We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay overall :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added San Francisco Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
San Francisco Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Ceniza 147, Cusco 084, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice stay overall :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night. It is beautiful!!! The common area/lobby/dinning tables looks like you are in a castle. The staff is very friendly and always ready to serve and please their guests (even the grumpy ones) ;)

We had a large missions group and we arrived late. They accommodated so we could order pizza from a nearby restaurant and they waited on us until the very end, since they had to get ready to serve early breakfast the next day (and they were booked to capacity).

WIFI was a little slow and our shower flooded out :( but other than that, the stay, the people, the city... everything was MAGICAL!!! the hotel made a good contribution!

We walked to the Plaza, Cathedral, shopping, Mercado, etc. No problems at all. :)

We will def. recommend this hotel to travelers when in Cusco.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuscoJim, Director General at San Francisco Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped,

Muchas gracias por compartir su experiencia con nosotros, yo aprecio mucho sus comentarios ya que nos da la oportunidad de conocer su opinión sobre nuestros servicios. Yo creo que los comentarios de nuestros huéspedes son una herramienta poderosa para mejorar el servicio.
Me gustaría informarle de que tomamos nota de todas las cuestiones que usted ha mencionado. Había tomado acción sobre las cuestiones que menciono, las cuales ya fueron corregidas.
Gracias por mencionar el excelente servicio brindado por el personal, siempre dispuesto a ayudarlo en todo momento, también por destacar las características de nuestro hotel y por recomendarnos.

Cordialmente,

Saludos Cordiales
Jimmy Cruz Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    104
    24
    3
    9
See reviews for
40
73
23
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, Iowa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed in 2 different rooms. The first 2 nights we stayed far enough from the common area that we could barely hear the noise. The last night we right off the common area and we could here the noise late at night and early in the morning. The tour groups would meet in the common area and talk loud enough that we could not sleep.

The people that worked there were friendly and helpful even though we do not speak Spanish. Some of the workers do speak English.

The hotel has a good location. It is close enough to the plaza to walk, but far enough away to make it nice.

Room Tip: No elevator so get a room on the ground floor Get rooms as far from the lobby as possible for quitt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuscoJim, Director General at San Francisco Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huesped

Muchas gracias por compartir su experiencia con nosotros, yo aprecio mucho sus comentarios ya que nos da la oportunidad de conocer su opinión sobre nuestros servicios. Yo creo que los comentarios de nuestros huéspedes son una herramienta poderosa para mejorar el servicio.
Me gustaría informarle de que tomamos nota de todas las cuestiones que usted ha mencionado.
Una vez más, por favor, acepte mis más sinceras disculpas.

Cordialmente,

Saludos Cordiales
Jimmy Cruz Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Awesome place! I recommend. You should totally stop by and check it out if you're in the area.Good value and reasonable pricing. I have got to say they have a friendly atmosphere. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuscoJim, Director General at San Francisco Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado huésped.

Muchas gracias por compartir su experiencia con nosotros, yo aprecio mucho sus comentarios ya que nos da la oportunidad de conocer su opinión sobre nuestros servicios y nos ayudará a mejorar para ofrecer un mejor servicio.

Cordialmente

Saludos Cordiales
Jimmy Cruz Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed here a total of five nights and overall, had a good experience. We had booked a room with a King-sized bed and when we arrived we were taken to a room with two very small beds. Upon asking for a room with a larger bed, we were taken to a huge suite that had two floors--bathroom and sitting area on the first floor and bedroom in a loft upstairs. It even had a balcony overlooking the street in front of the hotel. The suites are located just upstairs from the main lobby, which is convenient, but can also be noisy at night if they have group reservations for dinner. The staff were very accommodating--particularly Luis and Miguel. Breakfast was great every morning but we also ate dinner there one night and it was just okay. Our only two complaints--the front desk did not always have soles on hand for us to change out our dollars and the bathrooms do seem to have some water leakage issues. It seems to be not so much from broken fixtures but poor engineering, but was only a minor inconvenience.

Room Tip: If you don't like the first room they show you, don't hesitate to ask to see another! The s...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuscoJim, Director General at San Francisco Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped:

Muchas gracias por compartir su experiencia con nosotros, yo aprecio mucho sus comentarios ya que nos da la oportunidad de conocer su opinión sobre nuestros servicios. Yo creo que los comentarios de nuestros huéspedes son una herramienta poderosa para mejorar el servicio.
Le agradecemos por sus comentarios y sugerencias, que nos ayudaran para continuar en nuestro esfuerzo para mejorar la calidad de nuestros productos y servicios.
Una vez más, por favor, acepte mis más sinceras disculpas.

Cordialmente,

Saludos Cordiales
Jimmy Cruz Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed here on 5/12/2014 & 5/14/2014. All the arrangements were done for us via a tour package that I booked through CTM tours.

Overall, I am satisfied with this hotel, I do recommend it and would return. Minor details don't make this a 5-star hotel. One key thing with me that I appreciate is that It's CLEAN, this is a must with me. The staff is professional and friendly. The building itself is a mixture of modern and rustic, with some "indigenous" & religious art and decor. The location is great because it's in a small street, tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the main plaza, but still of walking distance from the center of Cusco. They also offer free wifi, although the connection is weak and seems to disconnect randomly. They do complimentary wake up calls, if you ask for it.

