We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Save Saved
You added Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Suecia 345, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Brituvian Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel was perfect for our stay at Cusco. Very confortable, clean, with very helpful and pleasant staff. I´d definetly recommend this to my family and friends. The chocolate candy placed every afternoon at our beds and free bottles of water placed at the room every day were a great surprise. The location is also excelent. Very close to Plaza de Armas, but not that close to be nosy at night.

Room Tip: We asked the hotel for a silent room, not close to the street entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Claraabud,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment about our hotel and for considering us a “Perfect Hotel”
Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again, at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    164
    26
    8
    7
See reviews for
90
330
59
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kansas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Tierra Viva is a relatively luxurious hotel very near Cusco Plaza. The rooms are small but modern decor and very nice bathrooms. Our room had a large jacuzzi tub and plenty of hot water. The service is very good, staff is very professional and helpful. There is a nice enclosed atrium area for lounging. The free breakfast included scrambled eggs, chorizo, tamales, cereals, yogurts, fruits, a variety of breads and fresh juices. The dining room is very nice. There is free wi-fi and a bank of computers for your use. The only drawback is that there are 4 levels and no elevator. The lobby is on the 4th floor and breakfast is on the 1st floor. The road leading to the hotel is steep and so are the steps getting into the lobby. This would not be a good choice if you have mobility issues. Otherwise, a good value for the $110 price I paid.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Kansasbird,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment about our hotel.

We hope to have you again, at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza for 5 nights in late January. It is a small hotel literally just a few steps away from the Plaza de Armas. The location is really as good as it gets. The hotel is inexpensive, but you wouldn't know it from the high level of service you get. When you arrive in Cusco, a welcoming airport pickup is included as part of the hotel package. By the time you get to the hotel, you may feel a little winded, light-headed, possibly even with heart racing, as a result of the high Andean altitude. Not to worry -- the hotel provides an endless supply of free coca tea and tea leaves, which really help you through the rough spots. Also, for such a small hotel (only ~20 rooms), Tierra Viva has a surprising amount of open "comfort" space: cozy couches and chairs in multiple lobbies, as well as a beautiful terrace that overlooks the city, where you can just sit and relax, while you sip your tea and adjust to the altitude. I've been in hotels 10x the size with less space in the shared area, so this was an extremely welcome surprise. Especially when traveling with friends, I find these open areas to be extremely underrated... you need a place where you can just chill out, and Tierra Viva provides it. The breakfast -- also included -- is excellent. What's amazing is it is provided for several hours a day, in a small hotel with only 20 guest rooms, and yet it is still so plentiful... eggs, breads and rolls, sausage or bacon, cereals, tons of fresh fruit and juices, and coffee... very impressive. They also have a free business center which will be important for some travelers.

My room was very nice, quite a good value, and it had all the things I needed. One issue that I'd like to mention is the size of the bed... I'm 6'2", and unfortunately, the "queen size" bed that I was expecting wasn't really queen size, at least the way I understand the term in the USA... I know this because I didn't really fit on the bed. So I slept diagonally. I can't really complain, because otherwise, the room was very comfortable. Housekeeping comes twice a day, and leaves a chocolate on your pillow before bedtime, a nice touch that I did not forget. Laundry services are very reasonably priced, another pleasant surprise.

The staff at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza is especially helpful and nice. They really help to make your experience a memorable one. They also help make suggestions and even to plan and set up your trip beyond Cusco proper, into the Sacred Valley and then on to Machu Picchu. It is now February, and I'm back at work, and in between tasks, I can't help but think fondly back on those unforgettable hours on the terrace at Tierra Viva, sipping coca tea and looking down at the plaza in the morning sun. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Going up and down several flights of stairs every day will be extremely difficult cardiovascularly f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Craig B,

Thank you so much for writing such a nice words about our hotel and for highly recommending Tierra Viva to the rest of travelers.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I was happy to stay at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza.

Nice, clean, corteous and perfectly located close to Plaza de Armas.

The room food service is catered from an outside restaurant and is delicious. We tried pizza and also local food.

