a nearby pharmacy) made the Los Portales Cuzco Hotel a winner in the hearts (and heads and stomachs) of us all. The 5-story inner courtyard where one could have breakfast also was a delightful addition to this modern and comfortable hotel in the heart of Cuzco, very near to the town square (Plaza de Armas) and several sights. A good hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to read your kind words and description of our property, of course our staff is trained to meet all the requirements of our guest, specially altitude sickness that sometimes affect them.

Thank you very much and hope to attend again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here at two different times-before and after our MP adventure. Very convenient location - 10 minutes walk to Plaza De Armas and almost across from the Inca Temple of the Sun (Qorikancha). Nice size rooms, modern showers with always hot water. The hotel complimentary held our extra luggage during our MP and Sacred Valley excursion. The breakfast buffet was great - eggs, sausages, ham, bread, cereal, granola, yogurt, fresh fruits, coffee, tea, fruit juices, milk....and always available coca tea for the altitude sickness! And of course the very helpful and professional staff - Jonathan, Noe, Rosa and Belisa - thank you for making our stay in Cusco even more enjoyable! Our only complaint - the towels - they really need to be replaced by new ones.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Los Portales Cusco Hotel on Trip Advisor.

Our goal is to give a best quality service in all our areas. We value our guest comments since they provide us valuable information on areas to improve.

We will share your comment with our personal, specially with the front desk department , which will feel motivated to continue working hard to give our guests an unforgettable stay.

It will be a pleasure to have you at Los Portales Cusco in a near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The bright, modern rooms, spacious courtyard, and tasty food of the restaurant aren't even the highlight. The staff was extremely professional and helpful in dealing with an unprofessional tour company, and helped us with what would have otherwise been an issue. Great location to boot!

Room Tip: If you're not used to city noise, you may not want to be in a room that faces the street, as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest

Is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at Los Portales Hotel and we appreciate the time that you have taken to write a comment.

We will share your comment with our personal, which will feel motivated to continue working hard to give our guests an unforgettable stay.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Georgia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
467 helpful votes 467 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Early on, I would have given this hotel an "Excellent" rating--particularly for the money. Then I stayed for four nights--and some noteworthy shortcomings reduced my opinion of the hotel markedly.

First the good parts.

The top rated TripAdvisor hotel in Cusco charges over $700 a night for a room; here, a room is $55 a night. And given that disparity, your $55 buys quite a room. Clean, quiet, and nicely fitted--the brand new bathroom even has a phone in there--and the carpet, duvet, and bedding is top notch. I likely had the worst room in the hotel, the one Priceline bidders or travel agents or airline crew usually get--right next to the elevator and facing the street from the second floor, and still the room was quiet. WiFi is free, and you get what you pay for--rarely worked, so nearly worthless. There was an odd smell in the bathroom--a strong cleaning solvent smell--throughout the stay. But on the balance, this room could be twice the price, and you'd still find it a good value.

Coca tea (to ward off the ill effects of altitude, as Cusco is over 11,000 feet above sea level) is available in the lobby courtyard around the clock, and the included breakfast is a buffet in a dining room adjacent. I stayed in four hotels during my Peru trip, and this was my least favorite breakfast--watery eggs, toast, pastries, yogurt.

Location is good, though not optimal. Cusco is breathtaking in every sense of the word, and I was panting throughout my stay. The main plaza, Plaza de Armas, is three blocks uphill--seems everything in Cusco is uphill in both directions--and the street leading there was torn up during my visit.

What were the major drawbacks? First off, this hotel has the earliest checkout time I've seen in 43 countries traveled. . .8:00am. Really. When I tried to get it to be later, was told 9:00am, which is still ridiculous. Finally, after having pitched a fit, I got them to agree to 10:00am. Still too early. I am not sure what is prompting such an early checkout (My other hotels in Peru did not have such an early checkout time) but an 8:00am checkout is decidedly customer-unfriendly.

The second problem also involved the front desk. My tour to Machu Picchu would leave at 4am, so I went to bed early (a little after 9p), so to be well rested for what would be the highlight of the trip. Remarkably, the phone rang at 10p in my room--it was the front desk reminding me that the tourbus would be waiting at 4a, and the agent continued to ask if I wanted a wake-up call. Needless to say, I had trouble getting back to sleep, and left for my tour with only a few hours of poor quality sleep on account of being awakened by a rather clueless front desk agent. If there were ever a reason to use the phone message light, this would be it--rather than to call a guest at 10p to remind him of a 4a pickup 6 hours hence. To add insult to injury, I complained at the front desk later in my stay, and asked the GM to call me to let him/her of this situation. There was no follow up.

So, Los Portales is a lovely hotel with a facility with rooms that could go for far more money--and a staff and set of policies that seems often tonedeaf. Consider all of this if you choose this hotel. As for me, I'm still waiting for an apology, and given my problems at the hotel, I cannot recommend it.

Room Tip: An interior room would likely be quieter, but even poorly located rooms are rather quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear TravelBeard,

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel's facilities and that the price-quality relationship of our rooms stands out. In regards to the problems that you had during your stay here we would like to clarify a few things:

1. We are sorry that you did not enjoy our buffet breakfast. At the same time we must clarify that we offer standardized products and dishes in concordance with the room rate that we offer our clients.
2. In terms of the call at 10pm we were only attempting to comply with what the travel agency had asked us to do. We are not familiar with all of our clients itineraries and only wanted to comply with the indications the travel agency had left us so that you would not miss your tour.
3. In regards to our check out time this is a policy that the majority of hotels in Cusco have as most arrivals are quite early and, because of the altitude, many individuals find it necessary to rest before partaking in any activities. If we don't need the room we automatically authorize late check outs.

We find it very unfortunate that you had these inconveniences during your stay with us and in order to obtain more details of what happened as well as better the services we offer we would like to ask if we could please have your name and date in which you stayed with us sent to our manager's personal email: zrodriguez@losportales.com.pe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

It's less than a 10 minute walk from the Plaza De Armas so a very good location. The room was nice but on the small side with hairdryer, safe etc. There is an enclosed courtyard downstairs and a sort of sitting room as well as restaurant so it's quite comfortable sitting in the public areas. One night we didn't want to go out to eat because of a really early start the following day and the food was ok. The breakfast is typically Peru fare - bread, cheese, ham - but we discovered you could ask for omlette which was nicely done. The staff were helpful - we went off travelling for a couple of days and on our return, our stored bags were already in the room. Probably best to avoid room 210 - it sounded like we were near the elevator on occasion - although we weren't - and it was opposite housekeeping - who used their walkie talkies at 6 in the morning!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest

Is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at Los Portales Cusco Hotel and we appreciate the time that you have taken to write a comment.

It is great to read you had a pleasant stay with us and our team made your feel comfortable, of course in our restaurant at breakfast time you have the option to request your eggs.

Be sure we will attend you with the same quality of service in your next stay.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to LP Hotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LP Hotel Cusco

Address: Av. El Sol 602, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 143 hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — LP Hotel Cusco 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a few steps from the historic and financial center of Cusco. We are located in front of the Temple of the Sun “Koricancha” and just four blocks from the Main Square. Los Portales Cusco Hotel is your best choice to enjoy the archaeological Capital of America or do business on El Sol Avenue, the main street passing through downtown. Los Portales Cusco is a comfortable hotel with services suitable to the needs of the modern traveler. Our restaurant offers a complete breakfast buffet and a selective menu of national and international food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your LP Hotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LP Hotel Cusco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.