We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights at the Aranwa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida San Juan de Dios 255 | Centro Historico, Cusco 84, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“3 nights at the Aranwa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Lovely feel to the hotel. Orignal Spanish art and pieces dotted around. Staff helpful and nice. Stayed 2 nights as a couple and one night on my own, excellent both times. Very handy for the main square. No street noise in rooms. Functional interent and business centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco G, Gerente at Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear 702cba,
Thank you in advanced for the time you took to give us your feedback.
We are very glad to read that you had a nice stay among us, the staff and i are very happy each time we read a satisfied guest review, we are very commited to create the best overall experiences we can and be able to prouve that our guests leaves the Hotel satisfaid.
Receive our sincere greetings, and best wishes,
Thank you for your preference,
Franco Gotuzzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    84
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
86
225
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This hotel has everything and more. The rooms are well-appointed, clean, quiet and secure. The food is 5 star, perfectly cooked and presented. I tried lomo saltado 3 times in different places - Aranwa's is by far the best version.

Breakfast is fresh and delicious. Staff are extremely friendly, genuinely helpful and seem to enjoy doing what they do from the housekeepers upwards.

Location is great - close to all things a tourist might want to see/do.

I stayed in 3 hotels in Cusco - don't ask...it's a boring story involving overbooking (not anything to do with Aranwa) - and despite the other 2 being 4 star and Aranwa being 5 star - the difference between the Aranwa and the others was significant. There is no comparudon. Aranwa is in a league of its own. Well done to the managers who drive the staff to excel in their chisen roles and thank you for the experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco G, Gerente at Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Lisal88,
We appreciate a lot the time you took to give us a feedback about your stay.
Specially we are very glad about the fact that you had a wonderfull experience in general, overall experiences of our guests are our goals, create very good overall satisfaction is our way to messure our performance and our product, and we work very hard our service.
Thank you for your preference, time for your feedback and lovely words for the team.
Receive our most sincere greetings and count on us for your further trips to Perú.
Sincerely,
Franco Gotuzzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Hotel is in a great location and is very nicely done. It is a converted 16th century hacienda so it feels very mid-evil, you may like that? Me, I prefer modern with old world flare. The rooms are ample and actually have beds which seems bigger than an American King. The bathroom was large and nicely appointed, the shower was over done with 4 different shower heads on walls and ceiling. It was hard to figure out how to get it all working while in a mindset of I just need a shower after a long day of walking and sweating. We personally prefer more "action" in lobby and restaurant. A place to people watch and engage fellow travelers in conversation. During our stay the place was dead and no one ate at the hotel restaurant, which is supposed to be good. After doing a reconnaissance for our next trip to Peru... I would reccomend these two places instead, however this hotel was perfectly nice. Belmond Hotel Monasterio has grounds that are awesome and lots of space or JW Marriott Cusco has more modern amenties.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco G, Gerente at Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear NofearEngineer,
Thank you for the time you took to give su your feedback.
We read your comments and we are very glad to see that you had a great experience in Cusco and in our property, our goal is to help customers as a bridge to reach the Total Satisfaction on your trip.
We work very hard our service standards and added values to make sure you are gonna have a nice stay.
Restaurant is indeed not always full beacue the most interesting thing for guests is to visit outisde places, as can be museums, restaurants and historic places.
Newly receive our thankful words and greetings from all staff.
Sincerely,
Franco Gotuzzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We chose the Aranwa because of its location and the fact that the rooms are oxygenated. When we arrived we were surprised by the beauty and charm of the facility built in the late 16th century. The room was exquisitely appointed and the bath came with a Jacuzzi and heated tile floor. We have seldom stayed at a nicer facility. The front desk personnel were very helpful and professional during check in as was the restaurant staff at dinner and breakfast. Late in the evening my wife developed altitude sickness which wasn’t alleviated by the room oxygenation so we asked the front desk for the portable oxygen tank which was delivered promptly and at no addition cost (unlike most Cusco hotels!). What most impressed me however was the large collection of 16th and 17th century art, crafts and furniture displayed in the hotel hallways. As far as I can remember this is the only hotel where I took photos along the corridors—as if I were in a museum. We will definitely seek out the Aranwa during our next trip to Peru and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco G, Gerente at Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear SocalMember,
