We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza to your Saves list
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Suecia 345, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Brituvian Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 151 Hotels in Cusco
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Simply amazing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel is gorgeous, the staff are so accommodating and friendly, the rooms are such a generous size, the only down fall is the noise on the weekends and early morning, otherwise this is a perfect property.

We stayed for 3 nights before our inca trail trek and 1 night after, our first room was a spacious king room and the second one was a gorgeous high ceiling, king suite loft. Absolutely stunning, I wish we had more time to spend in the room, because post inca trail we were shattered. We slept well here for the most part, its only a 2 minute walk to the plaza and you can get anywhere from there. It's also a 1/2 hour walk to the sacsayhuaman inca site. The reception staff always greeted us with a smile, and were more than happy to store our bags for us while we were trekking, and when we arrived back, they were already in our room.

Coca tea is available 24/7 and the turn down service is a nice touch. They will help organize a taxi for you if you wish to do a day trip also. Nothing was too much trouble, its an all round great property and if I ever get the chance to go back to Cusco, ill definitely be staying here.

Oh and they'll also pick you up from the airport complementary. Enjoy your stay. I did. You're in for a treat.

Room Tip: Room 303 - standard king Room 205 - stunning king suite loft
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear RPKE,

Many thanks for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with other travelers.

We are delighted to know that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you again, very soon at any of our hotels Tierra Viva, either in Lima, Arequipa, Cusco or Puno.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
General manager
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    219
    35
    10
    8
See reviews for
112
423
67
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great hotel close to the plaza de Armas. Nice comfortable room with modern bathrooms. Very helpful pleasant staff. Great breakfast that starts at 5 am. Would stay here again. Not but a reasonable value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Denis P,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva a “Great Place to stay in Cuscol”

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and we hope to have you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Level Contributor
186 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a small - 18 room - hotel that is really nice. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. Our room was nicely appointed, comfortable and very quiet. Breakfast buffet was included in our price and it was very good. Service starts at 5AM which is perfect for taking the early train to Machu Picchu. The location is right off of the main square but it is uphill on a narrow street. There are many good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Nancy-SC,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva a “Wonderful Hotel”

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and we hope to have you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, and we loved it. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms were wonderful, and the breakfast was delicious (especially the orange juice). The location is outstanding, only about 150 meters off the Plaza de Armas, right in the middle of tourist Cusco. We left a bag there while we spent the night in Aguas Calientes to see Machu Picchu, and the staff had it waiting for us in our new room upon our return. Definitely felt like they were on top of things. The only downsides that I can think of are that there is a dance club a couple of doors down and some of the rooms are underground near the street that runs in front of the hotel, and you can sometimes hear the cars passing (but the street isn't too busy). That said, my wife and I didn't lose any sleep. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Bmitchell86,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for highly recommending Tierra Viva to other travelers.

