We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not fault” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza to your Saves list
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Suecia 345, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Brituvian Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #17 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Brisbane
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Could not fault”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 5 nights in August 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location is excellent very close to most attractions and restaurants. Had no complaints in regards to noise. Good continental breakfast. The service was fantastic my wife had a serious attack of altitude sickness. They immediately called a doctor who was not expensive. The hotel supplied oxygen at no charge. Would definitely return. Cusco is great with many sight worth visiting

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear bmw216,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with the rest of travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again, at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    172
    33
    8
    7
See reviews for
94
357
62
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Everything about the hotel was great -in particular location was v central - but to put it bluntly, it's on party street for cusco so it's very noisy! We stayed on Saturday night and were given the choice of a dim ground floor room overlooking the breakfast patio or a first floor room with more light but overlooking the street. We chose the latter but even with the double-glazed windows, there was no way we could have got any sleep in that room, with all the noise (and this is coming from two people who can sleep through a train wreck). The staff were extremely kind in letting us borrow a bed in another room at two am, but we could hear the noise even in that room.

As much as I would have liked to like is hotel, it didn't serve its purpose of providing a comfortable night's rest!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Treddd,

Thank you very much for your review and for the feedback regarding the noise in the room you stayed in.

Due to some comments regarding the noise in rooms facing Procuradores´ Street, which is a touristic street full of restaurants and bars, we are improving the sound proof system of those rooms, which are the ones that we have identified that sometimes have noise issues.

By the end of this weekend the complete sound proof system will be changed and that will solve the noise problem in those rooms.

Once again Tredd, thank you for your feedback, and we strongly apologize if you did not sleep well that night in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity of serving you again at Tierra Viva very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for one night in March 2013.

The hotel is in a great location and the staff were friendly and helpful. The free collection from the airport was also great.

On arrival at the hotel the only allocated room was one with no external windows, only looking onto an internal roofed courtyard that is used for breakfast and as lounge. We changed rooms to a twin overlooking procuradores (the street next to the hotel). Despite double glazing and shutters this was extremely noisy and during the night we had to change rooms as it was not possible to sleep in that room. I've never even considered changing rooms because of noise before and never usually have trouble sleeping and wasn't jet lagged but this really is noisy!

The hotel is nice but definitely don't get a room overlooking Procuradores!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear HL001,

Thank you very much for your review and for the feedback regarding the noise in the room you stayed in.

Due to some comments regarding the noise in rooms facing Procuradores´ Street, which is a touristic street full of restaurants and bars, we are improving the sound proof system of those rooms, which are the ones that we have identified that sometimes have noise issues.

By the end of this weekend the complete sound proof system will be changed and that will solve the noise problem in those rooms.

Once again HL001, thank you for your feedback, and we strongly apologize if you did not sleep well that night in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity of serving you again at Tierra Viva very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel was perfect for our stay at Cusco. Very confortable, clean, with very helpful and pleasant staff. I´d definetly recommend this to my family and friends. The chocolate candy placed every afternoon at our beds and free bottles of water placed at the room every day were a great surprise. The location is also excelent. Very close to Plaza de Armas, but not that close to be nosy at night.

Room Tip: We asked the hotel for a silent room, not close to the street entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Claraabud,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment about our hotel and for considering us a “Perfect Hotel”
Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again, at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Tierra Viva is a relatively luxurious hotel very near Cusco Plaza. The rooms are small but modern decor and very nice bathrooms. Our room had a large jacuzzi tub and plenty of hot water. The service is very good, staff is very professional and helpful. There is a nice enclosed atrium area for lounging. The free breakfast included scrambled eggs, chorizo, tamales, cereals, yogurts, fruits, a variety of breads and fresh juices. The dining room is very nice. There is free wi-fi and a bank of computers for your use. The only drawback is that there are 4 levels and no elevator. The lobby is on the 4th floor and breakfast is on the 1st floor. The road leading to the hotel is steep and so are the steps getting into the lobby. This would not be a good choice if you have mobility issues. Otherwise, a good value for the $110 price I paid.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Kansasbird,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment about our hotel.

We hope to have you again, at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza for 5 nights in late January. It is a small hotel literally just a few steps away from the Plaza de Armas. The location is really as good as it gets. The hotel is inexpensive, but you wouldn't know it from the high level of service you get. When you arrive in Cusco, a welcoming airport pickup is included as part of the hotel package. By the time you get to the hotel, you may feel a little winded, light-headed, possibly even with heart racing, as a result of the high Andean altitude. Not to worry -- the hotel provides an endless supply of free coca tea and tea leaves, which really help you through the rough spots. Also, for such a small hotel (only ~20 rooms), Tierra Viva has a surprising amount of open "comfort" space: cozy couches and chairs in multiple lobbies, as well as a beautiful terrace that overlooks the city, where you can just sit and relax, while you sip your tea and adjust to the altitude. I've been in hotels 10x the size with less space in the shared area, so this was an extremely welcome surprise. Especially when traveling with friends, I find these open areas to be extremely underrated... you need a place where you can just chill out, and Tierra Viva provides it. The breakfast -- also included -- is excellent. What's amazing is it is provided for several hours a day, in a small hotel with only 20 guest rooms, and yet it is still so plentiful... eggs, breads and rolls, sausage or bacon, cereals, tons of fresh fruit and juices, and coffee... very impressive. They also have a free business center which will be important for some travelers.

My room was very nice, quite a good value, and it had all the things I needed. One issue that I'd like to mention is the size of the bed... I'm 6'2", and unfortunately, the "queen size" bed that I was expecting wasn't really queen size, at least the way I understand the term in the USA... I know this because I didn't really fit on the bed. So I slept diagonally. I can't really complain, because otherwise, the room was very comfortable. Housekeeping comes twice a day, and leaves a chocolate on your pillow before bedtime, a nice touch that I did not forget. Laundry services are very reasonably priced, another pleasant surprise.

The staff at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza is especially helpful and nice. They really help to make your experience a memorable one. They also help make suggestions and even to plan and set up your trip beyond Cusco proper, into the Sacred Valley and then on to Machu Picchu. It is now February, and I'm back at work, and in between tasks, I can't help but think fondly back on those unforgettable hours on the terrace at Tierra Viva, sipping coca tea and looking down at the plaza in the morning sun. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Going up and down several flights of stairs every day will be extremely difficult cardiovascularly f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Craig B,

Thank you so much for writing such a nice words about our hotel and for highly recommending Tierra Viva to the rest of travelers.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I was happy to stay at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza.

Nice, clean, corteous and perfectly located close to Plaza de Armas.

The room food service is catered from an outside restaurant and is delicious. We tried pizza and also local food.

You will for sure enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Mauro C,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and we hope to see you again very soon at any of our hotels.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Address: Calle Suecia 345, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Brituvian Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cusco
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#13 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza owes its name to the nearby “Plaza de Armas” of Cuzco. It is located only 15 meters from the square via a cobblestone street which separates downtown from the beautiful colonial house in which this stunning hotel is located.Steeped in history, this colonial house once served as home to the family of the Spanish conqueror Francisco Pizarro.This beautiful historic building has 20 comfortable rooms and a rest area consisting of a dream patio with wood veneers, illuminated by a beautiful dome that captures the most beautiful sunrises of Cuzco offering magical nights of relaxation.Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza offers a place to rest, and is the ideal place to start and recover from the wonders of a day exploring the magical city of Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.