We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far exceeded expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi

Save Saved
You added Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Saphi 766, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 143 hotels in Cusco
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Far exceeded expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi! It far exceeded our expectations. We can not get over how professional and helpful all the staff are. Especially Rosario! We looked at other hotels while we were there to do a comparison for the next time we visit Cusco, and we decided no other hotel met all our needs like Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi. Well priced, good location close to the main square, but without all the noise. The rooms were very clean and large. We will be staying there again and recommend it highly! Thank you for making our trip such a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear OnTheMove229,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for highly recommending our hotel to the rest of travelers.

Our mission at Tierra Viva is: “Contribute to convert a travel in an unforgettable experience” and reading comment like yours, reaffirm us that we are in the right path.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again, in any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    505
    142
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
107
345
40
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We felt like if we were at home. We stayed three nights at Cuzco and we felt so comfortable. The staff was amazing. I felt sick when we arrived to Cuzco and the hotel had oxygen service and coca tea and then I felt much better. The room and the bathroom were beautiful and comfortable.The breakfast was simple but delicious. Is in a quiet place, is near to the Plaza de Armas, just three blocks walking and there are many restaurants near the hotel. We really enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Andrea E,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having stayed our hotel

Our mission at Tierra Viva is: “Contribute to convert a travel in an unforgettable experience” and reading comment like yours, reaffirm us that we are in the right path.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel in Cuzco before starting our Salkantay trek to Machu Picchu, and then two more nights after our trek. Although a little pricey (about $90 per night for a double, including breakfast), it is a great place to stay in Cuzco. It is very clean and comfortable, with a nice little courtyard, excellent breakfast, and located close to the heart of Cuzco. The staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful and accommodating. They helped us change money, gave us a free airport transfer, stored our luggage while we were on our trek, and they have free internet service. There are cheaper places to stay in Cuzco but it's hard to imagine a nicer place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear David H,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for recommending our hotel to the rest of travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near
future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The staff was excellent from arranging airport transfers to calling the airline for me to see about changing flights. They have free coca tea and breakfast. The beds are wonderfully comfortable and the showers are amazing! Would definitely stay there again if I'm back in Cuzco.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear MichaelJ,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and we hope to have you again with us very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Director General
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johns, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed in Tierra Viva Shapi Hotel in November 2012. The staff is very nice, helpful and friendly. Flor and Santos are great. We were running late to catch our flight back to Lima and Flor printed our bording passes, what saved us a lot of time. Beds are so confortable, we had a king bed for my husband and I and an extra twin for our daughter. Beds were impecable and so was the bathroom, these are the first two things I checked in a hotel. The room was very spacious. Breakfast was delicious, fresh local fruit and juices, fresh bread, good coffee, and much more, good variety. The hotel sent a cab to the airport to recieve us (for free). The guy was so nice and we hired him as our personal driver for 2 days, he took us to see the main touristic places in Cuzco and also Ollantaytambo ( about 1 1/2 hours from Cuzco city) for a very reasonable price. The hotel is located about 3 blocks from main square, walking wasn't bad for us, we didn't have major problems with the altitude.

Room Tip: Rooms in the highest floor, can be a little hard for people with walking problems, lot of steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Monica H,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for sharing your Tierra Viva´s experience with the rest of travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again with us very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Director General
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The staff were one of the best hotel staff we have ever stayed with. Very helpful, great english. Quick tip: buy your water from the hotel to save over the inflated prices in town.
The bed too small and matter very unconfortable. I already told this to the hotel memebers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Eric C,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

We hope to have you again at any of our hotels in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here October 2011. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful especially Santos. It's only a few blocks from the Plaza de Armas which is a great location if you fit, but if you have trouble walking like I do it is a bit far. There are also steps leading up to the hotel which are a bit steep, so again, if you have trouble with staris you need to consider that. This is only an issue if you have mobility issues. Other than that it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear BellaNella,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi

Address: Calle Saphi 766, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#9 Business Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Cusco is located in what used to be an elegant colonial residence. Throughout the hotel you’ll find a charming contrast between this imperial city’s rich history and modern convenience and comfort. Our spacious rooms are an invitation to rest, offering the ideal place to refuel and start a new day of exploration and discovery. As was characteristic in large colonial residences, our hotel has two interior patios where our guests can relax during a sunny afternoon or enjoy a soft breeze at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.