We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel cusco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Save Saved
You added Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Suecia 345, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Brituvian Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 143 hotels in Cusco
perth
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“hotel cusco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

the hotel is part of a new chain called tierra viva. they have hotels all around. this particular one is brand new 3 months old. it is in an old inca building and has been remodelled to suit. the design is very good and interesting. the staff are great always ready to help. it is very clean with all the mod cons wifi cable tv etc... the location is perfect very closed to all the attractions. the only thing i think might be a problem is that there is no phonic insulation, so you hear everything and being and old building full of courtyard it echoes quite a bit. the other challenge for the management will be to be able to maintain such a good standard over time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear DidierV,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for sharing your Tierra Viva´s experience with the rest of travelers.

As you have stated in your review, we are a new hotel chain with hotels in Cusco, Arequipa, Puno and very soon in Lima.

Once again thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again, at any of our hotels, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    415
    155
    26
    8
    7
See reviews for
85
314
53
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney,Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Tierra Viva hotel was perfectly located just metres from the Plaza des Armes but very quiet and comfortable. It is an intimate boutique hotel, with a delightful view across the tiled roofs of Cusco from the upstairs lounge. The room and bathroom were comfortable and well equipped and very quiet at night. You rarely encounter your fellow guests except at the breakfast buffet, which is pleasant and ample. It is very central to the museums and restaurants of Cusco. The hotel includes airport pick-up in its tariff which is welcome. The staff were helpful and arranged cabs to and from the railway. Late at night on our return from Machu Picchu it was great to have someone waiting for us. The interior courtyard lounge is a charming spot for a quiet beer!

Room Tip: The rooms appeared consistent across the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear MacSydney_Australia,

Thank you so much for your excellent review about our hotel and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with the rest of travelers.

Once again, many thanks, and we hope to see you again at any of our hotels very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A friend and I stayed 3 separate nights each at this hotel. Its a quick walk down the tiny side streets to the beautiful plaza. Restaurants surround the hotel for blocks. The hotel staff is very accommodating. Excellent at assisting with bags if needed, arranging transport, even finding a cell phone left in a cab.
The rooms...Understand that this hotel, like most in the area, is built in what must be an ancient building. That requires some ingenuity on the part of the hotel owner. I stayed in 3 completely different rooms, each very unique and comfortable. Soft, warm beds, excellent towels and bath items. I will say that the room my first night- their base room- was a bit small for my enjoyment. When I mentioned this to the staff on checkout, I was moved to much larger rooms for other nights I stayed. Again, excellent service.

Room Tip: I feel like every room there is different. Ask to see a couple, the rates are not significantly more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at Tierra Viva with my boyfriend for 4 days this month. What a lovely hotel! super cute and great location right off the center square of Cusco. The room was very clean and comfortable. The only negative about our room was the actual location of the room- ours faced a very busy nightlife spot in Cusco so you could here people partying and bands playing etc. so if you can't stand noise request an interior room or one facing the front of the hotel (we weren't really bothered by it). The breakfast was very fresh as well. Also our driver who picked us up fronthe airport was wonderful! Jesus helped us plan our Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu trips, he did everything at a very reasonable price, very organized. overall LOVED this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear mmhele,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for sharing your Tierra Viva´s experience with the rest of travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to see you again very soon at any of our hotels.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This place was so great! we loved our stay here, very warm and cosy, staff were lovely, food was good, bed was comfortable and room was well decorated. It was a lovely little boutique on a quiet street very close to the main square with many shops and restaurants, location was perfect. The hotel had a beautiful little terrace with great views and was fun to explore, many little passageways and staircases- all underground. They had a fire when we stayed, it was nice to sit in front of the fire after a hard day. We loved it and would definitely return. The free pick-up from the airport was also nice- good to know someone is waiting for you rather than fighting the taxi drivers away and knowing you will be ripped off.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear freya t,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva wth the rest of travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to see you again very soon at any Tierra Viva Hotel.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I had a really nice/great experience! Everyone that I encountered that worked at the hotel were all wonderful, thoughtful & very helpful! The hotel was very clean and the rooms, albeit small in size, were comfortable and clean which was important to me. I was in room 102 which seemed at first like its way down in the "basement" but it actually worked out because it was nice and quite.

The hotel is located very close to the Plaza of Arms... its actually not facing the Plaza but found on a small side street that is less than a 3 min walk to the Plaza where all the restaurants are located. The street is not scary at all... As a women traveling alone, I always felt safe but of course like in any place in the world you always have to be aware.

The staff was always beyond helpful and I can't thank them enough for being so thoughtful and making my first traveling alone experience great! Janette, Juvenile, Miguel, Flor and el senor Abram and anyone else I am forgetting (si me recuerdo bien) muchas gracias por ser tan amable conmigo que pase un tiempo inolvidable en su hermoso Cusco!

Overall I really recommend this hotel. I spent Dec30-Jan3 in Cusco and completely fall in love with the city & the people!

Room Tip: Because Cusco is 12,000 ft having a room on the first floor... lobby is on the 4th... was harder tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Excellent little hotel with fantastic customer service.The rooms were very nice but the best part was the location next to the main square. There was limited facilities but you are here to see Cusco , and enjoy the sights and sounds of the city.

The only reson for not giving 5 was the fact that there was little in the way of soundproofing.in Dec it got a little hot in the rooms and the windows faced into the hallway, so you kept them closed unless you didnt mind noise.Even closed you could hear thing in the hallway and outside the building. So until 12am the rooms were a little hot and then they would cool down as the temperatures dropped.

However- we would definitely stay here again if we returned to cusco

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear mmsaf,

Thank your comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

We hope to have you again, in any of our hotels, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Address: Calle Suecia 345, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Brituvian Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#12 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza owes its name to the nearby “Plaza de Armas” of Cuzco. It is located only 15 meters from the square via a cobblestone street which separates downtown from the beautiful colonial house in which this stunning hotel is located.Steeped in history, this colonial house once served as home to the family of the Spanish conqueror Francisco Pizarro.This beautiful historic building has 20 comfortable rooms and a rest area consisting of a dream patio with wood veneers, illuminated by a beautiful dome that captures the most beautiful sunrises of Cuzco offering magical nights of relaxation.Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza offers a place to rest, and is the ideal place to start and recover from the wonders of a day exploring the magical city of Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.