Thank you in advanced for your time and feedback about your stay in our property.
We appreciate a lot the feedbacks we receive beacuse it's our best way to mesure our performance on Hospitality Industry.
Our effort have only one goal wich is Customer Satisfaction, we try to create great travel experiences in Cusco and in our Hotel, and when we read comments like yours we are able to prouve that we are on the good way to customer satisfaction.
Newly receive our sincere greetings and thankful words for your time and preference.
Whatever you need to help you with your next stays in Perú please don't hesitate to contact us to do the Concierge Service you need.
Sincerely,
Franco Gotuzzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I beautiful hotel, furnished colonial style yet modern facilities. Good value, good breakfact, good dinner selection. Great location: it is located 3 minutes away from Plaza de Armas. The service was great, friendly stuff made a real effort to make my stay pleasant and enjoyable. They were very helpful when my tour company failed to pick me up for my MatchuPichu tour.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco G, Gerente at Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear ZehavaF,
Thank you for your comments about your stay in our Hotel.
So nice to read that you enjoyed it and that you find a very good service in your stay.
Our goal is to create very good remembers of your stay in Cusco, due to the fact that trips to Cusco are once or twice in a lifetime.
Thank you again for your honest feedback, that is always useful to keep growing as a unit.
Sincerely,
Franco Gotuzzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The Hotel itself is in a very old building but has been renovated to a very high standard, we found it to be a bit of a Maze, our large group was dropped at the rear entrance as the bus couldnt enter the street the front entrance was on. It was a winding path through to reception, no problem here just added to the character of the Hotel.
breakfast served in a Dining area that overflows into wide passageways, again not an issue it all adds to the style and character of the Hotel.
Rooms have Oxygen available which really is a good idea at this altitude as many people take a bit of time to adjust.
Hotel offers free WiFi which is excellent.
What we didn't like was, a) the VERY VERY HARD BED we really felt like we were sleeping on a board. Bed was a bit too hard. and b) the Crazy shower setup, several knobs and tap handles, water comes from the Ceiling and the wall and its quite hard to turn it on get the water flowing correctly without getting hit by COLD water first.
Location of the hotel is good, its only a couple of blocks to the main square,
Staff of excellent quality and service First class.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco G, Gerente at Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Wayne S,
Thank you in advance for your feedback and the time you took for this purpose.
In fact showers are hard to set up, several knobs difficult the use of the shower, we are aware of that and try to give some help to guests, but not easy when you want to go to the shower normally we don't call for help to set up something that should be easy.
Thank you also for your comment about our service, we work very hard to try to give an excellent standard of service, genuine and honest specially.
Hoping you had a nice experience in Cusco, please count on us for whatever you need in Perú.
Sincerely,
Franco Gotuzzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This was our starting hotel in Peru. I picked it because it had oxygen in the room at night which really helps with the adjustment to high altitude. We booked through Expedia and received an excellent rate for this quality of hotel so the overall value was terrific. The location is only a couple of blocks from the main square in Cusco so it is perfect for walking around.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco G, Gerente at Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear JLG3000,
Thank you for your feedback about your stay first of all.
Indeed besides the Service Excellence wich we work in first place, also we try to give as much added values as we can, for example Oxygen is free 24 hours in rooms, but also in Lobby or Public Areas by supplying it with Oxygen Tanks, we also extend our breakfast until 11:30am, so guests can wake up late and don´t have to bother with an ending sharp time.
Complementary Fruits and Teas are also served in lobby 24 hours a day.
So nice to see you enjoyed your trip in Cusco and you had a nice stay in our Hotel.
Thank you for your preference.
Sincerely,
Franco Gotuzzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel

Address: Avenida San Juan de Dios 255 | Centro Historico, Cusco 84, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury in the heart of the Inca city. Built on a completely restored 16th century manor. 43 oxygenated rooms, each with a unique feel and architecture surround the elaborate courtyards and lush inner gardens. Mestizo restaurant and tapas bar complete the gastronomic offer. Antique paintings from the Cuzco School, colonial carvings and sculptures with high cultural value line up the corridors, encompassing a design that brings back its grandeur and lets history speak for itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.