We are so glad of knowing that you had a “great stay” at our hotel and we hope to have you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very nice hotel located less than a 5 minute walk from Plaza de Armas, Cusco’s central square which serves as the focal point for all festivities and surrounded by reasonably priced restaurants. The staff goes out of their way to make your stay a pleasurable one. Upon entering our first day, Angel treated us like royalty by meeting us at the door and helped us fill out paperwork. Since we had just arrived by plane from Lima, he was sensitive to the fact we might experience altitude sickness, sat us down and provided coca tea. When everything was done, he delivered our luggage to the room and provided a converter for our U.S. appliances. This was the norm for all the staff – caring to all our needs anytime we showed up. Breakfast was excellent, plentiful, fresh and nutritious that included fruit, pastry, eggs, tamales, cereal, yogurt and coffee. We stayed two nights, then left our bags during a two day visit to Machu Picchu. Upon return our bags were quickly delivered to our new room. That evening (Friday), we were woken up by a loud disco band located just next door that started playing at midnight. After getting absolutely zero sleep for an hour, I went to the front desk to complain. The individual at the front desk apologized profusely stating they had called the police to address the noise issue since this band was a byproduct of the evenings festivities at Plaza de Armas, but there was little else he could do to stop the music. He then offered to allow my wife and I to sleep in another room for the night ‘without” moving our belongings; essentially we were occupying two rooms at once. Wow! Never did I think they would offer this as a solution. Moving to the second room just to sleep was an absolute lifesaver since we quickly got back to sleep. (Note - We experienced something similar at a hotel in Istanbul last June. Their response was to move our things to another room, or stay where we were, which was nothing near the Tierra Viva Cusco’s response.) When we woke for an early morning flight back to Lima, the new individual at the front desk was aware of our situation, continued to apologize and said the taxi bill to the airport was being picked up by the hotel. My wife and I were completely shocked. This was what one calls customer service, which we greatly appreciated. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel to anyone because there aren’t many hotels around today that provide this level of service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 5 nights total, and as two girls, we felt safe and secure in this hotel. The staff, although their English was limited, helped us with restaurant suggestions, called other hotels for us to book airport pick-up in Lima and Aguas Caliantes, as well as booked cabs to and from the train station for us. The location is just up a hill a little ways from the main plaza, and the location was pretty good. Some things to note are, as in all of Cusco, you’re not supposed to flush toilet paper down the toilet (this took some getting used to). As well, there is no heat in the buildings, and it gets quite cold at night. The hotel rooms have space heaters, but when you go out to eat anywhere, bring a sweater or jacket! The only other thing to mention about the hotel is that there seem to be some night clubs nearby. We were in room 209, and our window faced an ally on the opposite side as the entrance. We had to get up for the train at 4:30 and the party was still going strong. The noise made it challenging to sleep a couple of the nights, even though the window was closed. We were given 2 free bottles of water each day, and breakfast was offered every morning for free. Over all, we had a great experience and would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Cusco. Also strongly suggest getting altitude medicine. The effects of the 11,000 foot altitude is very noticeable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear traveljunkie1983,

Thank youso much for having stayed at Tierra Viva and for writing this excellent comment.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again, very soon, at any of our hotels Tierra Viva in Lima, Arequipa, Cusco or Puno.

Best regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

If you are looking for rooms with character and with family hospitality Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza is your place. The hotel is on located on an inclined on a hill so the hotel itself is broken up by different levels. Street level entrance is located on the 3rd floor of the hotel, most of the rooms go below rather than up. I think the way the hotel is constructed allow the rooms to come in different shape and sizes. So if you are lucky you get shuffled into a nicer room. The decor has that old world charm with dark wood but modern feel. Most of the amenities is included like a heater, hair dryer, toiletries, & free bottle waters.

Location is very close to Plaza de Armas. It just tucked away on a side street by the plaza. If you have altitude sickness, the trek up to the hotel is not a fun thing to do. Even the cars don't want to go up the street due to being one way and hard to get out of.

The hotel offers free pick ups at the Cusco airport. They do not offer free drop off at the airport. Beware of the driver who will try to sell you package tours. Use at your own risk, they give out misinformation on the tours and does not pay attention to detail.

The spread for breakfast is very nice. They offer yogurt, fruits, cereal, bread, and hot foods. The disappointing thing is that the coffee is not fresh brew instead they put out instant coffee for your own use.

The hotel was nice enough to store our luggage for us. I even forgot something in the room and when they cleaned the room that found my stuff and attached it to our luggage. Very honest people there! The hotel uses an actual key to lock the doors and asks you to return the key to them upon exiting the hotel. I was skeptical about that in the beginning but knowing that they use a key probably would be much harder for them to change the locks if I lost my key outside!

Overall, a very cozy hotel to stay at, we were happy customers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, General Manager at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Ann G,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

We hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#3 of 151 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#14 of 151 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
#11 of 151 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 865 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Address: Calle Suecia 345, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Brituvian Inn)
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#17 Business Hotel in Cusco
#18 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza owes its name to the nearby “Plaza de Armas” of Cuzco. It is located only 15 meters from the square via a cobblestone street which separates downtown from the beautiful colonial house in which this stunning hotel is located.Steeped in history, this colonial house once served as home to the family of the Spanish conqueror Francisco Pizarro.This beautiful historic building has 20 comfortable rooms and a rest area consisting of a dream patio with wood veneers, illuminated by a beautiful dome that captures the most beautiful sunrises of Cuzco offering magical nights of relaxation.Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza offers a place to rest, and is the ideal place to start and recover from the wonders of a day exploring the magical city of Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.