We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Rooms, Excellent and Helpful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi to your Saves list
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Saphi 766, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Milpitas, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean Rooms, Excellent and Helpful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights prior to our Inca Trail 4 day hike and 1 night upon returning from the hike. Staff was very friendly, spoke english well and always had coca tea available in the lobby (nice touch!). They also have a fridge in the courtyard with gatorade, beer, and other drinks for sale for cheap. They give 2 free bottles of water each day, which was really nice since we didn't drink the tap water. Rooms were nice and clean. We had a group with 4 rooms and they put us all in the same wing of the hotel.

When we left for the Inca trail, we checked out at 4am, the staff held our suitcases for us as we took just our hiking packs. Upon our return, they had all our paper work filled out for our re-check-in and had even put our suitcases in our room already! It was quite a welcome feeling after a long 4 day hike and train/car ride back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Rick I,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with other travelers.

We hope to have you again, very soon, at any of our hotels Tierra Viva in Lima, Arequipa, Puno or Cusco.

Best regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    162
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
118
387
44
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed here for a few days before hiking the Inca Trail to help adjust to the altitude. We were greeted by a friendly staff and coca tea (for the altitude) and muna (mint) tea (for digestion). There was a group of 8 of us. After one night, they kindly moved us all into an area where we could be together once there was availability. The location was perfect and within walking distance to the more touristy part of town (Plaza de Armas). There were hot showers, no central heating but there were space heaters, 2 free water bottles in the room, free breakfast (scrambled eggs, sausage, tamales, yogurt, granola, fruit, juices, coffee, tea, milk, toast, croissants). Other tourists had mentioned that the hotel packed a to-go breakfast for them on the morning they left for the Inca trail, but they did not offer us this. We were able to quickly grab a croissant before we left though. My only complaint was that the shower did not drain very well. FYI if you come home late, the doors will be locked (one night we came home around 2am and the door was locked so we had to wait for a little bit before staff came to open the door for us). There was free internet in the common areas. The staff was great at helping us find things to do and places to eat at. When we returned after hiking the Inca Trail, it really felt like home. Re-checking-in was a painless process. They brought our bags up to the room for us. Returning to internet, hot showers, and a soft and warm bed was amazing! Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: For our group of 8, we stayed near the front desk up one flight of stairs where the computers were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear nutstarr02,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for having stayed with us.

We are so glad of knowing that you felt "like home" at Tierra Viva and we hope to have you again very soon at any of our Tierra Viva Hotels.

Best regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I can't say enough about how wonderful Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi is. We had a group of 8 (4 rooms) and the staff were awesome in giving us an area where all our rooms were together. It was wonderful cause we were able to have all our doors open so we could hang out. .

My group did the Inca Trail hike and the staff was amazing- they held our bags over the 4 days we were gone and when we came back, they already had our paper work filled out and luggage in our room. This was super helpful cause we were exhausted and they made the check in process so easy. It was the little things like this that made the experience so amazing.

The rooms and bathroom are clean. They don't have central heat, but do provide a portal space heater. Some of the bathrooms don't have fans, but windows (which can make airing out the bathroom difficult after a hot shower).

The breakfast they provide has a good variety of food- from cereal, yogurt, fruits, pastries, to traditional Peruvian food. It was very good.

Overall I would recommend this hotel and would definitely return if I ever visited Cusco again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear monkey24 ,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva an “Amazing Hotel”.

We hope to have you again, very soon, at any of our hotels Tierra Viva in Lima , Arequipa , Puno or Cusco.

Best regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed a few nights in Cusco before our Inka Trail trek and afterwards as well. We LOVED Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi! The staff were very friendly and helpful, giving good restaurant locations, answering questions we had, holding our luggage while we did the Inka Trail, putting our luggage back in our new room after returned from the Inka Trail, etc. The hotel is a couple blocks away from the Plaza de Armas on a pretty quiet street(there is an even closer Tierra Viva, but the street is louder since it is so close to the Plaza). To walk to it you go up Los Plateros, which has a lot of good restaurants and shops, including places to exchange money(do it here in one of those stands inside the small shops, you'll get a MUCH better exchange rate). There is always tea (Muna and coca) in the lobby and the included breakfast is very substantial (different breads, eggs, sausage, tamales, fruit, yogurt, juices, etc.). They will even pack a to-go breakfast if you need it, such as when we left the hotel at 4am for our Inka Trail trek. The rooms are nice and clean, with bottled water inside. When we go back to Cusco, we will be staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Liz H,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with other travelers.

