We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild Rover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel
Calle Matara 261 | 3 Blocks from Cusco's heart - Plaza de Armas, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wild Rover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Stayed in the Wild Rover for over a week and it wasn´t long enough. The bar has a great atmosphere, but if you need a good kip, the rooms are far enough away from the music so that you can still sleep. Also, it´s true they have the comfiest beds in south america, by far!!I had altitude sickness when I arrived first and the staff were amazing giving me coca tea and hot lemon and honey drinks all day. Everyone from the reception to the bar staff to the door men were so helpful!It´s also right around the corner from the big market selling everything from alpaca to frogs!And just 2 blocks from the main plaza.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    56
    22
    17
    11
See reviews for
3
21
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mullingar,Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Great hostel to party and meet people and a good chill out area away from bar with bean bags.The rooms are far enough away from the bar to be affected by the sound from the bar,Had a great game of killer pool in the bar. Food is same as other wild rover hostel in la paz so not really a place for local cuisine. Excellent location walking distance of the main plaza.Supermarket right next door.Staff were sound.

Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Stayed there for a week in Sept 2011. Great craic and good staff. Theres also an Irish lad (Aidan) who does a walking tour of Cuscoe that is well worth doing. (just bring plenty of water) The breakfast is basic but at that altitude i found the bread jam and coffee really hit the spot and anything more would have been too much. There is an agency located in the hostel who can assist in organising any trips and activities in the area. The rooms are basic but we stayed in the couples room with an en suite bathroom and it was fine, if a little loud. The night staff are sound and really for the money i paid i was happy out with the service i received. They also do nice bar food and it's five minutes from the very center of town.

Room Tip: The couples rooms with en suite to me appeared to be a bit more secure than the dorms but it all see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Honestly this hostel was amazing!! We had the best nights in the Bar there, with free shots, dancing on the bar and really great staff and people.

Colm was the life and soul of the Party every night, He was Freddy Mercury for 80's night, a member of Kiss the next and Painted himself red for the independance day. Great craic!! There is always something interesting going on in the Wild Rover and the food was amazing!! Really really big portions aswell, we honestly felt like we were handing back full meals.

The Wild Rover is the only hostel that I have been in that you literally would'nt need to leave and you will have a ball. The music is Loud but it finishes at 2am, after that its silent and the secure access means that not just anyone is allowed into the hostel or the bar.

If you are dry and dont want to have fun then don't stay here because you will only end up complaining about the noise like some others here. We had an early night one night before our trek and we were in the matrimonial room across from the bar, the band were loud but we slept fine.

If you are going make sure you do the Rock the Boat on the bar when the song "sit down" by "James" comes on. Great fun!!

Love this place and couldn't fault it, Its not for everyone though so choose wisely, If you want to have fun then you CANNOT beat this. If you want to sleep, don't stay here.

The rooms are average and are more expensive than other Hostels but the beds and duvets are second to none.

One last point, the place is Immaculate!! They are constantly cleaning the toilets and its really nice not to be greeted by foreign objects!

Room Tip: Double private rooms are closest to the Bar, your choice if thats good or bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011 via mobile

The breakfest is basic e the staff doesnt help in the tours e atractions of Cusco.
The bedroons are great and the pub os very funny

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

I cant really put into words how terrible this place was. They only opened in December and already its in a state. We booked it before we left for 2nights for before the inca trail and then for 4 nigths when we came back. We were given a room upstaris just above the courtyard and the first 2 nights we didnt sleep, the music from the bar travels through the courtyard and then people shouting down in the courtyard till all hours doesnt help. No one from reception asks people to keep quiet only people getting out of bed to shout will keep people quiet and thats for about 5mins if even.
The breakfast is just jam and bread and some tea. The "full irish breakfast" you pay for is horrible.
When we came back from the inca trail we were given a room on the courtyard....didnt sleep again. They then messed up our booking and took all the bags out of the room and left them in the hall with about 20 other peoples. The bags were open and all that was said was that there was a mistake with the bookings and we had to leave. No apology and no offer of our booking fee back. We had to go back the next day and ask for this back. There were also a few questions raised as to the hygiene of the rooms and the beds.....
All said if you want to sleep and have a hassle free stay do not stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Had an amazing first eve, where we were welcomed with free shots of tequila, and afterwards played ´killer pool´ with the whole hostel + staff. Next morning all 4 of us woke up half dead :) Rooms are clean, showers are hot, food is fine although there´s a supermarket next door too. Yeah, those were the days!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel

Address: Calle Matara 261 | 3 Blocks from Cusco's heart - Plaza de Armas, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.