We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun Activity!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ChocoMuseo

ChocoMuseo
Calle Garcilaso 210 int 2nd floor, Cusco, Peru
084 24 47 65
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 139 things to do in Cusco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cacao and chocolate museum in Cusco, Peru. Learn about the history of cacao, the cacao tree and cacao in Peru. ChocoMuseo has its own artisanal chocolate factory which makes chocolate from organic Peruvian cacao beans. Finally ChocoMuseo offers chocolate workshops to make your own chocolate and cacao farm tours to see how real life in a plantation is. A unique experience for the whole family.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A fun Activity!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The ChocoMuseo is a fun activity! We learned about how cocoa is made, where it's grown. We had the opportunity to grind cocoa beans into powder. The powder was then used to make different flavoured hot coco. We also made our own chocolates. You can choose from an assortment of molds and fillings. It was quite the interactive workshop! We really enjoyed ourselves! I would recommend it to any chocolate enthusiast!

However, the chocolate isn't very sweet. It's not milk chocolate. But, it still tastes really good!

Other details:
There is no fee to go into the museum. However, there is a fee for the chocolate workshop. The storage space for your belongings is under the counter where the workshop takes place. It's fairly safe, as I would assume that people who leave things typically only pick up their own things. There is no secure locked area to place belongings.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    351
    150
    26
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Take a chocolate making class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My friend and I spent one of our mornings at the ChocoMuseo, learning all about making chocolate and preparing some snacks for our upcoming Inca Trail Trek. It was fun from beginning to end - not to mention delicious!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tasty surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Cozy and informative. The Choco Museo was a real treat. Highly recommended for chocolate lovers and curios travelers who want to experiment a charming and tasty experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Delightful educational and hands on experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We checked out ChocoMuseo for the chocolate making class. It was nearly 3 hours of fun! We started with a brief education of the cocoa plant, processing of the beans where each person in the class had to test roasted beans and subsequently grind the beans into the paste. Then we topped it off with creating our own chocolates!
The staff was incredibly attentive, noting when one of us began to suffer altitude symptoms and brought over a chair, created a fun competition for grinding the cacao beans, and answered questions with ease. A lovely 3hour activity in cusco.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best chocolate milk ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband said that this was the best chocolate milk he's ever had in his life (and he's had a LOT of chocolate milk). The museum staff is very friendly. When you first walk in, it's a little difficult to tell if you are in the right place. You walk into the shop and cash register and there are usually a lot of customers there confusing things, but if you walk past the shop and into the cafe/museum, it begins to make more sense. They offer you some free chocolate tea (very yummy) and you can wander around the different displays or sit and have some chocolate refreshments. It only takes an hour or so, but it's well worth the visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ChocoMuseo also viewed

 

Been to ChocoMuseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ChocoMuseo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.