We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reputation of Hospitality and Comfort is True” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Mama Cusco - 2

Save Saved
You added Casa de Mama Cusco - 2 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa de Mama Cusco - 2
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Av Infancia 548, Cusco, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #23 of 234 Cusco B&B and Inns
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Reputation of Hospitality and Comfort is True”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Although my sister, her 6-year old son, and myself only stayed at Casa de Mama 2 for a day and overnight on our way to Aguas Calientes, Mercedes welcomed us as if we were family.

Mercedes immediately offered us tea to help us adjust to the altitude of Cusco and she provided us with information about taxi rates and various tours to consider.

We had made a late reservation request, but the room Mercedes arranged for us was absolutely perfect for anyone travelling with children as it was very spacious and clean. It was also nice that our keys could open the front security door so that we could come and go as we pleased.

While the location of Casa de Mama 2 is relatively close to the airport and bus terminal, it is quite far from the Plaza de Armas - however catching a 4/5 soles taxi easily solves this inconvenience. I did have a problem connecting with the 3 wi-fi networks provided and this was my one and only smallest concern.

In the 20 days I have been in Peru, I have not met anyone else who blends professionalism and comfort as genuinely as Mercedes does. You can't help but feel like you're at home.

Thank you Mercedes for taking care of me and my family, even if it was ever so brief (:

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercedesCusco, Propietario at Casa de Mama Cusco - 2, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you so much for these words, we were very pleased to meet you and to accomodate you in our home, where the families could find confortable , clean and big rooms with familiar atmosphere and good service and we are happy that you have apreciatted it.
As you know, on rainny days the signal could be weak, now everything is ok! but we would like to apolize with you for the trubles that this situation could disturb your stay.
We invite you to come again in the near future.
Kind regards
Mercedes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    38
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
46
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We booked a stay here through Booking.com and it was a little difficult to find as there is only a front door onto the street. Once you are through the door, the hostel is large. There are communal areas with wifi and a dining area. The owners let us use their fridge to keep our beers and wine cool.
We stayed here for several nights having read that it has a central location. We feel this is a little misleading as its a 15-20 minute walk to the plaza. One other issue was that initially we were shown a room that smelt damp, and the chest of drawers actually had damp in them. The owners did change our room to a much larger one, family room, for no additional cost.
Breakfast is the standard fare - jam, eggs, bread, hot drink. The hostel does run trips. When we asked they quoted a price that was significantly more than the budget, no frills one we actually went on. So check to see why the price is different as the trip run by most tour agencies is pretty poor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We are a young married couple and were looking for a place close to the center and not expensive. I have so many positive things to say about Casa se Mama 2 that I don't even know where to start. I just have to start with Mercedes the owner. She helped us so much! She picked us up at the airport (after waiting for a long time cuz the plane was delayed), got us tickets to Machu Picchu while we couldn't buy them online and they were running out of Wayana Picchu passes, she organized us a stay in her other hotel in Ollantaytambo and transfer, also got us the train tickets to Aguas Calientes, she answered to numerous questions we had about Cusco, and she was simply very nice to us and was taking care of us. We truly felt home!
The place is in a good location, we walked to the historical center every time and never got lost. Place is clean, every morning we had a great breakfast cooked for us (simple but made with love and cariño), no noise, very nice rooms with some small areas outside where we could read and relax. Plus there are some awesome Cevicherias very close to the Casa.
If we are ever back to Cusco we will definitely be staying at Casa de Mama 2 (or maybe 1) :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelling aussies
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Mama Casa 2 is run by really lovely people. It is also a fair distance from Cusco main squares, probably closer to the airport! Much like other reviews have posted, it's easy and cheap enough to get a taxi. In fact, while we initially thought we would move to the centre, we ended up staying here for over a week. Breakfasts are nice enough, the rooms light and airy, hot water usually is hot and there's small shops for basics and a few good places to eat very close by. Downside would have to be the construction work. As i type there is the constant sound of banging and drilling, prompting me to write this review ! It really is ridiculous. We should have been forewarned, and at the least - offered a discount. I should also add, we made this booking via the site 'booking.com' - they list every room at Mama de Casa 2 as having a kitchenette - this was not the case. When we first arrived we were in a double room only, no kitchenette - Mercedes seemed a little upset when we said we expected a kitchen as this was what was on the internet, but this is the fault of booking.com. Still, it would have been nice for her to explain that when we moved to the apartment with the kitchen, it would be accompanied by the constant and loud sound of construction. Still, the apartment really is nice, so we have stayed - afterall, we spend most of the day out - but it is something to consider if you are intending to stay in the near future.

Room Tip: Beware the apartments up the back if coming here any time close to November 2012 as they are adding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercedesCusco, Propietario at Casa de Mama Cusco - 2, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
It is nice to know that you appreciate the good service at Casa de Mama.We offer to our guest the best of us.
As I explained to you we have some standard rooms (without kitchenette) and another superior rooms (with kitchenette) all of them very confortable as you have appreciated, all of them offered this 2 weeks to very special low prices .
We want to apologize with you for the noise that the reparation of the roof caused sometimes at noon. It is rainy season in Cusco and we were trying to finish to repair the roof.Now we already finish to do it. Be sure that your stay will be the quietest one the next time that you are coming.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My travel partner and I loved our stay at Casa de Mama Cusco 2. We were there for three nights while adjusting to the altitude and returned there after trekking and seeing Machu Picchu. Mercedes and the ladies were absolutely wonderful. They kept our luggage for us while trekking and made us smile each morning. They hailed cabs for us or told the us how much our ride should cost. They took our clothes to the laundry for us. One morning, we came to the dining room to find them singing happy birthday to a guest. The showers were, at times, a bit chilly. We had a small stovetop in our room to prepare our own meals if we wanted. Mercedes is also able to arrange tours and treks for a better rate than many of the companies you find on-line. She speaks several languages well and is ever increasing her purview. By the end of our stay with them, we were ready to move in permanently.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at Casa de Mama Cusco for three nights in August. We stayed in two different rooms on the third floor while there, and for both rooms the bathrooms were REALLY cold! It turns out the building was constructed in a weird way that we could see the opening between the bathroom ceiling and the wall! Whenever we took shower, cold air rushed in from outside... in addition to this, the shower water was lukewarm, which made the matter worse.

Other than the building construction part, the service was good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Our family of four (two adults and two teenagers) used Casa de Mama 2 as a home base during our five week trip to Peru. Mercedes arranged to have a refrigerator and stove in our room so that we could prepare some of our own meals; the produce in Peru is far better than that in the US, so we really enjoyed having kitchen facilities. Mercedes was also very helpful with trip arrangements outside of Cusco, and all of her recommendations proved useful. Melvine cooked us a delicious breakfast every day, and even helped my husband and son purchase tickets for a soccer match at the nearby stadium. Casa de Mama 2 is about a 25 minute walk from the Plaza de Armas. We enjoyed the walk, and we enjoyed staying out of the more touristy San Blas area, but anyone making plans should consider their needs and location carefully. Great room, great price, and exceptional hospitality. Thank you!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa de Mama Cusco - 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Mama Cusco - 2

Address: Av Infancia 548, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Mama Cusco - 2 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa de Mama Cusco - 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Mama Cusco - 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.