We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to the Sacred Valley and Cusco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida San Juan de Dios 255 | Centro Historico, Cusco 84, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 147 Hotels in Cusco
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Trip to the Sacred Valley and Cusco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is an excellent hotel set in the historic district of Cusco. It's set in a renovated historical building form colonial times. The staff is extremely helpful in every way. They kept our luggage while we were away for two nights in the Sacred Valley and Machu Pichu and also allowed us a late check out time to accommodate our flight. The breakfast was excellent - a very important factor for us. We would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms seem to be easier to access. We stayed in two different rooms - one on the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco G, Gerente at Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Marian I,
Thank you first of all for the time invested in giving us your feedback about your stay.
We are trully glad to see that you had a nice stay with us and a great overall experience in Cusco, and that is our goal, create great travel experiences.
We were able to read that you appreciate the service offered by the staff and the breakfast variety, we are very happy to see that our efforts are giving very good results with our guests, there is nothing better in the hospotality industry than receiving good feedbacks, and the whole staff would like to thank you for this oppotunity to assist you in the best way.
Receive our sincere greetings and best wishes, count on us for further tripsto Perú.
Sincerely,
Franco Gotuzzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    92
    28
    6
    6
See reviews for
96
245
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed as a group in this hotel a couple of weeks ago. I wrote a review on their Sacred Valley hotel so I am just reposting most of it here.

At the property at Cusco, the shower head had multiple sprouts as well but same frosted glass door directly into the room! So I can see a silhouette of my roommate moving around.

At the property in the Sacred Valley, it is actually very nice with a lagoon, swimming pool and a questionable hot tub just outside the bar and restaurant area. It looks like some of the rooms are in the old Hacienda and some are in the newer buildings. I liked the bathroom with a rain shower head, double Jacuzzi bath tub, and a separate washing closet. However, I think this was designed more for a romantic stay for couples because the WC had a frosted glass door; so I am not sure how the sound travels within the room!

A few major issues in operations that really flawed such a nice hotel!

1. We were two men staying in the same room with a group and requested separate beds. The first room assigned to us was a single Kings' bed. So we asked to change to a new room, which did not have wifi. Finally, after an hour, we were switched to a third room where my nightstand had previously fallen out from its sockets and was just pushed back in!

2. No one at the reception seems to know that the "hot tub" outside the bar was not heated! It was supposed to be filled with a lukewarm hot spring from the mountain. We were finally told by the bar keep about this and he was very nice to bring us towels etc.

3. Dinner was included in their restaurant. Our first night there was fine, but it was very clear that the 2nd night was way understaffed and the service was very slow.

4. I tried to break S/100 at the reception and was told that they don't have enough change. Seriously, how else can I tip your staff!

5. We left to hike one of the Inca trails, and our big bags were supposed to be transferred to their sister hotel in Cusco in 5 days. Although it is my understanding that the tour company was supposed to do the actual transfer, but no body at either hotel seems to know that no one picked up our bags and transferred them properly! When we checked in at the Cusco hotel, we were specifically told that our bags were delivered to our rooms. But of course, they were not. It took a few hours for them to sort things out and we finally received our bags.

6. Finally, the wifi at the Cusco hotel did not work and they first blamed our devices and then their internet provider. Guess what buddy! I don't care who provides the internet. If you promised to have wifi, go fix it and stop blaming other people! No one at the hotel seems to want to take responsibilities!

As my Norwegian roommate says during the whole stay: this is a "Shix hotel"!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco G, Gerente at Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Al S,
Thank you first of all for your time to give us the feedback of your stay.
We are very sad about your comments due to the problems in the Hotel, problems that we are going to fix inmediately dear sir, beacuse things must work perfectly, and specially in a 5 star Hotel, and did not happened like this, so we are to put all our attention in service and in the Wifi problem specially.
And indeed excuses does not matter when somebody has a problem, the only thing that matters are solutions, blaming a third part is not correct, and i am taking responsability for this, that i am also going to correct personally today.
Please excuse us sincerely for all this inconvenients in our Cusco Boutique property, we are comitted to correct all this points from now.
Received our best wishes and hope that you finally had a good experience in Cusco.
Best regards from Cusco.
Sincerely,
Franco Gotuzzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