When we arrived the staff informed us that they have a terrace on the rooftop, accessible to their customers. We decided to visit that rooftop and I must admit, it's a very nice view of the city.


Our room was clean and spacious. My only complain is that the bed was too hard, there is no heater and considering that it gets very cold in Cusco, the blankets the hotel provides aren't enough to keep warm. They also didn't have any hair conditioner, only shampoo and even when I went to the front desk to ask, they had no conditioner. I was bummed because for once I didn't take my toiletry bag only to have the hotel not offer what I needed. (My mistake.) There is however, a nice sized tub to soak in, which helped after our long arduous hike up Huayna Picchu.

WARNING: The lobby floors are of rocky material, apparently waxed or somehow cleaned in a way that makes the floor VERY SLIPPERY. I decided to put on my sandals as soon as we arrived, to rest my feet, and decided to walk out into the lobby and nearly fell on the slippery floor. Also the floors on the second floor creek a lot and feel unstable. (This is a concern for me.)

The day we arrived we ate at the hotel. My husband ordered a chicken sandwich and I ordered a chicken soup. The sandwich was okay, nothing out of the ordinary. The chicken soup was bland and the potato was still raw, so I was really disappointed. Personally, the price didn't meet the quality.

There are little mom & pop stores around the hotel to help buy basic items like water, snacks, etc. if you don't feel like walking all the way to the main plaza. There is one small restaurant around the corner from the hotel and a place to have your laundry done for you. There is also a small mom and pop pizzeria, approximately half a block away from the corner, which we did try after our return from Machu Picchu. The pizza was done in a rustic oven by a young couple in their golden years. We tried "la especial" which consists of bacon, ham & sausage. They give you a side of mayo and aji to top the pizza with. It was good and reasonably priced. Unfortunately, Cusco eateries don't do take out, which is disappointing when you're tired and trying to just rest and eat in your room.

They serve a "continental" buffet breakfast from 5am - 9am. It's not a huge selection, but satisfies the need. They offer primarily bread, ham, head cheese, cheese, eggs (either scrambled or boiled,) fresh fruit, sausage, dry cereals, jellies, fresh juices, coffee and teas.


Looking forward to returning.


Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuscoJim, Director General at San Francisco Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped:

Muchas gracias por compartir su experiencia con nosotros, yo aprecio mucho sus comentarios ya que nos da la oportunidad de conocer su opinión sobre nuestros servicios. Yo creo que los comentarios de nuestros huéspedes son una herramienta poderosa para mejorar el servicio.

Me gustaría informarle de que tomamos nota de todas las cuestiones que usted ha mencionado. Le agradecemos por sus comentarios y sugerencias, que nos ayudaran para continuar en nuestro esfuerzo para mejorar la calidad de nuestros productos y servicios.

Reciba un cordial saludo y los mejores deseos de parte del equipo del San Francisco Plaza Hotel

Muy cordialmente,

Jimmy Cruz Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Excelente hotel, but when i was ready to check out, they charged me a 10% premium for paying with a credit card. This was very annoying, at least they should warn you at the time of check in. But except for this, I had a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuscoJim, Director General at San Francisco Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado huésped, muchas gracias por dejar sus comentarios en la web tripadvisor, los mismos que nos servirán para mejorar en la calidad de nuestros servicios, disculpe por los inconvenientes que tuvo durante su estadía. estoy tomando nota para corregirlos.

Atentamente.

Saludos Cordiales
Jimmy Cruz Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We are glad our travel agency booked this hotel for us.

It is nice and clean. We have been given big rooms with private bathrooms. Quality of sleep has been satisfactory.

Breakfast was ok, with a good variety of foods and beverages.

Personnel was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuscoJim, Director General at San Francisco Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado huésped.

Muchas gracias por compartir su experiencia con nosotros, yo aprecio mucho sus comentarios ya que nos da la oportunidad de conocer su opinión sobre nuestros servicios y nos ayudará a mejorar para ofrecer un mejor servicio.

Cordialmente

Saludos Cordiales
Jimmy Cruz Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Francisco Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Plaza Hotel

Address: Calle Ceniza 147, Cusco 084, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Francisco Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Francisco Plaza Hotel is a three star hotel which is located in the heart of Cusco the ancient capital of the Incas Empire, located three blocks from the Plaza de Armas, main square of Cusco , where is located the cathedral and most museums and attractions of the city.Our hotel is in a large and beautiful colonial house, where they celebrated the traditional festival of the Cruz Velacuy Mr. Ash, which has been restored seeking to preserve the typical characteristics of colonial architecture in order to give our tourists recognized attraction, has 30 rooms, two patio and porch elements characteristic of the colonial architecture of Cusco, the facade has three balconies with beautiful wood carvings typical of a colonial house and an area of ​​dream sleep.San Francisco Plaza Hotel is designed to give the best quality and individualized service to our guests with all necessary facilities. Our hotel offers great hospitality and a warm hug service to make your trip unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Francisco Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Francisco Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.