We hope to have you again, very soon, at any of our hotels Tierra Viva in Lima, Arequipa, Puno or Cusco.

Best regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

While driving away from plaza de armas about 4-5 blocks in one direction you arrive upon this hotel... you feel isolated and a little on guard because there are rarely any cars or people on the street, and nothing is opened late at night... BUT the plaza is really just a short 2 minute run away... or a 1 min cab ride. After 10pm the front hotel door closes... but you press a button and they buzz you in! I wouldn't say they staff was super friendly or overly helpful, but they were helpful and pleasant! We definitely had to ask and inquire for help though... they didn't go out of their way to help, even though we were the only ones there at the time. they carry your bags to your room! stairways and our floors were SQUEEKY in a lot of places... floor of room definitely felt slanted and uneven in many parts... but it felt sturdy!

WIFI was exceptional compared to our last hotel. Bed was awesome! Good room lighting, clean, modern. heated bathroom floors. The water in shower was barely passable as it got almost hot enough (i like it scorching) but did fluctuate to warm (not cold) at random times. We stayed one night. Beautiful view, quiet, felt safe... it appears nestled closer to small hills where other houses are... so you felt like you were living there! Great decor. 2 computers above small lobby where we printed our boarding passes (kinda had issues, but nothing the front desk couldn't help us with). Front desk is the concierge. Breakfast included- not bad- it wasn't crowded and we got there towards end so we were only ones there... I grinded the fruits... fruits in peru are SO AMAZINGLY SWEET... and I come from hawaii! My husband loved the sausages in the hot clay pot! I'd def stay here again even though it wasn't as "happening" as our other hotel... this one provided way more consistency in wifi which was strong and didn't disappear on us. And it was clean and modern and bright! loved it! chocolates on our bed when we arrived... For the price on expedia $90 it was WELL worth it!!!!!

Room Tip: we were on 3rd floor... luckily because our floors squeeked... I'm sure we woke up or annoyed th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear oceangirl808,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for having stayed with us.

We hope to have you again very soon at any of our Tierra Viva Hotels.

Best regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed 4 days in February in this hotel the 6 of us and everything was perfect. Pick-up at the airport, nice and clean rooms, early breakfast to allow take an early train to Machu Picchu and moreover very gentle staff giving us many advices. I would strongly recommend it, with a good localization also.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Liduska3012 ,

Thank you for your wonderful comment and for considering Tierra Viva an “excellent hotel”.

We hope to have you again, very soon, at any of our hotels Tierra Viva in Lima , Arequipa , Puno or Cusco.

Best regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Great Staff, value for your money, decent location, excellent breakfast a little bit noisy at night.
we stayed two nights and did not had an issue at all the staff was amazing at check out they reconfirmed our reservations at tierra viva Puno and made arrangements for transportation to the airport I received an e-mail immediately saying we had left items in our room and arranged for us to receive them

Room Tip: The rooms around the court yards are a little noisy especially if you leave your small window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Martin1286,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with other travelers.

We hope to have you again, very soon, at any of our hotels Tierra Viva in Lima, Arequipa, Puno or Cusco.

Best regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi

Address: Calle Saphi 766, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#9 Family Hotel in Cusco
#20 Business Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Cusco is located in what used to be an elegant colonial residence. Throughout the hotel you’ll find a charming contrast between this imperial city’s rich history and modern convenience and comfort. Our spacious rooms are an invitation to rest, offering the ideal place to refuel and start a new day of exploration and discovery. As was characteristic in large colonial residences, our hotel has two interior patios where our guests can relax during a sunny afternoon or enjoy a soft breeze at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.