this was a great place to stay. it was beautiful and the location is great. the service was consistently amazing - we needed oxygen at 4am and the staff was quick to bring it to us! I couldn't recommend this place more!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco G, Gerente at Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear sfm 123,
Thank you first of all for your time invested on your feedback for us, we appreciate a lot the effort for this item.
We read daily the reviews and we are very happy when we see a high overall satisfaction of our guests in the Hotel, specially with the service, point where we put all of our efforts.
Thank you also for your preference for your trip to Cusco, count on us for your further trips due to the fact that we have Hotels in the Norht, Center and south of the country.
Receive our best wishes,
Sincerely,
Franco Gotuzzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The layout of the hotel is unique as it is an renovated mansion, antiques throughout the hotel. Our room was somewhat small. The restaurant was good and the service great. THe location of the hotel is off the main square and up the hill (which took your breath away). The rooms have an oxygen system to help guests to adjust to the altitudes. Staff was very professional.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco G, Gerente at Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear marcia 0254,
Thank you first of all for your time in giving us your feedback about your stay with us.
We are really glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and had a good experience in Cusco.
Indeed some of our rooms are small, and we are working on that, but still beautifull and with complementary oxygen sistem included as well as heating floors.
We hope to have you back again in the Hotel and show you some improvements in our facilities.
Receive our best wishes, and thank you for your preference,
Sincerely,
Franco Gotuzzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a junior suite in this lovely renovated mansion hotel,
The room and hotel staff were wonderful. My husband got sick during our stay and the staff was great! They couldn't do enough. Even one of the waiters in the dining room during breakfast decided to make my husband some soothing tea to help and brought it to our room.
The hotel is not your standard hotel, and the character of the building and rooms are superb.
We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco G, Gerente at Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Paksey,
We would like to thank you for your time in giving us your feedback about your stay with us.
Daily the staff and i read the Guest Commnents on this page and we are very happy when we achieve our goal, which is superb service, honest and trully dedicated to our guests.
Service in our philosophy is what guests need the most when they travel and area outside their homes, cause in any case you only count on us for anything you might need, and we should be the best support for you, and we want you to be able to count on us.
Also is great to see that you appreciate the fact that our Mansion history is very important in a trip, and we want to be a part of this experience.
Count on us for anything you need in further trips to Perú.
Best wishes from all the staff,
Sincerely,
Franco Gotuzzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were very happy with our stay. The hotel is located within walking distance of the main square and is in a very safe location. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast in the morning was more than adequate. We were very pleased with our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco G, Gerente at Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear ADG 1234,
Thank first of all for your time in giving us your feedback about your stay.
We are very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you appreciate the service offered in the Hotel.
We will be very happy to see you again here among us.
Thank you for your preference and count on us for your further trips to Perú.
Best wishes from all the staff
Sincerely,
Franco Gotuzzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
551 helpful votes 551 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

It was a brand new hotel with amazing deluxe features. This was a best value hotel based on its amenities, great service and excellent location, two blocks from Cusco’s main square. The property is a converted 16th century house, which gave it a special atmosphere. Rooms are well equipped and clean; they have an oxygen system to help guests to adjust to the altitudes, which is really useful against ill effects from “soroche” (altitude sickness). Beds were very comfortable and they had fluffy pillows. Bathroom was awesome! It had marble details, Jacuzzi, shower, floor heating system, so that you can walk without feeling the cold on your feet. It is actually a great invention! In the bathroom you can also find excellent organic bath products. I personally really enjoyed the Jacuzzi after our daily excursions around the city and Sacred Valley. Even if the property is in the heart of Cusco, I can actually say that the rooms were very quiet and we slept without problems. The breakfast buffet was various, with a good selection of fresh fruits, coffee/tea, bakery and corn flakes. Staff was very professional, attentive and kind. They also arranged a private trip to Sacred Valley for me and my wife!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco G, Gerente at Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear PSchicke,
Thank you first of all for your time in giving us your feedback about your stay with us.
We really appreciate honest comments cause they help us to improve and get better at every opportunity, we read gladly the comment cause you finished your stay satisfied with the product and service given by the Hotel Team.
We wold like you to know that you count with the entire hotel staff for every trip you want to make to Perú in our 5 destinations.
Receive our sincere greetings and best wishes,
Sincerely,
Franco Gotuzzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel

Address: Avenida San Juan de Dios 255 | Centro Historico, Cusco 84, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 147 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury in the heart of the Inca city. Built on a completely restored 16th century manor. 43 oxygenated rooms, each with a unique feel and architecture surround the elaborate courtyards and lush inner gardens. Mestizo restaurant and tapas bar complete the gastronomic offer. Antique paintings from the Cuzco School, colonial carvings and sculptures with high cultural value line up the corridors, encompassing a design that brings back its grandeur and lets history speak for itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.