We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was Ok, freshness of food is questionable!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maikhana

Maikhana
Av. El Sol 106 | 2nd floor, Cusco, Peru
51-84-252044
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #224 of 423 Restaurants in Cusco
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
redmond
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Food was Ok, freshness of food is questionable!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Background - I am Indian, and do know a bit about authentic Indian food.

Good things first - The chappathis and parathas (types of bread) are awesome, authentic. The chappathi is as original as it can be [These are the phulkas made in North India, and they are cooked in direct flame by an awesome North Indian here] and are really well made.

All the bad things now - The freshness of the actual buffet is questionable. In Peru, most restaurants serve fresh food. I went there for dinner buffer once, and went for lunch the next day. I saw the exact same menu and I have serious doubts on the freshness of the food. The food did not appear fresh atleast to my eyes.

Also the restaurant owner lady was a bit greedy which is sad. we wanted to take some food for parcel (to-go). We only wanted a portion of a single dish in the buffet, she charged it for the price of the entire buffet [The buffet has 10 dishes]. Also she was very rude when we asked for the parcel (to-go), as she mentioned she does not do take-aways. We had to repeatedly plead and beg for the parcel as we were out of time and about to catch a flight from cusco to Puno, and Puno was a place where we will not have many veggie options. Usually I found most other restaurant owners to be understanding but not this one.

Bottomline - There are many other awesome veggie places in cusco like Prasada (near Jacks café), Govinda etc. Go here only if you are craving for Indian food, but don't expect great dishes here. Only the chappathis and Parathas are really good, rest are ordinary.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    26
    7
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
B'ham
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

After weeks of travelling South America we were desperate for something with a bit of spice.
We came across this Indian by accident and were not disappointed.
15 soles each for as much as you can eat with unlimited bottled water.
Not masses of choice and quite salty but still good value and tasty.
Would definitely recommend.
On corner of Av Sol and upstairs within Galerias La Merced

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“sick for 5 days”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

i was SICK for five days .The buffet was not hot i asked to warm my plate in the microwave...
the next day i was going to machu pichu i could not go because fever vomiting an diarea.
i had diarea for five day . don't eat there because it's not fresh
how can you seve a buffet with all you can eat for five us dollars....solution : never change the food...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Budget travellers should be delighted.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

If you are bored of pizza, Mexican and grilled Peruvian food then give this place a try. It isn't great but there is enough variety of flavours to warrant a visit or two.

For 15 soles, you can choose from 5-7 curries. There are two types of rice, several vegetable options, and 3 meat curries. The curries are varied from day to day but usually include chicken, minced lamb and vegetables (the hot curry has a good kick!). Bread is extra, and beers 5 soles a small bottle.

There are a couple of two people tables on two or three balconies that overlook the street below.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“home-cooked fresh food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This little Indian place in Cusco is a bit hard to find, but having the address you will only have to look for the name, and go upstairs, it might look closed from the outside but its not :) ...hopefully.

You will find a buffet there, with some fresh veggies, many vegetarian dishes and around 3 meat dishes. Its definitely fresh and delicious (unless you come very late maybe?). They also offer you free water, so you just grab a plate and help yourself, its a small place, a family run business, but for the price of 15 Soles its a nice change!! I really enjoyed it, delicious pasta dish, a lot of rice, many sauces, really good!!

You can even sit on the "balcony" which is really nice!!! The inside doesnt look too inviting, but its not about the looks right? :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maikhana also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Maikhana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maikhana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.