You will for sure enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Mauro C,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and we hope to see you again very soon at any of our hotels.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, tucked away, just around the corner from the main square. Reception staff were friendly and there was a lovely terrace where you could sip the coca tea that was supplied by the hotel. Breakfast was quite good.
The room was decorated with red rose petals, which was a lovely touch as we were on our honeymoon. I had booked a standard room and regretted not having booked a larger room because there is under floor heating in the bathroom. That was great but because it was such a small room we were boiling and there was a window out to a shared courtyard, so couldn't have that open. Hot and stifling.

Room Tip: Don't choose a standard room, upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear ScarletDublin,

Thank you for your comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.
In all our hotels, we have 4 types of rooms: Individual, Double, Superior Double and Suites.

We hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future and that you can try a different room in your next stay with us.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I chose to stay at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza based on the great reviews we'd read on TripAdvisor, and the reviews were spot on. When we arrived at Cusco airport, a friendly gentleman was waiting for us with our name on a sign, and promptly put us in a taxi to the hotel (free transfer courtesy of Tierra Viva). The location can't be beat - less than a block off the Plaza de Armas, close to restaurants, shopping, etc. We arrived before check-in, but they had a room ready for us in less than an hour. We waited in the comfortable lobby area, where there was free wi-fi and hot coca tea to help us adjust to the altitude.

We stayed four nights, two on either side of a Machu Picchu trek (we highly recommend Alpaca Expeditions - awesome MP and Sacred Valley tours!!). Our first room was clean, quiet, and nicely decorated with wi-fi, flatscreen TV, plug-in heater, giant whirlpool tub, and "fancy" soap and lotion provided. Since the room was in the basement, there was no daylight, but it did have a one-way window into the interior courtyard. The room was a little small, but there was a closet and safe to store your bags. Plugs fit US and Euro plugs, so we didn't even need our adapter.

We were able to leave our bags at the hotel while we went to Machu Picchu, and they were waiting in our new room when we returned. We liked our second room better, on the second floor. The Peruvian decorations were beautiful and we had a small balcony above some shops on the back side of the hotel (potentially could be noisy but we were not bothered). There were two chairs and a small table... probably not big enough for two people to sit comfortably but really cute and nice to get some fresh air and sip coffee/tea in the morning. TV, wi-fi, desk, heater, and glass shower (no tub) in this room.

Overall, the service was excellent at Tierra Viva. Everyone was friendly, from the front desk to the kitchen and housekeeping staff. The free buffet breakfast was a nice perk... cereals, fruit, brewed coffee, tea, meat, eggs, etc. There were two computers available for guests to use, and we were also able to print boarding passes. Check-in and check-out were a breeze, and reception arranged a taxi to take us back to the airport (~ S/.10). We felt the hotel was a good value for the price we paid... much better than any place you'd find in a big US city.

Thank you Tierra Viva for an excellent stay! What a wonderful welcome to Peru... we hope to return the beautiful city of Cusco someday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Henderbagels,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for explaining in detail your experience a Tierra Viva.

We are so glad that you enjoyed that much your stay at our hotel, and we hope to have you again with in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our room on the third floor was small but well appointed with modern decor, very comfortable bed and big bathroom. Loved the whirlpool tub and free wifi. Outstanding breakfast buffet. Staff was very helpful and offered free taxi transfer to the airport.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room on the interior courtyard. There will be some morning noise from e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear wennichnur,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for highlighting some of the hotel features.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Address: Calle Suecia 345, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Brituvian Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#13 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza owes its name to the nearby “Plaza de Armas” of Cuzco. It is located only 15 meters from the square via a cobblestone street which separates downtown from the beautiful colonial house in which this stunning hotel is located.Steeped in history, this colonial house once served as home to the family of the Spanish conqueror Francisco Pizarro.This beautiful historic building has 20 comfortable rooms and a rest area consisting of a dream patio with wood veneers, illuminated by a beautiful dome that captures the most beautiful sunrises of Cuzco offering magical nights of relaxation.Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza offers a place to rest, and is the ideal place to start and recover from the wonders of a day exploring the magical city of Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.